Chevron Left
Volver a Managing Big Data with MySQL

Opiniones y comentarios de aprendices correspondientes a Managing Big Data with MySQL por parte de Universidad Duke

4.7
estrellas
3,917 calificaciones
907 reseña

Acerca del Curso

This course is an introduction to how to use relational databases in business analysis. You will learn how relational databases work, and how to use entity-relationship diagrams to display the structure of the data held within them. This knowledge will help you understand how data needs to be collected in business contexts, and help you identify features you want to consider if you are involved in implementing new data collection efforts. You will also learn how to execute the most useful query and table aggregation statements for business analysts, and practice using them with real databases. No more waiting 48 hours for someone else in the company to provide data to you – you will be able to get the data by yourself! By the end of this course, you will have a clear understanding of how relational databases work, and have a portfolio of queries you can show potential employers. Businesses are collecting increasing amounts of information with the hope that data will yield novel insights into how to improve businesses. Analysts that understand how to access this data – this means you! – will have a strong competitive advantage in this data-smitten business world....

Principales reseñas

DQ

20 de jun. de 2020

One of the best course till now I find on Coursera, well structured everything and practice questions made me feel like real life problems as data were from real database of dognition and ua_dillards.

YC

19 de ago. de 2019

Nice and well-organized course. I joined this course after self-studying on SQL for a few days. The context is really nice. The only problem is the Teradata is not stable. I tried very hard to login.

Filtrar por:

701 - 725 de 893 revisiones para Managing Big Data with MySQL

por Zhiqing L

17 de feb. de 2018

This is a really good course. Dr Borg's video is easy to understand and the MYSQL exercise is awesome.

I know how to write sql after taking this course and become less afraid of writing code/query.

The only reason I give this course 4 stars is that my experience with Teradata is terrible and frustrating! And their wiki website is down.....Not sure why this course uses such a out-of-date database...

por Viviana V L

28 de nov. de 2016

I really enjoyed the course and found it very useful. I can write a basic query now !! and I got a bit more understanding of how to work with databases. My only recommendation for the mentors is to work on more samples of queries using Teradata and add the answers to the week assignments. I'm still wondering a few answers and not sure if the output of my queries was the expected.

por Christoph B

23 de jun. de 2020

Started really well, step by step - great!

But in the end I felt a overwhelmed, by really long queries, very complicated, long struggle.

Happy, that new Database was set up just before I got into trouble!

Annoying that Week 5, Last Exercise Question 12 is still not fixed: Min instead of Max. That is REALLY upsetting! Afterall, we are paying a lot of money every month!

Jana was lovely!

por Andres F M E

23 de feb. de 2021

Overall a very complete and intuitive course, a great deal of explanation and resources, aswell as individual work to test our learning. I consider, nevertheless, that the focus on the calculations of revenue, on the Teradata excercises, is unnecessary; it uses a specific methodology for the concrete case, but is hardly applicable in other projects given the nature of the data.

por Diego C

22 de jun. de 2020

The course is very well organized and it's very useful to learn SQL. Be patient, take your time and to go through all the excercises to take advantage of its content.

However, the database platforms (in my case Teradata) was shut down for a couple of days, which can delay your accomplishment. I consider that the team of the course should warn when these issues are generalized.

por David H

4 de jul. de 2020

Great opportunity to learn the fundamentals of SQL queries. Some of the material gets real complex without much explanation so it can be frustrating trying to track down the right answers and logic. This course definitely takes more time than what they allot so plan accordingly, but in the end I enjoyed learning the fundamentals of SQL from this course.

por Luke C

3 de mar. de 2022

Great course, and eases you into the heavyily technical topic very well.

The only negative is with week 5 where there is a very steep increase in the level of difficulty, with no example answers or working for the most difficult excercises, leading to hours of frustration (seen also in the discussion boards with no responses given by administrators).

por Carlos V

4 de dic. de 2016

Really good Course if you have the time to follow all the workshops and assignments, because they take quite a lot of time to complete, so allocate some extra time so you can learn properly, the good thing is that at the end you will have a solid understanding of SQL, Query’s and how to mine data for answers. Highly recommended for SQL starters.

por Guisseau G

11 de ene. de 2021

Very good inputs and step by step approach to learn sql

Quiz turns out to be quite complex - you really need to practice !

It would be useful to get a written summary of the course and key functions that we have utilized - I understand everything is availabel on the internet - but it would be faster to retireve information in my opinion

por Sean E B

18 de feb. de 2020

It's set out quite well and the videos and excercises are generally set out well and allow you to get good practice and learning.

However the difficulty really ramps up during week 4 and especially week 5 (you are warned of this). The spike in time commitment and difficulty is quite overwhelming if you are an actual beginner.

por Alex V A

10 de may. de 2022

The course covers essential part of all we need to know, there are many instructive exercises, most of them with either hints or solutions. In only won't score it with 5 star because in the last quiz I think there were 2 or 3 questions which were ill posed, and because of a small detail I get stucked for hours in them.

por Jakub K

11 de sep. de 2016

The course should be longer, prepare yourself you are going to need a lot of time, unless you have previous experience from SQL. It'll take maybe even more than one session. But it is worth it, because it covers all skills you need for working with SQL. If you really need to learn SQL, there is no better option.

por SHALINI G

1 de ago. de 2022

C​ourse was amazing. The only drawback was the grading exercises which has to be done in teradata. It is not so popularly used. Besides, not much of discussion or any proper documentation is available online to refer and learn. Thank you for the amazing course, I have learnt a lot!

por Nicholas A P

12 de may. de 2018

Overall, it was a great course and I learned a lot from it. I think that what could have been better is if the content of the course was more spaces out right than tight because I think for Weeks 4 and 5, I needed to learn more about how to write advanced queries.

por ZEHUAN L

16 de nov. de 2016

It's very practical but hard at the same time. I like the teaching style. What's makes me little uncomfortable is that the teradata system guidance is kind of obscure. However, the Jupiter guidance is really yummy. Hope to learn more sql applications in the future.

por demehin I

28 de feb. de 2016

The course is very thorough but i woul have loved it if you had a way for instructors to better reach out to classmates rather than leave things to chance and everyone is confused for month. But either way the experience is priceless. Would recommend it to anyone

por Adarsh B

5 de jul. de 2017

Excellent course structure designed for students with no technical background to understand how industry analytics works.Real company databases donated by dognition and dillard's helped a lot to understand real analysis problems.A good experience overall.

por Humberto J

9 de oct. de 2017

Great course, I enjoyed it a lot and learned more than I was expecting to. There was a lot of problems towards the end with Teradata, the website was down for a couple of days. A bit more of technical support from the administrator would have been nice.

por VINCENZO A

31 de may. de 2020

I won't give 5 stars only because Jupyter from time to time has crashed. Apart from that, I think the course is well done and also the exercises are very helpful.

Thank you for giving me the opportunity to learn MySQL, now it's on me to get better.

por Harshit C

22 de jul. de 2020

It was a great experience learning with all this good content with the best teacher. Just need to improve your service and query problem. I have faced issues while doing the practice of Teradata I complain about it many times but no response.

por francesco n

25 de jul. de 2019

I prefer have the result of the question. I prefer check the result of my query in order to be sure that I done well. I have lost time to revise my query when they are good and other times I believe my queries are good meanwhile I was wrong.

por Yevgenii P

26 de mar. de 2019

Questions for exercises are written in an overly complex way. I often got stuck because I didn't understand what the lecturer wants from me. And my English is C1.

The rest is good. Nice practical datasets, clear explanation of the subject.

por Jason T

12 de jun. de 2017

Excellent course, really helped me learn the fundamentals of SQL. I thought in some cases the questions could have been worded a bit better, but overall I thought the professor provided an excellent basis for me to learn the material. I

por Hichem D

3 de abr. de 2022

This course is very handy to practice SQL as I've never had before. combining SQL with exploratory data analysis provides an amazing opportunity to learn what would happen in real world. The assignments were difficult but enjoyable.

por RISHI D S

11 de ago. de 2020

Overall the course was very helpful, the exercises informative, the approach to encourage learners to explore stuff rather than being spoon-fed queries. Thank you, Jana for this wonderful experience, and thank you, Duke University!