Chevron Left
Volver a Introduction to Algae

Opiniones y comentarios de aprendices correspondientes a Introduction to Algae por parte de Universidad de California en San Diego

4.7
estrellas
956 calificaciones
283 reseña

Acerca del Curso

This course was produced by the Algae Technology Educational Consortium and UC San Diego with funding from the Algae Foundation, the National Renewable Energy Lab, and the U.S. Department of Energy. Algae are an extremely diverse group of organisms that can be found in almost every ecosystem on the planet, and they play an essential role for life on earth. They are little bio-factories that use the process of photosynthesis to create chemical compounds that we can utilize for food, feed, medicine, and even energy. We’ve brought together some of foremost algae experts from industry and academia to teach you the fundamentals of algae. This course will cover what algae are, why they are important, and why we are interested in them for both their environmental benefit, as well as their use for products. You will also explore the vast diversity of algae including the characteristics and applications of some of the main types of algae that are in commercial use today. Later you will learn about algal ecology and how interactions with environment, including pests and predators, affect algal productivity. And finally you will examine the processes of algae bio-manufacturing including production processes, as well as some of the products, benefits, and challenges that impact our ability to make commercially viable products from algae....

Principales reseñas

AZ
9 de abr. de 2019

one of the best course to know everything about algae. I recommend all people who decided to work on algae pass this course. I learnt about different aspects of algae and seaweed. thanks Coursera.

PG
15 de abr. de 2020

Very interesting and inspiring course! So cool to learn about the history and great diversity of algae, as well as the potential uses of algae in renewable energy and for sustainable materials.

Filtrar por:

251 - 275 de 280 revisiones para Introduction to Algae

por Anindita S

11 de may. de 2020

The courses are really great to learn. You will know so many interesting things about the courses.

por KIRYOWA I 1

30 de ene. de 2021

it has good content and the tutors are also in position to explain the content fully

por Carl T

5 de mar. de 2021

Enjoyed the course. A bit of a mish-mash, but introduced me to a whole new world.

por sean c

8 de oct. de 2020

Lots of practical industrial material. I had trouble finding reading resources.

por Linda M

10 de abr. de 2021

Began class on March 11, 2021 and completed it on April 10, 2021.

por SPANDANA J S 1

24 de sep. de 2020

It was a very informative course with practicality prioritized.

por Josuah D Z

29 de sep. de 2020

The online course of introduction to algae is nice and good.

por Daniel M G G

17 de abr. de 2018

Muy bueno para ser introductorio al tema de las algas.

por Bimal Y C

14 de jul. de 2020

Good course to get basic knowledge related to algae.

por Yoav A

12 de sep. de 2018

Interesting material and proffesional teachers

por jacopo b

13 de may. de 2020

perfectly made with an overview of everything

por ELIZABETH M

7 de jul. de 2020

buen aporte al conocimiento de las algas

por Komal G

30 de sep. de 2020

it is really good for a beginner.

por Pothi P C

8 de abr. de 2020

A good course to start with.

por Richard K

8 de may. de 2018

very informative course

por Basel A A E

7 de abr. de 2020

very good course

por Claire C

9 de dic. de 2020

informative

por Sriram.v

12 de abr. de 2020

nice

por Michelle B

4 de sep. de 2020

A very informative but VERY DRY course that is VERY SPECIFIC to someone wanting to work in biomanufacturing with algae. It is is no way entertaining. It gets a three because it sticks to the modules exactly. I do not feel that I learned anything surprising or interesting regarding algae. the first two weeks are very common sense to anyone that has a biology background. The third week has the potential to be interesting but falls short. the fourth and fifth weeks are solely about algal biomanufacturing and if that is why you are taking this course, you will find it interesting. If you are taking it in hopes of learning something more than just straight out of a text book, do not bother.

por Christel R

28 de feb. de 2021

Good material, but not really an "intro" course. To fully understand this material, the student needs a solid background in plant biology and organic chemistry. The slides are over packed and often illegible when blown up to legible size- consider adding a separate document of slides in a better resolution. It would also be helpful to have a glossary of terms, as they were often mentioned with no context.

por Kostas C

18 de dic. de 2020

I loved the fact that there was a wide variety of instructors and there was a plethora of topics and applied sides to the subject that were covered. However, the instructors didn't seem enthusiastic at all when speaking, they seemed very anxious and lethargic, making the whole lectures somewhat boring to sit through.

por Edgley C

10 de may. de 2020

Interesting course but not exactly what I was expecting from an introductory course. It is too focused on the applications of algae for the industry. Almost nothing is said about the ecological importance of algae.

por Gustavo S M d S L

12 de jul. de 2020

Interesting approach, but I felt some of the lectures were insufficient in clarifying certain informations about algae products biomanufacturing processes

por Seum A

16 de jun. de 2020

thhe lecture was good but if it is shown video with lecture it could be better I think

por Diana G

28 de ago. de 2019

El programa es mucha teoria y solo al final algo de practica.