Chevron Left
Volver a Introduction to Algae

Opiniones y comentarios de aprendices correspondientes a Introduction to Algae por parte de Universidad de California en San Diego

4.7
estrellas
916 calificaciones
275 reseña

Acerca del Curso

This course was produced by the Algae Technology Educational Consortium and UC San Diego with funding from the Algae Foundation, the National Renewable Energy Lab, and the U.S. Department of Energy. Algae are an extremely diverse group of organisms that can be found in almost every ecosystem on the planet, and they play an essential role for life on earth. They are little bio-factories that use the process of photosynthesis to create chemical compounds that we can utilize for food, feed, medicine, and even energy. We’ve brought together some of foremost algae experts from industry and academia to teach you the fundamentals of algae. This course will cover what algae are, why they are important, and why we are interested in them for both their environmental benefit, as well as their use for products. You will also explore the vast diversity of algae including the characteristics and applications of some of the main types of algae that are in commercial use today. Later you will learn about algal ecology and how interactions with environment, including pests and predators, affect algal productivity. And finally you will examine the processes of algae bio-manufacturing including production processes, as well as some of the products, benefits, and challenges that impact our ability to make commercially viable products from algae....

Principales reseñas

AZ
9 de abr. de 2019

one of the best course to know everything about algae. I recommend all people who decided to work on algae pass this course. I learnt about different aspects of algae and seaweed. thanks Coursera.

PG
15 de abr. de 2020

Very interesting and inspiring course! So cool to learn about the history and great diversity of algae, as well as the potential uses of algae in renewable energy and for sustainable materials.

Filtrar por:

26 - 50 de 273 revisiones para Introduction to Algae

por Harry A H

15 de oct. de 2020

Fascinating subject. Extremely well presented by a team of some ten people., but the information is well divided between them. The lectures are well to the point. Does exactly what it says it will, give you a good introduction to the subject.

por Jiawei L

3 de nov. de 2020

Very interesting and awarding course. Many speakers/professors will talk about different aspects of the algae industry. You will also learn about the background of algae. No biology background is required. You will learn a great deal.

por Muhammad A K

5 de jun. de 2021

Courses from UCSD are very very informative, and interesting at the same time. This course is no exception. An extremely informative course which broadens your perspective of how to use algae, a green alternative, in so many ways....

por Kenan Y T

25 de may. de 2021

Amazing course. As a master student in plant sciences, I broadened my perspective on algae research. This course also enabled me to identify ongoing issues and groups that are working on them. Thanks for making this available.!!

por Abhilash K

10 de abr. de 2019

It is the perfect Introductory course on algae ,most of the explanation is given in simple language from one algae pioneers , I would suggest every one this course , who want to know the applications of these beautiful creatures

por Jhonny E R E

11 de oct. de 2020

Muy buen curso, he aprendido muchas cosas básicas que no sabia a pesar de que he realizado cultivos experimentales de microalgas en la Universidad. Muy satisfecho con el contenido y con los profesionales que dictan las clases.

por Kester L C

12 de sep. de 2019

Thought it was a nice accessible course for a beginner to algae, as I was. It covered key topics comprehensively, and touched on more complex issues to give students an idea of how to study further if desired. Recommended!

por WIRINDUGE A (

4 de nov. de 2020

I was able to improve my knowledge. This course is very important for the degree I am currently studying (Aquatic Resources Technology degree program). Thanks to Coursera for giving me the opportunity to do this course.

por Aleksandar M

30 de oct. de 2019

Great introductory course for anyone who thinks algae are not interesting. There should be more courses like this, dedicated to groups of organisms that are neglected, yet essential and crucial members of our biosphere.

por Pim v d B

2 de nov. de 2018

This coarse gives plenty of insights in different algae spiecies and how they are used. Some material is repeated multiple times which makes it more easy to remember. The lectures are all from the field of algae!

por Vijayalakshmi.M

24 de may. de 2020

Thanks a lot for providing good opportunity to learn basics of algae. Im happy to join in this course and successfully completed this course. Minimum effort gives better knowledge, it's possible by this course

por Ian F

20 de ene. de 2020

This is an excellent introductory course to Phycology and Algal Bio-Manufacturing. Highly recommended to anyone pursuing the fields of marine biology, botany, ecology, bio-manufacturing, or cellular biology.

por Gabriela R S B

17 de dic. de 2020

It's a great course to have a general idea of the processes involved in biomanufacturing algae. The course covers all the essentials to understand key processes. And very well explained. Thanks from Paraguay

por Samantha A

2 de nov. de 2020

I had already earned a degree in marine biology. This course was a great insight on what is done with algae in terms of renewable sources and energy. Excited to get more involved with algae and biofuels.

por Julien

25 de mar. de 2019

Clear (even for a French guy!), very interesting and many informations about the potential of algaes in the futur (bio products, alimentation, car fuel…) A revelation !

Thank you to all the team :)

por Paul G

16 de abr. de 2020

Very interesting and inspiring course! So cool to learn about the history and great diversity of algae, as well as the potential uses of algae in renewable energy and for sustainable materials.

por ALEJANDRO C M

14 de may. de 2020

Aunque soy de habla hispana entendí completamente el curso, tiene muy buenas explicaciones sobre todo el universo de las algas, conocerlas y saber sus aplicaciones; un curso muy recomendado.

por Scha k

17 de jul. de 2021

Absolutely wonderful course. They teach about algae in the most interesting and engaging way possible, I'd love to immediately start working with them on algae research! What a cool field!

por Suzana T d C L

21 de jul. de 2019

Excellent Course! Covers many different aspects of algae biology and blue biotech. Very happy to get classes from such amazing Professionals of UCSD and others! Thanks for the opportunity!

por muhammad m a k

28 de feb. de 2021

this is cool, i wish could open an edible macroalgae oil extraction factory as my vision is to open a strat-up, thank you coursera and all the instructor for brought the course for free.

por ELIKRINES R L M U

26 de ago. de 2020

It's a beautifully explained intro to algae course which definitely motivates one to go further and learn more about the vast diversity of algae and the products one can get from them.

por Andrea d J G O

10 de ago. de 2020

It was a easy course. It explains very well the basics for algae and microalgae. Congratulations to the people to make this!! This is going to help me a lot on my masters degree :)

por JOHN Q

16 de feb. de 2018

Fantastic Course! I was so pleased to participate in a course on Algae and to learn it's reality and potential in our culture and world. Thanks to all who put this course on.

por Rose W

19 de abr. de 2020

great course.I would have liked more information about macroalgae but I found the information on microalgae very interesting. I enjoyed all the different presenters. Thank you