Chevron Left
Volver a Advanced Algorithms and Complexity

Opiniones y comentarios de aprendices correspondientes a Advanced Algorithms and Complexity por parte de Universidad de California en San Diego

4.6
301 calificaciones
65 revisiones

Acerca del Curso

You've learned the basic algorithms now and are ready to step into the area of more complex problems and algorithms to solve them. Advanced algorithms build upon basic ones and use new ideas. We will start with networks flows which are used in more typical applications such as optimal matchings, finding disjoint paths and flight scheduling as well as more surprising ones like image segmentation in computer vision. We then proceed to linear programming with applications in optimizing budget allocation, portfolio optimization, finding the cheapest diet satisfying all requirements and many others. Next we discuss inherently hard problems for which no exact good solutions are known (and not likely to be found) and how to solve them in practice. We finish with a soft introduction to streaming algorithms that are heavily used in Big Data processing. Such algorithms are usually designed to be able to process huge datasets without being able even to store a dataset....

Principales revisiones

EM

Jan 04, 2018

As usual, complex arguments explained in simple terms!\n\nSome problems are really tough! (e.g. there's a problem from Google Code Jam).\n\nThank you for this course!

YC

May 15, 2019

This is a very challenging course in the specialization. I learned a lot form going through the programming assignments!

Filtrar por:

1 - 25 de 66 revisiones para Advanced Algorithms and Complexity

By To P H

Sep 27, 2018

Very bad course content for some modules

Many abstract concepts and mathematical terms but with severe lack of explanation of the terms and lack of specific, concrete examples to help learners to understand them

For example: in LP module there should be example of how the primal and dual matrix looks. How simplex algorithm is used on a specific example (showing explicit graph). I undertood only 25% of what was discussed about in this module

No motivation to move on after week 2!

Other weeks are slightly better

In summary: Too many abstract concepts with little examples

By Akash

Jun 10, 2019

Best course

By Tamas S

Jun 08, 2019

Very good collection of advanced topics, even useful for the 6th course in the specialization!

By Priyansh B

May 31, 2019

Was fun learning advanced stuff and implementing algorithms.

By Dmitrii S

May 22, 2019

I very enjoyed this course! Theoretic informatics - is my favorite field of study. All the professors are the best. Dreaming to enroll in your Ph.D. program. Thank you very much

By Yinchung C

May 15, 2019

This is a very challenging course in the specialization. I learned a lot form going through the programming assignments!

By Archak D

Apr 11, 2019

VERY GOOD KNOWLEDGE.

By Shaashwat A

Apr 09, 2019

amazing course well detailed

By Rihaan S

Apr 07, 2019

Very informative course with challenging assignments. It will surely make your data structure concepts clearer.

By Mahmoud M

Apr 07, 2019

Took very long time fro me to be finished

By ritik r

Mar 29, 2019

SUPER

By SHREYAS S

Mar 27, 2019

aa

By D V S S R

Mar 16, 2019

nice and some difficult

By RAHUL B

Mar 14, 2019

GOOD

By Anton R

Mar 02, 2019

Liked this course, at least there are courses for advanced level.

By Kehan B

Nov 06, 2018

This module is by far the hardest in this specialization, but at the same time, it is rewarding. The only complaint I have is the Linear Programming part. I wish there was more explanation or some toy examples to go through the algorithm.

By Chin J C

Nov 06, 2018

really hard

By João H L F

Oct 22, 2018

Great course, thank you! My only remark is that it sometimes assumes that you have lots of prior knowledge on programming in my opinion. I'm a non-tech guy trying to increase my knowledge of the field, and I've had a very hard time trying to find additional resources to solve some of the problems and to grasp some of the content. If we could have a bit more color on some of the harder parts during the course it'd be great.

By Saurab D

Oct 15, 2018

The lectures are very abstract so, I had some difficulty in solving the assignment problems.

By Madhusudan H J

Oct 14, 2018

When they say advanced algorithms and complexity, they mean it. I was initially under the presumption that it would be a straight forward video course, without any assignments. But when I had to start with programming assignments that's when the real test started. Amazing set of tutorials. Would have liked if the courses had more varied examples.

By Juho V

Sep 13, 2018

Lectures are mostly good. Assignments not. They are often very difficult in an uninteresting way such as unintuitive input formats and / or template code.

By Joseph G N

Sep 02, 2018

An incredible course,the exercises were very interesting

By Raunak N

Jul 31, 2018

this course gave me hell of a time

By Henry R

Jul 21, 2018

Very hard to follow the lectures, completly lost without Reference books such as Introduction to Algorithms.

By Aman A

Jul 14, 2018

Challenging!