Chevron Left
Volver a Animal Behaviour and Welfare

Opiniones y comentarios de aprendices correspondientes a Animal Behaviour and Welfare por parte de Universidad de Edimburgo

4.8
estrellas
2,787 calificaciones
739 revisiones

Acerca del Curso

Animal welfare has been described as a complex, multi-faceted public policy issue which includes important scientific, ethical, and other dimensions. Improving our understanding of animal welfare, involves the fascinating study of animal behavior as well as the challenge of accessing the emotions of animals. This is the On-Demand version of this course, which means you can start the course at any time and work through the course materials at your own pace. The materials and quizzes will always be available to you. You can come and talk about the course on Twitter using the hashtag #EdAniWelf...

Principales revisiones

AS

Jun 22, 2020

This course was very informative and interesting! I enjoyed the lectures as well as the instructors and also loved that it focused on many different kinds animal welfare issues. Definitely recommend!

PR

Apr 28, 2020

Its a nicely designed course. It sheds light on many animal care practices and welfare. Very well instructions and quiz sessions are arranged. Many important learnings and takeaways from the course.

Filtrar por:

26 - 50 de 727 revisiones para Animal Behaviour and Welfare

por Na Y K

Jul 10, 2018

Fantastic

por Nek P

Jun 18, 2020

Data trumps all.

Whether its understanding behavioural aspects or welfare needs of animals- right from our pets, to livestock, to wild animals, and the ones used in the entertainment or trade industries, it all stems from picking up on things that scientists, zoologists, veterinarians, animals behaviourists and handlers have spent years, if not decades, studying and documenting.

As I near the completion of my first year of legal studies, this MOOC gave me a deep insight into the different research methodologies that have been utilised to better understand animals and influence legislation world over.

Knowing that NALSAR University of Law, Hyderabad has started India's first Centre for Animal Law, that will create curriculum on animal welfare laws and issues in our country, leaves me hopeful for the future.

To all those who have an affinity for animals, I could not suggest a better MOOC than this. To those who have pets, this course may be the eye-opener you never knew you needed.

por Kathy L

Oct 30, 2017

This course gave me a lot of things to think about. For example, the stereotypies exhibited by animals that have had negative experiences reminded me of how some people with autism display stereotypies in their response to sensory stimulation (either hyporeactivity or hyper-reactivity). That might be an interesting thing to explore neurologically, but I know very little about neurology, so hopefully a specialist somewhere will make the connection. Also, I have eleven indoor cats that I believe are in need of more interaction from me and mental stimulation in their environment. I need to work on this. They are all safe from the crazy drivers where I live, but I want them to have fulfilling lives. I guess that's my conundrum: How do my husband and I work and keep my cats happy at the same time?

por Katie S

Mar 17, 2020

I went into this course thinking it would confirm my beliefs that we shouldn't eat animals. However, I have come to learn that it's not just about the ethics - we're called to look at things from an objective view as well when considering how animal feel, think, react, or why they behave the way they do. It definitely opened my eyes to logical ways of observing and providing for animals that are being raised for foods. I still don't eat meat, but I am more at ease knowing that there are measures put in place for animal welfare based on research and data that suggests animals had a say in how they are housed / treated. I also don't feel as "emotional" or subjectively angry about these things. I'm just glad we've made progress and we're continuing to make progress!

por Alisha D

Jul 22, 2020

As an A-Level student (Year 12), who is hoping to go on and study veterinary medicine, this course was very interesting and informative. Due to the Coronavirus my work experience has been put on hold so this course will provide me with a topic to discuss in my vet school interviews. Although it may seem daunting to start a course with seven weeks, I completed it in five days whilst still taking my time to make notes and fully comprehend the material. I would encourage anyone considering taking this course to do so because it will help with your understanding and view on animals which you can use in your daily life (especially if you have a pet of your own).

por Morgan F

Jul 25, 2020

IF you want a better understanding of what animals of go through this course will provide you with the knowledge and realization. That you might think animals have a pretty nice life, but no. In this course we learn about there welfare needs and there five freedoms that they desire.

Before I took this course I truly believed animals were living a pretty nice live, but after seeing the videos and these amazing perfessors and researches discuss and explain some of the negatives animals have to live with. I am proud to say, this course has opened my eyes to see the true and that everyday people are trying to fix the animals welfare.

por Daniela B P

Jul 18, 2020

The course was amazing, all the content was pertinent but also very interesting, focusing on a lot of topics that even me, as a veterinarian, never put into perspective and never actually gave such deep thought about. All the experts seems very nice and professional, they all talk very fluently with great terminology that, even though english is not my first language (Greetings from Colombia!), it wasn't difficult to understand.

Thank you so much to all the experts for sharing their knowledge with us. Keep the great work!

I enjoyed the course very much and hope to see more in the future!

por Jorge R G C

Feb 11, 2016

The course was very concise and accessible. I enjoyed the fact that there was a lot of people involved in the course, each one of them presenting their field of expertise. Sometimes a quiz-based course can be a bit dull, but the hangouts and comments let you question certain topics or practices and add depth to the discussion. I would recommend it to anyone interested in a brief, general introduction to animal behaviour and welfare (do keep in mind that it is not an animal ethics course, but the information provided can help you question or strengthen ethical positions).

por asheesh s

Apr 07, 2020

Very very informative and motivational to sensitize us towards the welfare aspects of all animals, most important is that it opens our eyes to see these animals not from our point of views but try to see their world with their eyes and its not important that what we think, more important is what we do for these sentient animals. Thank you very much for opening our eyes, making us to think in a different way, broader way and specially to sensitize us to focus on various welfare issues and giving special attention towards the BEHAVIORAL part of animal welfare.

por Katerina P

Nov 27, 2019

Very helpful, well organized, eye opening course! Loved it! It made me want to study more on the subject of animal welfare and behavior.

I think this course would be beneficial for everyone today, regardless of if they have animals in their life or not, as it gives a very solid perspective, demystification, and understanding of what a good animal welfare means, how to assess it and how to objectively view the problematic of animal welfare in different areas, such as pets, farm/production animals, wild animals in captivity, etc.

I highly recommend this course!

por Jana R B

Aug 16, 2016

What an informative course! Your Professors (all women, and which I find very impressive and inspiring) are so knowledgeable, so broad-based, as well as detail-oriented in their quest to bring animal rights to the forefront of worldwide consciousness. I would love to visit University of Edinburgh someday, I'm an alumnus of University of Montana (B.A.) and Gonzaga University (M.A., and Ph.D. candidacy). Thanks so very much for offering this most important course for free and to make it available for certification so that it can be added to any resume.

por Brittany R

Oct 14, 2018

Very informative, and it helped me see aspects of everyday life that were definitely "out of sight, out of mind" as it often is with lifestock (for those not in farming or thinking about what they eat/where it comes from), wild animals in zoos and conservation sites, as well as animals used in lab testing which I had always been curious about since I work at a cancer research journal. I'm interested in learning more and advocating for animals in any way I can while still trying not to anthropomorphize them so much (as humans are wont to do).

por Eddy L

Feb 25, 2016

This is a very nice course. Thank you so very much for it.

It covers so many aspects of Animal Welfare. At the introduction, it is explained on how to have a useful discussion on such a delicate subject.

With so much information and facts given, one can develop their very own opinion on this Animal Welfare.

I find it very important to cover Animal Welfare for anyone, who works with any kind of animals.Alongside this course I studied Dognition and Basic Horse Management. Soon I will be starting Dairy Farm Management and Horse Nutrition.

por Melanie M

Mar 02, 2018

This is a great way of getting some education on the subject. I love animals and hope to work for an animal welfare charity as my next career move. I currently work in an Aquarium but in the operations side so I hope this shows potential employers my passion on the subject. For someone that is older and unfortunately can't afford to study full time, these courses are a great way of testing the brain! Really easy to learn whilst keeping up a hectic lifestyle! Thanks Coursera, I have already signed up to The Truth about Cat's and Dogs!

por Suneet C

Jun 22, 2020

The course was very engaging and stimulating. The lectures were very passionate about Animal Welfare and this made it more fun and interesting. The course has also challenged me to think about certain welfare aspects I had no previous knowledge about. In addition, the additional material and optional module were interesting topics to consider and think about especially for a student like me in the veterinary field. I would like to thank all the lectures for their help and for delivering this informative course.

por Nicholas K

Nov 18, 2015

Five weeks in and this is one of the best courses going, This is a course every potential animal carer should take before considering 'cute' and 'expensive' just because they come with a certificate of pedigree with names one can't pronounce of prize winning ancestry. Drive past the puppy and kitten factories and go down to ones local RSPCA centre or council pound instead, you will never regret it. Rescue animals are the best because they will never forget your kindness for giving them a nice comfortable home.

por Loreta M

Mar 28, 2018

A brilliant course - suitable for beginners and amateurs interested in animal behavior welfare. Every lecture is engaging, full of useful information, encouraging discussion and thirst for more info! And there's plenty of that as well - every lecture provides extra reading material, quizzes to test what you've learned and a taste at the end of every week. AND you get an extra lecture at the end. This course reiterated the things that I already new, and provided some fresh material to think about.

por Katrina P

Mar 23, 2020

As a year 8 student in Middle School(junior high) This entire program was very easy to understand and showed me some key terms in Animal Behavior and Welfare. This has surely taught me well and it very much will help me with getting a job that uses this information in the future. I really enjoyed this learning experience and I'm glad to give it 5 stars as I feel it is a wonderful program! Thank you for this experience and I hope that others that do this program enjoy it as much as I do!

por vadali s s

Mar 28, 2018

This course has been amazing, i have learnt a lot more about animals and their behaviors as pets, strays and in captive. i received a better opportunity to understand the animal welfare issues around the world. Few videos that were shown in this session were heart touching. The course actually showed the sour truths about how animals suffer and how miserable their lives can be if not treated well. overall this course is very interesting and suites quite well for animal lovers.

por Sylvia S M

Mar 16, 2016

Opened my eyes to a lot of what is going on especially in the animal food industry, and animal behaviours and animal welfare that we don't consider when a visitor to a zoo or game farm. If more of us became aware, and understood the issues as well for both the industry and the animals, new policy via populace advocacy might help even further. It is taking too long for this, considering we live amongst animals for companions, and eat animals for survival. WEll most of us do.

por Manaswini G

Jun 03, 2020

This course was an wonderful experience, as I got several new perspective about life of an animal, the parts which were distressing did add on a lot of knowledge. I have interest in knowing and studying about Animal Rights and Psychology. So if such a course could be structured. This course structure is just what it needs to be and I feel so satisfied pursuing this course. Thanks for creating the course, to all the ones who taught us the course. Huge thanks to all of you.

por Wolf

Aug 03, 2019

As someone who studies animals and trains many there were some points I wasn't quite on ball with but many I still agreed with on your reasoning. Personally I've always thought animals felt emotions (I mean how can a human feel it and not an animal if we are all animals with the same common ancestors) so I often try to read their body language to understand how they may be feeling to what we are doing. This was a good course though with some good readings and videos.

por Vishrutha R

Apr 01, 2020

I found the course quite informative and engaging in terms of understanding the stress factors that apply to animals with human interaction. However, I wanted to know more about how QBA is quantified and how enrichment planning can be evaluated. I particularly was looking forward to understanding the welfare of captive cetaceans and how they can be improved which wasn't part of the syllabus but I shall try to extrapolate. Thank you for the enjoyable course.

por liuyuxi

Sep 10, 2017

This is a very good course, but unless u have some background or work in animal fields, u will find it's a little bit difficult to understand or hard to have a true feeling about what's it talking about. Actually animal welfare is a very big subject and needs long term improvement. This course needs u spend more time after class to learn and read, hope everybody enjoy it! Thank you to the trainer team to bring us such a wonderful course!

por Kylee S

Jun 30, 2020

I'm about to start studying biology with an emphasis in zoology and this course was a great start! The professors were all incredibly helpful and explained everything very well. The quizzes were challenging without being stressful. I live in the States, so taking a class on animal welfare from another country really helped to expand my perspective, since I'll most likely be learning from a very US-centric perspective from here on out.