Chevron Left
Volver a Introduction to Algae

Opiniones y comentarios de aprendices correspondientes a Introduction to Algae por parte de Universidad de California en San Diego

4.7
estrellas
950 calificaciones
282 reseña

Acerca del Curso

This course was produced by the Algae Technology Educational Consortium and UC San Diego with funding from the Algae Foundation, the National Renewable Energy Lab, and the U.S. Department of Energy. Algae are an extremely diverse group of organisms that can be found in almost every ecosystem on the planet, and they play an essential role for life on earth. They are little bio-factories that use the process of photosynthesis to create chemical compounds that we can utilize for food, feed, medicine, and even energy. We’ve brought together some of foremost algae experts from industry and academia to teach you the fundamentals of algae. This course will cover what algae are, why they are important, and why we are interested in them for both their environmental benefit, as well as their use for products. You will also explore the vast diversity of algae including the characteristics and applications of some of the main types of algae that are in commercial use today. Later you will learn about algal ecology and how interactions with environment, including pests and predators, affect algal productivity. And finally you will examine the processes of algae bio-manufacturing including production processes, as well as some of the products, benefits, and challenges that impact our ability to make commercially viable products from algae....

Principales reseñas

AZ
9 de abr. de 2019

one of the best course to know everything about algae. I recommend all people who decided to work on algae pass this course. I learnt about different aspects of algae and seaweed. thanks Coursera.

PG
15 de abr. de 2020

Very interesting and inspiring course! So cool to learn about the history and great diversity of algae, as well as the potential uses of algae in renewable energy and for sustainable materials.

Filtrar por:

226 - 250 de 279 revisiones para Introduction to Algae

por Ashok

30 de jun. de 2020

Nil

por hatef s

11 de mar. de 2021

I learned things that would not be possible without participating in this course. The least is how to keep the pool in my farm cleaner using some fish. Now I know what "vegetable oil" means, and what is the difference between vegetable oil and canola or corn or other plant based oils. I rate the course 4, and not 5, because not every presentation were as energetic and encouraging as the one with professor Burkart. There are others who are very prominent scientists, but not good teachers, giving dole and monotone lectures. As an example, professor Levine, or professor Hazlebeck. To sum up, the course is good planed, and presented nicely. I recommend it to any one who wants to learn about algae.

por Javier G M

16 de feb. de 2021

El curso me ha encantado. Toca bastantes puntos de las microalgas para dar ideas generales y explica bastante bien los detalles básicos sobre las algas, sus características y su interés.

Quizás me hubiese gustado que en el curso hubiese indagado más sobre algunas especies de algas concretas, a modo de ejemplos, y hay veces en las que los ponentes hacen referencia a cosas que supuestamente han dicho otros ponentes anteriores y en realidad no han mencionado. No obstante, en general el curso está bastante bien y es muy completo.

por Joel S

21 de jul. de 2021

I found the course very interesting with much information I had never been acquainted with in the past or even knew of its existence. I have a comment, though, about the structure. Many of the slides had information /data that I assume were copied as pdf's or other photos. The information within those was too small or too low resolution to read even with full screen. And in some cases the data on the screen was obstructed by the lecturer standing in front of the posted data.

por colin w

16 de jul. de 2020

Great introduction to algae and their uses. Focus is heavily on microalgae and producing algae for use as an oil, bio-fuel and in bio-products but also gives a good overview of macroalgae (seaweed) and how they grow and develop too. Would recommend to anyone with an interest in either microalgae as a bio-product and macroalgae as an aquaculture product for food and other appplications.

por Harald S

24 de jun. de 2018

The content at large excellent but but most of the diagrams were not in focus therefore justimpossible to read/follow/understand ( had to use other sources ) The textmass connected could just have some corresponding time notes..thus easier to follow.. As such quite a few questions came to be exlpained ..in good way Many many thanks to you all

por Enos N

4 de mar. de 2020

I was taking this course because I want to learn more about macroalgae cultivation. So it was not what I expected. But the course talk more about microalgae cultivation (industry), which at some point is inaccessible to more traditional community who can't afford high capital to start with.

But overall, it was a good introduction course.

por Panos F

7 de jun. de 2021

A very interesting course that covers all algae basics, from their structure to their ecology and biotechnology. The lecturers were experts in the field and gave a lot of data and sources to support their claims, which really helped in understanding. Overall a really good course for anyone looking to know more about algae.

por Nicolas D

14 de abr. de 2020

The course is rather well done and teaches a lot. It's a big eye opener on algae but on plants as well. The only part I didn't like at all was the bio-manufacturing one which felt like a marketing presentation more than explaining actual processes (including even some FUDs).

por Claudia C V T

28 de jun. de 2020

Excelente material, tal y como lo dice, es material introductorio, por lo que si alguno desea venir en busca de información profunda, no la encontrará aquí. Un poco de todo y sobre todo, aplicación de la información. Excelentes explicaciones y planteamiento.

por Dominica Q

29 de may. de 2020

I enjoyed the course, i liked the quality of the questions and the power point presentations used.

What I didn't really like was that every lecture was given by a different proffesor... anyway, I had a good experience and learned many new things :)

por Shrihari N

30 de mar. de 2020

Great Introductory course! However, I would have liked to better understand the challenges in bringing algae derived biofuels to the market, and more details about other applications of algae, such as wastewater treatment, Hydrogen production etc.

por Alisa V

18 de ago. de 2019

This was really a great in-depth introduction to algae! The modules were very well structured and assignments tested the understanding of important concepts. Also very manageable for those people working full-time jobs! Really enjoyed it!

por yogita g

10 de sep. de 2020

exceptional introduction I must say. I am an BS Aquaculture from URI and an oyster hatchery manager and was more than satisfied with the curriculum and the expertise of the speakers. I would greatly encourage a follow-up course.

por David D R

24 de oct. de 2018

Excellent overview. Needs some editing for minor errors. Some questions need to be redesigned since many forms of answers could be correct, e.g. energy source for photosynthesis could be light, sunlight, photons, etc.

por Frederik D K

19 de abr. de 2021

The course provided my first babysteps into the world of kelps/seaweed & was very interesting. However I would have loved to see a more clear split between micro & macroalgae.

por Vanitha.K

19 de nov. de 2020

It is very good to have additional course like this which makes us even more informative and keep us on learning.

Good to know about this course its really a useful one

Thank u

por Bruno

27 de ene. de 2021

This course is worth to be attended. The quality of material and teachers is high. I suggest to update/add some parts relevant to latest industrial applications.

por Soham S G

7 de may. de 2018

some lectures were pretty boring. just add a little bit of fun and excitement in the professors' voices so that to capture the attention of the students.

por Niko W

7 de feb. de 2021

Really great foundational course providing the basics required to understand the benefits and principles of algae farming and production.

por Carolina H M

23 de may. de 2018

Thanks, it was a very good course, but I recommend putting additional bibliography to read and complement the information

por Mohamed S

29 de abr. de 2020

its being 4 years since graduation, this course brings much happiness, knowledge and experience.

kind regards.

salem.

por Delphine N

19 de oct. de 2020

sometimes a little bit too technical for an introduction, but very interesting, well designed and well taught-

por Saskia M

6 de ene. de 2019

Very nice course.

It was focused very much on micro algae, I would have liked more info on seaweed.

por Anindita S

11 de may. de 2020

The courses are really great to learn. You will know so many interesting things about the courses.