Chevron Left
Volver a Managing Big Data with MySQL

Opiniones y comentarios de aprendices correspondientes a Managing Big Data with MySQL por parte de Universidad Duke

4.7
estrellas
2,991 calificaciones
681 revisiones

Acerca del Curso

This course is an introduction to how to use relational databases in business analysis. You will learn how relational databases work, and how to use entity-relationship diagrams to display the structure of the data held within them. This knowledge will help you understand how data needs to be collected in business contexts, and help you identify features you want to consider if you are involved in implementing new data collection efforts. You will also learn how to execute the most useful query and table aggregation statements for business analysts, and practice using them with real databases. No more waiting 48 hours for someone else in the company to provide data to you – you will be able to get the data by yourself! By the end of this course, you will have a clear understanding of how relational databases work, and have a portfolio of queries you can show potential employers. Businesses are collecting increasing amounts of information with the hope that data will yield novel insights into how to improve businesses. Analysts that understand how to access this data – this means you! – will have a strong competitive advantage in this data-smitten business world....

Principales revisiones

DQ

Jun 21, 2020

One of the best course till now I find on Coursera, well structured everything and practice questions made me feel like real life problems as data were from real database of dognition and ua_dillards.

YJ

Aug 20, 2019

Nice and well-organized course. I joined this course after self-studying on SQL for a few days. The context is really nice. The only problem is the Teradata is not stable. I tried very hard to login.

Filtrar por:

626 - 650 de 667 revisiones para Managing Big Data with MySQL

por Tanakan

Feb 09, 2017

difficult

por fagner d s

Jun 22, 2016

excelent

por Hemant C

Aug 20, 2018

Thanks.

por Priyadharsini S

Mar 04, 2020

Nice

por Omair A

Jul 24, 2018

okay

por Heeyeon L

Jan 25, 2017

Q

por Alexander S

Apr 06, 2016

g

por Jerry F

Nov 27, 2016

The course structure was well formatted. The order of the lessons and content presented made for learning intuitive. The follow along practice queries and end of lesson practice problems were also helpful interactives for the student.

However there were mistakes in the answer keys or practice problem prompts that became more frequent in the lessons towards the end of the course. This made it difficult to practice the more complicated material and queries. It was also a big time waster when as a student you were unsure whether you were answering the correct question and if so whether your answer was correct. It would also been helpful to have more open ended practice problems at the end of the course in addition to the set provided.

Finally I think this course would be better split into two parts. The first part should be geared towards querying data and focusing more on just pulling data and intermediate queries. The main audience would be analyst/data professionals that have privileges to pull data but not modify data. The second part of the course would be more useful to DBAs or professionals that have database admin privileges to insert/delete/modify data. I would also focus more heavily on database schemas in this second course relative to the first.

por Christopher E

Sep 05, 2017

Managing big data with MySQL helped me learn SQL. That was my primary goal. It was thus valuable and met my needs. My secondary (a close second) was to pick up some skills regarding MySQL, which is a specific and distinct relational database management system (distinct from, say, Microsoft's version or from PostgreSQL). On this front I was disappointed. The course is taught through other interfaces, such as Jupyter and Teradata, and neither offers nor requires any exposure to MySQL. I therefore think the course should be renamed Managing big data with SQL; that is, 'MySQL' should be removed from the name. It is, as it stands, misleading to folks like me interested in specifically getting some exposure to and familiarity with MySQL and the minor-league database administrative tricks that would come with that exposure. Thanks for the chance to comment.

por Kyra-lin H

Jun 27, 2017

I definitely learned a lot from taking this course, but there were several frustrating road blocks along the way. These included items such as mistakes in the answer keys, a lack of explicit assignment instructions, and large jumps in difficulty levels between the later weeks. For those considering this course, be aware that the estimated time commitment provided by the course (8-10 hours a week) is a very *low* estimate. Or rather, that estimate is accurate for Weeks 1 & 2, but expect that amount to double by Week 5.

For readers' reference: I came into this course with a lot of experience with Microsoft Access but only limited experience working with SQL directly.

por Ted Z

Jun 23, 2020

The course starts out well, but by the 2nd half you pretty much end up teaching yourself by reading questions (that sometimes contain wrong information) and non-clickable article links from PDFs that work half the time. The Teradata interface is terrible, limiting you to seeing 10 lines of code in queries that are usually 2-3x that long, and without the line number references that most interfaces have that help you find errors. But it does cover the basics well before veering off into nested subquery logic that could have been done in easier ways.

por Justin F

Dec 09, 2016

This course provided a good introduction to SQL for me as a beginner and through challenging lessons forced me to learn SQL basics. After Week 3 however, I found that the level of difficulty increased steeply and not enough assistance was provided in the lessons to get through the course at a reasonable pace. In addition to providing answers to each week's exercises, further review of how the answer was obtained and the breakdown of the logic behind it would be helpful.

por Max R

Dec 07, 2017

I brute forced my way through this class. Many new topics are shown in the exercises and not discussed. Some of the exercises have misleading (or incorrect) information which made me spin my head for a long long time. However... at the end of it I do understand SQL query formation pretty well. If I could go back in time, I'd force myself to take this class with a friend or partner instead of trying to go it alone.

por Haolei F

Mar 08, 2016

The video instruction are not as helpful as I wished. They were too brief, and all the learning end up with doing the exercises. The regular exercises and the quizzes use different database system, and it sometimes hard to transfer what you learn to the quizzes.

The pre-quiz exercises are more helpful imo, but no answer key is provided. Sometimes I am still confused even after passing the quiz.

por Mohammad A

Jan 20, 2020

Great content, but this was over kill. The course was useful but I found it extremely straining to have to use 2 platforms (Jupyter and Teradata). I pretty much had to keep thinking everything twice, and it was over complicated especially that the Teradata website doesn't run smoothly and had many connection issues.

por Siddhant J

Apr 28, 2020

I was continuing with this course and have completed 2 weeks, but the Teradata Viewpoint doesn't seem to work. I am trying for the past 2 days and hence, I will not be able to continue this course. I liked the first 2 weeks though.

por Wen

Jun 21, 2017

Good, difficult course.

Materials have errors from a long time ago and no one seems to be updating it. These errors are wasting students a lot of time. Mentors and staffs respond to posts in a polite and timely manner.

por TE Z

Aug 31, 2019

the instructions of the final assignment seems a littble bit confusing. Many have reported the issues but the staffs didn't respond in time and the materials haven't been updated for a period.

por Anne-Sophie P

Jun 27, 2018

Very interesting and hands on course. But not a lot of maintenance, explanations and assistance on the questions, especially the Teradata exercises.

por Tristan J

Apr 08, 2018

The content is there but often poorly delivered, the videos aren't much help and it feels like the course is not setting you up for success.

por Jessica A R

May 04, 2018

Is a great course, However, I Think some materials could be explained more by the professor, and not just for the student read.

por Xu L

Jul 23, 2018

A great course! However, some logistic mistakes prevent me from finishing the course. (Teradata account info)

por Yifan G

Nov 15, 2016

there are so little video tutorials, and too many exercises without video instructions.

por Richard H

Feb 25, 2016

too many issues with the DB's that needed to be accessed to complete the exams.

por Jiahui B

Nov 29, 2017

It will be better to combine the lecture and code.