Chevron Left
Volver a After the Arab Spring – Democratic Aspirations and State Failure

Opiniones y comentarios de aprendices correspondientes a After the Arab Spring – Democratic Aspirations and State Failure por parte de Universidad de Copenhague

4.7
estrellas
459 calificaciones
129 reseña

Acerca del Curso

Learn why the hope and excitement of the Arab Spring is gone, why so many Arab states are falling apart, why the youth are so frustrated, why there are so many refugees, and what can be done about it. The so-called Arab Spring appeared to end decades of exceptionalism and bring the Arab world back into the mainstream of global developments. The rebellions promised the return of politics and the reassertion of popular sovereignty against their corrupt and geriatric leaders. Much hope and flowery language greeted the young men and women who deposed their leaders and tried to build new, better societies. Today, the Arab world is in deep crisis. Of the 22 member states of the Arab League, at least five have essentially collapsed: Iraq, Libya, Yemen, Somalia and Syria exist only in name today, as their territories have fallen to competing, murderous armed groups. In the remaining countries, the old autocracies have reasserted themselves. The repression at home is now worsened by regional conflict on an unprecedented scale, and the resulting frustration has led to the biggest refugee flows in recent memory. What went wrong? This course offers an overview of the structural shortcomings of Arab states and societies, which help us understand why the democratic awakening did not happen but instead “has given way to civil wars, ethnic, sectarian and regional divisions and the reassertion of absolutism.” This raises the obvious and renewed question whether there is something inherent in the Arab, and by analogy Muslim, condition that makes them special. Does this condition make this part of the world impervious to generally observable trends towards greater accountability, popular participation in political decision-making, greater generation and fairer division of economic wealth? Join this course to find out!...

Principales reseñas

JY
14 de abr. de 2020

Provides a fascinating and important approach to studying this topic. The professor's framework and intellectual depth enriched my understanding of this important and enduring problem.

LK
12 de oct. de 2018

An eye opening experience. I really hope this becomes a mandated course among anyone participating in any diplomatic initiatives in the Middle East and the Arabic world.

Filtrar por:

26 - 50 de 130 revisiones para After the Arab Spring – Democratic Aspirations and State Failure

por John L

17 de jun. de 2020

This course goes a long way in helping people in understanding Arab culture. Anybody who plans on a career with tentacles reaching into the Arab world would definitely need this course to complete their understanding of the region. Dr. Afsan always brings his A game to these courses, and this was no exception. His expertise and presentation of the material makes it completely understandable and has furthered my understanding in this area.

por Sudhanshu M

1 de abr. de 2018

This was a truly wonderful course! I took it as a high school student, and though the material was tough to comprehend at times - I was able to work through it. I truly learned so much about the Arab Spring. Our lecturer was fantastic and taught in a way that I didn't expect but grew to like. I recommend this course to anybody curious as to what the Arab future holds, and how this situation arose. Thank you to all!

por Maren S

1 de abr. de 2018

My sincerest thanks to Prof Afsah and the whole team. I wish I had more time at hand to participate in the discussion forum. The time factor has been the part I personally struggled most - but that´s maybe just me. I found the lectures highly informative and thought provoking. While suffering with a bad education system in my youth, I feel very fortunate having such an inspiring instructor as Prof Afsah.

por Ganapati K

31 de ago. de 2017

Amazing course, extraordinary lectures by Professor Afsah. This was more gripping than the earlier course on " Constitutional Struggles in the Muslim World ", because it is more contemporary, with events related from this century across the Gulf and North Africa, which we are all aware, analysed by the Professor in perspective, with observations from various experts bringing it all in focus.

por Veronika M

19 de mar. de 2021

The course has been amazing. I got immersed in the informative content and even though it was quite complex, the instructor used a lot of relevant examples and quotations, that made it easier to follow and remember. Now I feel much more confident when it comes to a discussion about Arab world problems, because I understand the hidden patterns that lead to the current reality. Thank you!

por Nada H E

22 de sep. de 2017

It was a very challenging yet interesting course, i never thought it would be that much intense with full range of readings and different perceptions were argued, and looking at the situation in the Middle East differently and not neglecting any views Western and Eastern.

I highly recommend anyone to join this course, especially with the list of the books that were used in the course.

por Eduardo I

7 de ago. de 2017

Following the outstanding course Constitutional Struggles in the Muslim World (at Coursera? www.coursera.org/learn/muslim-world), Dr. Ebrahim Afsah once again did a terrific work bringing a complex subject - the Arab Spring - into a online course accessible to non-Muslims and non-Arabs. I appreciate the course and hope he comes back with more courses on the subject. Well done!

por Gayatri V

22 de feb. de 2018

Thank you very much for this course. I was always curious about the middle east and had a lot of pre-conceived notions. This course helped satiate my curiosity and correct a few assumptions I had. I like the way the course is structured. It is easy to understand and apply in real life. I liked the practical aspects of this course as well. Thanks, again, for teaching me, sir.

por Rami E

30 de ene. de 2021

I am happy and grateful to join and participate in this meaningful course, the course open a holistic view made by many prospectives ( Social, political, legal, economical and psychological , i am so grateful to Dr. Ebrahim Afsah for his effort for us ( one of people who live in a country still keep the lies and illusions among their life )

por Jojo A

4 de sep. de 2021

This course, as with the previous, is well-researched, very structured, logical, direct, brave, and enlightening. Dr. Afsah's courses are brilliant. The learnings apply not just to Arab world; the course helps us see our individual worlds in critical light. I look forward to the next course by Dr. Afsah

por Malak H

25 de jun. de 2020

It was very informative and extremely interesting. The course truly expanded my vision of the Middle East. I truly recommend this course to anyone who is mildly interested in the Arab Spring, and I especially recommend this to any Arab, because we need to stay informed.

por Ebbe S

6 de ago. de 2017

Insightful, explanatory, interesting and thoughtful account of contexts and a sharp analysis of and commentary on the background for and the developments that have taken place in the Arab world following the Arab Spring and the impact it is likely to have in the future.

por Jason B

11 de sep. de 2018

Thank you Dr. Ebrahim Afsah for doing the research and disseminating all the information in a very presentable, and easy to understand fashion. I now have a much deeper understanding of the Arab Spring and the events that lead to the inevitable revolt. Great Course!

por Teodora S

16 de nov. de 2020

It was an honor and a real challenge for me to be in this course.

Professor Ebrahim Afsah gives each of the lectures in a unique way. I learned a lot, especially humaneness, sincerity, precision, critical thinking, perfect legal expression.

Teodora Savova Savova

por Theresa A

5 de dic. de 2017

Great course even if you have a background in MENA studies. The course format makes it easy to follow and the video presentations along with the supplemental readings add a great dimension to online learning! I cannot wait until Dr. Afsah's next course.

por Andreas M

26 de feb. de 2020

I enjoyed this course very much. The material is presented in a well thought out manner, the videos are impeccable. The course and instructor gives a much needed intellectual input about a situation that seems very unclear from the outside!

por Shyam C

23 de ago. de 2020

The instructor is very scholarly and experienced. This course has given me the necessary insights to understand the current situations in the Arab world that were difficult for me to understand dispassionately before taking this course.

por Tofail A

27 de sep. de 2019

Religious extremism and dogmatism are seems to a threat to humankind since WW I, this is an excellent way to learn the reality what exactly going on in the middle east After the Arab Spring – Democratic Aspirations and State Failure.

por Ahmed D

30 de sep. de 2019

Dr. Afsah delivered a fascinating course about the Arab Spring and he states his reasoning for the tragic failure of Arab states rationally and clearly. This course is a huge contribution to any students understanding of the region.

por Rick a D N V

19 de may. de 2019

An useful overview of the Arab Spring events, its causes, consequences, and outlooks. A course which gives opportunity for rethinking the Arab world in a more profound perspective, without clichés and easy answers. A great course!

por Ihtisham u H

25 de jul. de 2020

it was wonderful experience with Professor Ebrahim Afsah. I am looking forward for further studies from amazing professor. it has developed my interest further and soon I will apply for Master Program In University of Copenhagen.

por Tahseen S

26 de may. de 2021

One of the best courses available on Coursera. Provides deep insights into the crisis cooking up in the Arab World and provides great food for thought for policymakers following the evolution of state nations in the Middle East.

por Tracy B V

21 de jun. de 2020

Working for government and being focused on the Middle East, I found it validating and articulating thoughts and observations much more clearly than I ever could. Even with 16 years of experience!

I recommend this course to all.