Chevron Left
Volver a Effective Altruism

Opiniones y comentarios de aprendices correspondientes a Effective Altruism por parte de Universidad de Princeton

4.7
estrellas
300 calificaciones
75 revisiones

Acerca del Curso

Effective altruism is built on the simple but unsettling idea that living a fully ethical life involves doing the most good one can. In this course you will examine this idea's philosophical underpinnings; meet remarkable people who have restructured their lives in accordance with it; and think about how effective altruism can be put into practice in your own life. All the features of this course are available for free. It does not offer a certificate upon completion....

Principales revisiones

JB

Jan 23, 2018

Excellent material on a much needed topic. The course brought together a good number of strong and important ideas, well backed by research and with very interesting and relevant guest speakers.

NR

Apr 05, 2020

Very insightful course, opened my eyes to the importance of an indepth analysis when considering charitable donations. Also introduced valuable resources when considering how and what to give.

Filtrar por:

51 - 74 de 74 revisiones para Effective Altruism

por Minisha T

Dec 22, 2015

I love the theory in this course.

por Jorge A C G

Mar 02, 2017

Bien estructurado y claro.

por Aneliq

Aug 09, 2015

Really influential course.

por Maria T O

Apr 07, 2017

The course is very good.

por Adam D K

Jan 18, 2020

Absolutely brilliant!

por Eli H

Oct 31, 2018

Very interesting!

por Tushar k

Apr 30, 2019

Extraordinary.

por Ryan

Oct 31, 2015

Life changing

por Gary A

Dec 09, 2015

I love it!

por Gaurav S

Jan 11, 2020

I could not justify giving it 5 stars because I felt that the course should have presented all the arguments in greater detail. I understand that it is called effective altruism, and not simply ethics, but I do believe that convincing me of your philosophy does necessitate both a more careful rejection of the others, as well as developing all of the arguments in sufficient detail. This was actually a reason why I left the course early on, but then decided to re-enroll -- to let Prof. Singer have a chance at presenting his own argument in a more complete manner.

The course is necessary. I agree with Prof. Singer's observation that consumerism has insufficient meaning for many, and that by trying to live more ethically, we can give meaning to, or discover meaning in our own lives.

I could not justify giving any fewer than four stars because clearly the course content is above average. Prof. Singer is passionate about the cause, is earnestly trying to build a community around it, and this shows in the content. I can certainly say that the course made me deeply reflect on my own views on the topic, and perhaps it will do the same for you.

por Christine S

Aug 29, 2015

The course was well done and included interesting guest speakers. However, I was not keen on the format and am not likely to sign up again for a course where the Coursera student is like a voyeur into the professor's actual classroom. In this case, we were privy to his lectures at Princeton and the camera frequently panned the classroom full of students. I have taken many Coursera classes and all were directed at the Coursera student specifically. I appreciated that. And I also appreciated Peter Singer allowing us into his Princeton classroom. I realize what an incredible opportunity he gave us through Coursera. So, thanks.

por David D

Feb 09, 2017

Fairly well presented in that different points of view on the questions were put forward. I found it interesting and informative to learn how better to choose compare and charities.

Unfortunately there seems to be a dominate premise. That is this course insists one must give up the maximum part of ones income to 'charities' who will do the job to help others for you. In this I disagree and have not changed fundamentally in my perception.

Having said that, one does come away with more motivation to think about and to act more altruistically as the occasions present themselves.

por Jurgens P

Jan 16, 2017

Well balanced approach that invites multiple perspectives on ultruism. I would have liked to see the objections against ultruism of Ayn Rand being addressed in the course but I suppose it is difficult to give a course that addresses all aspects of a given topic. But Ayn Rand had a definite contradictory viewpoint and it would have enhanced the class tremendously if it had been considered.

por Caelyn M

Dec 04, 2016

Solid course, makes the case both for acting ethically, and for rationally choosing how to carry out those ethical activities. I had heard most of these arguments before and was already convinced by them; but if you are looking to figure out how to do more good with your life, it is a good course.

por D Y

Oct 15, 2015

Very strong concept, to take and employ in your day to day life. I found it very vital for not for profit work.

However, substantial philosophy knowledge is needed in order to really absorb and follow the argument.

por Ira R

Apr 05, 2020

It was a very interesting and insightful course. I left each lecture thinking about my own life and choices, which is the point. Additionally, I found the readings useful; however, not all of the links worked.

por Hannah D

Jun 07, 2016

Audited the course. Found the information quite useful. In the quest to live an evermore ethical life, Peter Singer helps to bring light to the issues at hand in an accessible way.

por Nicola D

Mar 30, 2018

I really enjoyed the course and it went beyond my expectations. The best part for me were the discussions Peter had with the various guests.

por Phoebe S

Nov 09, 2017

Want to think and act in an broader and much more responsible way? They this course is for you.

por Margaret M

Sep 02, 2015

Very well done. I would have liked it if there were more assignments.

por Camila B

Jun 13, 2016

While this course is interesting and informative, I was hoping that there would be a larger portion dedicated to jobs, industries, and ideas that help make the world a better place. I was hoping that by the end of this course, I would have learned about many more options on how to act now, today, as opposed to such a strong emphasis on the origin and meaning of ethics.

por Philipp L

May 22, 2017

I would have expected more academic background, but the course overall is very interesting.

por Stephen R

Oct 04, 2015

Yet another good course that is ruined by a peer review requirement. Dr. Singer is a fascinating person to learn from and I am glad I took the time to pursue the course.

por Foivos I

Aug 16, 2015

Too many lectures, specialized audience with huge competition, not accessible by novices of philosophy and only assessed through a single peer-reviewed assignment-essay.