Chevron Left
Volver a After the Arab Spring – Democratic Aspirations and State Failure

Opiniones y comentarios de aprendices correspondientes a After the Arab Spring – Democratic Aspirations and State Failure por parte de Universidad de Copenhague

4.7
estrellas
459 calificaciones
129 reseña

Acerca del Curso

Learn why the hope and excitement of the Arab Spring is gone, why so many Arab states are falling apart, why the youth are so frustrated, why there are so many refugees, and what can be done about it. The so-called Arab Spring appeared to end decades of exceptionalism and bring the Arab world back into the mainstream of global developments. The rebellions promised the return of politics and the reassertion of popular sovereignty against their corrupt and geriatric leaders. Much hope and flowery language greeted the young men and women who deposed their leaders and tried to build new, better societies. Today, the Arab world is in deep crisis. Of the 22 member states of the Arab League, at least five have essentially collapsed: Iraq, Libya, Yemen, Somalia and Syria exist only in name today, as their territories have fallen to competing, murderous armed groups. In the remaining countries, the old autocracies have reasserted themselves. The repression at home is now worsened by regional conflict on an unprecedented scale, and the resulting frustration has led to the biggest refugee flows in recent memory. What went wrong? This course offers an overview of the structural shortcomings of Arab states and societies, which help us understand why the democratic awakening did not happen but instead “has given way to civil wars, ethnic, sectarian and regional divisions and the reassertion of absolutism.” This raises the obvious and renewed question whether there is something inherent in the Arab, and by analogy Muslim, condition that makes them special. Does this condition make this part of the world impervious to generally observable trends towards greater accountability, popular participation in political decision-making, greater generation and fairer division of economic wealth? Join this course to find out!...

Principales reseñas

JY
14 de abr. de 2020

Provides a fascinating and important approach to studying this topic. The professor's framework and intellectual depth enriched my understanding of this important and enduring problem.

LK
12 de oct. de 2018

An eye opening experience. I really hope this becomes a mandated course among anyone participating in any diplomatic initiatives in the Middle East and the Arabic world.

Filtrar por:

101 - 125 de 130 revisiones para After the Arab Spring – Democratic Aspirations and State Failure

por Ruben B P

31 de ago. de 2017

Extremely good class from Dr. Afsah!

por Ahmer J K

18 de nov. de 2017

Excellent, though provoking course!

por Saad A W B

29 de oct. de 2019

Many thanks...Very fruitful course

por Virgil H

3 de may. de 2020

Incredibly interesting lectures.

por JOHN Q

20 de sep. de 2017

fun and interesting course.

por Andrea E

19 de jun. de 2020

Excellent and brilliant!

por Sujata A

27 de feb. de 2019

Lucid and informative.

por Katharina W

26 de feb. de 2019

I gained enormous ins

por Glenn H

7 de may. de 2020

Interesting course.

por RAID A R S

28 de may. de 2020

Excellent course

por Abdulaziz S B

26 de ene. de 2020

Excellent .

por Mahmoud E

15 de abr. de 2019

very good

por Mona A A

7 de jul. de 2020

good

por Antoine C

20 de ene. de 2018

Aw

por VARUN P

8 de jun. de 2020

The course seemed to be interesting in the starting and end but was quite boring for some time in the middle. I myself found some terms used in the course difficult as being a student from a science background. All the topics and aspects were fully covered with an unbiased approach. I would be glad to learn more from you in the future.

por Aude P

28 de dic. de 2017

It would be better to add more illustrations, and when pictures are shown, to comment them. As it is, it is hard to read the picture caption, and listen to the speaker (even harder when one has to read the transcript)

There are some mistakes in the english transcript

por Sara A M

29 de mar. de 2018

the course is very good,I learned a lot of information I didn't know before .

although sometimes I felt that there is generalizations, and sometimes the instructor was biased.

I think they also should add the model answer and the justification

por Ana S

29 de sep. de 2017

The course is very interesting. It's important to understand the world we live in and it's important to understand the reasons of its current state. It's a light course, but it provides an interesting overview of the Arab exception.

por Christine J

30 de jun. de 2020

I found the course very interesting and appreciated the references to Arab, European and American authors and scholars. However, the course does not at all emphasize the differences between Arab countries.

por Tatjana G

28 de ago. de 2017

The course is very interesting and helpful to understand the big picture. But sometimes I lost the overview at which point of the review/ discussion we actually are. Anyway, I recommend the course.

por Rebecca T

9 de feb. de 2019

Overall, a very interesting and deep look at a the structural issues which plague the Arab Spring. The readings, however, consistently required more then the allotted 1 hour set in the course.

por Chaya S

16 de may. de 2021

It was a very informative course but the number of quizzes were excessive and sometimes questions were unrelated to the lecture topic.

por Moises G G

16 de may. de 2020

Good experience and materials. It is neccesary to consider external factors in the same manner as internal ones.

por Danny C

15 de may. de 2020

Meaningful insights on the causes and consequences of the Arab spring from several points of view

por Majda M

24 de dic. de 2020

It is biased by the opinion of the teacher.