Chevron Left
Volver a Build Your First Android App (Project-Centered Course)

Opiniones y comentarios de aprendices correspondientes a Build Your First Android App (Project-Centered Course) por parte de CentraleSupélec

4.3
estrellas
706 calificaciones
218 revisiones

Acerca del Curso

What you’ll achieve: In this project-centered course*, you’ll design, build, and distribute your own unique application for the Android mobile platform. We’ll provide you with a set of customizable building blocks that you can assemble to create many different types of apps, and that will help you become familiar with many important specificities of Android development. When you complete the project, in addition to having a personalized app that you can use and share, you’ll have the skills and background you need to move on to more advanced coursework in Android development. What you’ll need to get started: This project-centered course is designed for learners who have some prior experience programming in Java, such as an introductory college course or Coursera’s Java Programming Specialization (https://www.coursera.org/specializations/java-programming). You will need a computer with a stable Internet connection, but you will not need an Android phone - we’ll use free software that you can use to emulate a phone on your computer. We'll use Android Studio as IDE; it is compatible with most computer and operating systems. You can find detailed system requirements here: https://developer.android.com/sdk/index.html#Requirements. *About Project-Centered Courses: Project-centered courses are designed to help you complete a personally meaningful real-world project, with your instructor and a community of learners with similar goals providing guidance and suggestions along the way. By actively applying new concepts as you learn, you’ll master the course content more efficiently; you’ll also get a head start on using the skills you gain to make positive changes in your life and career. When you complete the course, you’ll have a finished project that you’ll be proud to use and share. Time: 10 hours of study, 10 hours of active project work...

Principales revisiones

RB

Apr 19, 2016

I very much enjoyed this course. It gave a great introduction to Android programming for those who don't know any android programming to start with. I recommend this course as a place to start.

AP

Mar 28, 2016

excellent course to get started in android. helps build basic blocks that can then be used to develop more complex apps as well as know where to search for more info. great job!!!

Filtrar por:

176 - 200 de 215 revisiones para Build Your First Android App (Project-Centered Course)

por Ramazan D

Jun 04, 2017

It was a good start into developing amdroid apps. thanks for all.

por sohail j

Jul 30, 2017

good but English language must be more clear to understand

por Enrico S

Oct 30, 2017

Techinical introduction for being a front-end developer.

por Guillermo L

Jun 20, 2017

Good mooc for a first android app

por Shivam K

Aug 12, 2018

The teaching is not so good.

por Vasilis T

Apr 05, 2020

2015 version

por aqeeb h j

Jul 23, 2018

Good

por Chris H

Mar 05, 2018

Good: It was a good introduction to the building blocks for android apps. Bad: The instructor's videos were done with an old version of Android Studio. The videos should be re-done. Getting peers to review my app was really difficult. The source code is sent around, but the reviewer needs to build the project, and then run it on an emulator. I could not build some of the other students' work, and they couldn't all review mine. Can we submit an .apk file instead? Or at least specify a version of Android Studio to use, and any SDK's etc that need to be installed.

por Halliday H

May 22, 2017

This course walks you through how to create some very specific programs, but doesn't do a good job of explaining why the code works. It only occasionally tells you what each line of code actually does. It's also using an outdated version of Android Studio, and does not tell you which version they're using, so some of the instruction is obsolete and does not work. Many of the questions on the quizzes are never covered in the lectures.

por Shanmuga v

Mar 29, 2020

The content is excellent. God the pronunciation of the lecturer is horrible. I was very interested in this course but how i'm not happy with the way they presenting this videos. Even with the subtitles on, the pronunciation kills me, please do some necessary changes. Apart from that this course is amazing.

por ToddM

Apr 17, 2016

The course if well-organized and the instructors do a very good job. However, three weeks of slides and theory and then only the last two weeks of seeing code hardly makes the course project-centered in my mind. Also, requiring learners to upgrade to run an autograder on a quiz is ridiculous!

por Denise P

Feb 09, 2020

I really do not want to finish this course. Please remove from my courses. I signed up for it because it was a free course offered to me. It is very interesting but I am having a hard time following this course. I really need to focus on my current course Google It.

Thanks

por Jim C

Mar 25, 2018

A fairly shallow look at the content, with delivery and comprehension sometimes limited by language issues.

The worst thing, though, is that unlike most Coursera courses, you CANNOT COMPLETE this course without paying. That's very disappointing.

por jean-marc J

Dec 19, 2016

I am very sorry to say that the course is very poor in english (speaking), too bad you do not teach the course in french this could be useful for a lots of french speaking students and better for the quality of the course.

por Helene

Dec 28, 2016

The first courses are great.

Unfortunately, the course that covered the installation (week 2 - "create your first basic application with android studio") got me lost.

por Andreea B

Sep 11, 2018

Coursera says this is a free course, but you have to pay at the end if you want to take the final quiz or get a certificate.

por nerpatu

Oct 25, 2016

The instructor's explanation is not orderly nor structured, and with a lot of 'noises'.

por rajesh d

May 06, 2016

Explanation of concept was poor

por Mary H

Mar 28, 2016

You really need prior coding experience to understand the training. I also was very disappointed in the teaching. We have an incredible opportunity to improve education, and I feel that this course is merely an extension of current learning techniques. It was extremely difficult for me to fully participate without paying. I was using this course to make a specific android app to control my wheelchair. I act as an analyst for my programmer husband. So I fully understand code architecture, but absolutely hate coding by hand. This course glossed over coding however it is far more code intensive then I was led to believe.

por Rui K

Oct 18, 2019

Not the best introduction class that I was hoping for. While the structure of course seemed promising, it lacked on providing proper tutorial on how to use the Android studio as well as building an app consists of just following the tutorials in the beginning, which lacks in creativity. i.e. "app-building" tutorials presented here is low-quality which can, and should, be substituted by higher quality YouTube video. Udacity offers more detailed introduction course to android development that is sponsored by Google, which is a better course than this one.

por Yann

Jun 26, 2017

Very bad communication skills of the teachers. Especially one who seems to be doing his job with no enthusiasm at all.

This is already not very engaging when you're starting to learn a new skill, but the worst thing is that it's very poor in explanations throughout the course.

My feeling is that this course was not ready to be released on Coursera, or maybe this is a Beta version? But still...

I was disappointed as Supelec is known to be a prestigious Computer science and Ingeneering French university.

por Martin B

Aug 22, 2017

The video and sound qualitty is terrible! and also the programming - it is explained pretty bad. It is so frustrating, when you trying to catch what the guy is doing when he's writing the code. For example he marked part of the code, then pressed some button on the keyboard, but didn't said which button was it... oh my god, so frustrating!!!!!

I started another course on udacity.com and it looks so much better, totaly can recommend that! it's called Android Basics.

por Mohamed M

Jun 17, 2016

i was very excited at the beginning of the course

but when i figure out that i must paid for unlock some important lecture

i really felt disappointed i thought i should only paid if i want to took the Certificate

i had been wasted some time at this course

now i have to search for another course but complete one this time.

por Sarah A L

Jul 10, 2017

I found this course to be extremely confusing for a beginner in the field. There was no guidance, and peer help was confusing.

I am disappointed and suggest that if you enroll that you have a good working knowledge of basic java and android programming before attempting this course because you will be on your own.

por Japloe S

Apr 03, 2016

The free version of the course is far more restricted than other courses I've taken, the content wasn't brilliant, and it wasn't really more advanced than other tutorials with far better presenters which can be found online for free