Chevron Left
Volver a The Addicted Brain

Opiniones y comentarios de aprendices correspondientes a The Addicted Brain por parte de Universidad Emory

4.6
estrellas
1,818 calificaciones
455 reseña

Acerca del Curso

This is a course about addiction to drugs and other behaviors. It will describe what happens in the brain and how this information helps us deal with and overcome addiction. It will also discuss other topics such as government policy and our vulnerability to take drugs....

Principales reseñas

ER
23 de jul. de 2020

One of the best course. Before I took up this course I have negative feelings towards the drugs addicts. But this course completely change my behavior and opinions towards them. Thank you so much.

CP
1 de abr. de 2018

I learned a lot from this course that I have been able to use in a ministry capacity. If you are trying to help others with addiction or understand it for yourself, this is the course for you.

Filtrar por:

1 - 25 de 452 revisiones para The Addicted Brain

por Anna K

9 de jun. de 2019

Too slow, not enough visual material, not well structured. Shallow, whole program could be packed down to just 3 lectures.

por Joslyn L

30 de oct. de 2015

Feels underwritten by the DEA, and aimed at perhaps high school students? Very slow pace; info could've been distilled into less than half the lectures (I completed the '7 weeks' in 3 days). Doesn't really distinguish between users without serious problems & addicts (which I believe amplifies gateway effects & experimentation once people meet users who aren't brain damaged or addicts). Creates an exaggerated and arbitrary distinction between prescribed drugs as all good and recreational as all bad, and dismisses any possible benefits of substances that are not legal, noting only that medical marijuana has been helpful for HIV patients, which is certainly an understatement. Components are also helpful for cancer patients, anxiety, and more. Perhaps break this into studies of common drugs, how they work, & effects and separately, the mechanisms of addiction and treatment. However, I appreciated the 'reduce harm' policy economics.

por Rae J H

2 de nov. de 2017

This course taught me the intricacies of our brains and drug use. As an addict it was very informative and it helped in my decision to quit abusing drugs and to be clean and sober. As of the date of this review, I have been sober for 2 years. Thank you for offering this course and for granting me financial aid to pay for the course. Coursera has helped to turn my life around in a positive way.

por Maher K

5 de ene. de 2019

A really good course! It is wide in scope with good depth of the data presented yet is done in a simple and non-complicated way .Relevant literature and refernces were also intorduced which I appreciated .I do recommend it to all my collegues at the clinic where I work !

por Dimitri D

28 de jun. de 2018

have seen a few first lectures re definitions of additions, drugs etc. Not particularly impressive - it didn't seem to be based on the current scientific evidence in the domain to me, so not too encouraging to continue. de-enrolling.

por Daniel M C

14 de may. de 2016

very boring and didn't learn anything i didn't already know. this was more like watching an anti drug propaganda film that I couldn't finish it.

por Munzar A S

29 de sep. de 2015

Really disappointing course. Content is shallow, despite the impressive credentials of the Professor. Quizzes are ridiculously easy.

por Renate G

17 de feb. de 2018

A lot of prejustice in the way teacher is explaining. I think this course is aiming for addicted students.

por Rick W

20 de oct. de 2017

Addiction is a major problem in the U.S. I wanted to gather as much information as possible to understand both the problem and some the major solutions to successfully attack the problem. This course is one I highly recommend to anyone who is concerned and who may wish to work to help reduce drug addiction. Dr Kuhar has offered a great learning experience.

por Sofia L G S

24 de dic. de 2018

Lectures are very easy to follow and covers a lot of information. The extra reading suggested is very useful and helps to understant drugs and their consequiences. I think this course is interesting enough to get deeper into every topic mentioned.

por Giorgia B

11 de ene. de 2019

This a Complete Course, as I was expecting it to be in my best hopes and much more. It covers all sides and shadows of drugs and addiction and analyse the phenomenon a very deep but comprehensible way, even in the most scientific lessons.

por Jaime R

8 de abr. de 2018

Great course on the effects on drugs for the brain. Great for me and will have my children go for it as soon as they are old enough. The professor's commitment to harm reduction is touching

por Cody J K

29 de jun. de 2016

Helped me understand why my left my family for a life of meth addiction. I am thankful that it has reduced my stress and anger ove3 what she has done. even a small amount of understanding

por Matthew N M

17 de ago. de 2015

Excellent and interesting course on a very important topic. Very professional production and high quality lectures. It was quite easy, apart from the brain chemistry sections.

por Ibrahim K M

12 de dic. de 2018

the questions are not very serious

por fernando g u

24 de may. de 2019

Buen curso.

por Guadalupe G G

13 de sep. de 2019

;e es imposible tomar el curso, dado que no se puede traducir al español. Es inaccesible lamentablemente

por Ahmed N

20 de ago. de 2015

Interesting to say the least

Why cant i access my certificate. I paid and successfully passed

por Vera T

6 de jul. de 2016

Unable to even start it... Click on videos of week 1 and nothing happens

por Henriette P

1 de may. de 2016

you cannot do the quizes unless you pay

por Mary J N C

21 de mar. de 2017

The Addicted Brain provided me the foundation to have the conviction to be at the frontier of a community owned initiative to help the Philippines War on Drugs. The Harm Reduction Principle is the applied principle with Magnesium Mineral as agent for detoxification to address SAWS. As a Naturopath Doctor, I have been using Minerals in treating variety of ailments of my patients. Among these minerals is an End Stage Renal Failure case for dialysis which was cleared "NO DIALYSIS NEEDED" by his Physician after his Minerals Therapy. Others are symptoms of Substance Abuse Withdrawal Syndrome due to other health conditions such as Insomnia, Depression, Involuntary Muscle Movement, Muscles Pain, Anxiety, Brain Fog, Pins and Needles, and others.

The Addicted Brain Course is a must course for those who are working in the field of Drug Addiction.

por azadeh e

1 de nov. de 2015

well, since i got stocked with my university homework, i couldn't get the chance to finish this course as i was expecting to. but, definitely i would like to let you know that this has been an amazing journey for me, an ADHD who is obligated to be on ritalin so that the society gets comfortable around me. although it never made me feel better about myself, but it made people around me to stop complaining about my energy. after all, i am still an addict to this pill, but at the end, thanks to Emory University guys, i succeeded to know my body and what it goes through when i tend to not be ADHD. i have never got to reach the treatment parts, but at least i'm going to give a lecture on the side effects of ritalin in university.

at the end, thanks, for letting us know. that was the best gift ever :)

por Dr.Sujatha N

8 de may. de 2017

The course is excellent and conveys all that needs to be conveyed in short modules that are simple and at the same time explanatory.

There is an option of treatment for addiction to alcohol and drug use wherein completely stopping the substance is achieved through an in house residential treatment that is absolutely voluntary and that incorporates along with Counseling, various Meditation techniques that have proven to be psychotherapeutic along with introspective writing ; wherein family counseling and therapy is given equal importance . all this in a non judgemental accepting loving luxurious environs. Please visit www.anatta.in

Thank you !

Dr.Sujatha Nair

por carmen l

21 de oct. de 2015

The course gives you a new vision in several ways, some of them: the addictions are related to alterations in brain function given by neurotrasmamisores as is more chronic drug use in the brain damage is reflected in general. Another very important point policy to reduce the harm allows an opportunity for these people, not only reduces the social and personal costs, but overall health, so too for drug courts. And the work to avoid .estigma for people addicted.

I was invited to read and study about it, and learn more. Thank you very much to all the team at Coursera, congratulations to Dr. Michel H.

por Licia R

16 de feb. de 2016

I recently graduated with an MSW. I concentrated my course load on children and found addiction knowledge to be lacking upon graduation. Too many families are affected by addiction and in good conscience I couldn't work with children and their families without learning more. This was extremely helpful and the course gave me more passion and knowledge concerning children and addiction in terms of vulnerability, prevention, risk and protective factors. The instructor was wonderful, non-judgmental and very informative. I loved the neurobiology explanations as well. Thank you!!!