Chevron Left
Volver a Aboriginal Worldviews and Education

Opiniones y comentarios de aprendices correspondientes a Aboriginal Worldviews and Education por parte de Universidad de Toronto

4.7
estrellas
101 calificaciones
48 revisiones

Acerca del Curso

Intended for both Aboriginal and non-Aboriginal learners, this course will explore indigenous ways of knowing and how they can benefit all students. Topics include historical, social, and political issues in Aboriginal education; terminology; cultural, spiritual and philosophical themes in Aboriginal worldviews; and how Aboriginal worldviews can inform professional programs and practices, including but not limited to the field of education....

Principales revisiones

MA

Aug 21, 2018

A fantastic course. I learnt so much and the instructors were fantastic. I think this course is so necessary for all settler Canadians, not just those involved in or interested in education.

CH

Jun 20, 2017

The course material is useful, indepth and eye-opening. A great course explaining various views. I have a much better understanding of the culture and challenges.

Filtrar por:

26 - 47 de 47 revisiones para Aboriginal Worldviews and Education

por Christine A

Apr 17, 2020

Awesome course. I think every Canadian should take this course

por Kassandra P

May 10, 2020

Lots of knowledge. Great teacher. Keeps you interested

por Astrid S

Apr 12, 2017

Excellent course! Totally recommended!

por Brian A C

Jan 30, 2018

Great intro to Aboriginal WorldViews

por Zachary U

Apr 07, 2017

Great content! Learned a lot.

por Gabriel A P

Sep 14, 2017

Excellent!

por Kyle T

Jan 07, 2019

Some missing or broken links made accessing some of the material more difficult. While a quick google search was usually sufficient to find what was missing there was one exception, where a free copy of the chapter reading was not readily accessible.

The information in the course was quite interesting and I enjoyed the interviews/special guests. I hope you keep up the great work making this kind if education accessible for more Canadians.

por Gabriella D

Apr 12, 2017

Great course information and content ! Very interesting ! Unfortunately there is a peer graded assignment which 3 classmates must grade. Although two of my classmates gave me all passing grades one classmate gave me all 0's and didn't really justify why; which made me have to re submit my assignment. Thankfully 3 other amazing classmates saw the quality of my work :)

por steven f

Apr 23, 2019

An excellent approach to aboriginal worlviews that provided context and importantly the imapact of intergenerational damage done by the educational policies to aboriginals and the current state of affairs. Thoroughly enjoyed the first assignment and the requirement for peer assessment. Created accountablility in the course and engagement opportunities. Well done.

por Courtney M

Feb 11, 2019

Really great introductory course for individuals who are largely unfamiliar with Indigenous Worldview in Canada. For those who have some prior knowledge, it may be too basic but it's always helpful and important to review previous knowledge, so it's a good course for everyone!

por Brenna C

Apr 15, 2020

Some of the video's he told us to watch after the intro videos did not appear after the intro video ended. I would rework the order of the video's so that people can watch the video's he talks about right after he introduces them. Otherwise, very informative course!

por Maria T M

May 19, 2020

I loved all the learnings and teachings in this course! I recommend it. It is really a 5-star course, but I am giving it 4 because of the missing links. Otherwise a great course, I am happy I took it!

por Catherine H

Dec 23, 2018

Pretty interesting class! Sometimes it seems like the lectures go on longer than they have to, to get its point across, but still well worth it!!

por KJ P

Apr 12, 2018

Would like note to read as opposed to all lectures, would allow me to work on the course around my teaching times more easily.

por Sade D

Aug 19, 2019

I now have an appreciation for the experiences of Aboriginal People. This course was an eye-opener.

por Kyle D M

Mar 05, 2019

Great course. There were parts that were a bit dry, but overall, a wonderful experience !

por Teresa C

Oct 23, 2017

Super helpful. Great new perspective on teaching indigenous ways of knowing.

por Joy S

Aug 27, 2018

lots of good info. Always wondered what Canada called their natives.

por Val H

Jul 01, 2017

The information presented in the course was great. I found many of the lectures dragged and at times were repetitive. The thing I found most frustrating was links that did not work or were not there. I was able to search for links to suggested websites and was able to find most of them.

por Deleted A

May 16, 2017

This was not a bad course. However, in all honesty, having completed the MOOC 'Indigenous Canada' prior to this demonstrates that this course could be improved in so many ways. The course is worthwhile, please enroll if this is your area of interest.

por Jonathan G

Dec 15, 2019

Very dry and boring class for aboriginal studies. It would've made more sense to be more engaging rather than just predictable, dry historical facts. It would also have made more sense to have an Aboriginal professor of the Huron nation actually teach the course. Since when does a French Canadian man empathize with the suffering of Aboriginal people??

por Colton W

May 22, 2020

This course has great intentions and decent content.

But this course is NOT set up well.

The lay out of the course is clunky and full of broken links.

I have zero idea how they have a 4.7/5 star rating unless they refuse to publish negative reviews.

I have taken a course through Coursera before without any issues, but this one needs an overhaul to be worth your time.