Chevron Left
Volver a Animal Behaviour and Welfare

Opiniones y comentarios de aprendices correspondientes a Animal Behaviour and Welfare por parte de Universidad de Edimburgo

4.8
estrellas
2,333 calificaciones
588 revisiones

Acerca del Curso

Animal welfare has been described as a complex, multi-faceted public policy issue which includes important scientific, ethical, and other dimensions. Improving our understanding of animal welfare, involves the fascinating study of animal behavior as well as the challenge of accessing the emotions of animals. This is the On-Demand version of this course, which means you can start the course at any time and work through the course materials at your own pace. The materials and quizzes will always be available to you. You can come and talk about the course on Twitter using the hashtag #EdAniWelf...

Principales revisiones

PR

Apr 28, 2020

Its a nicely designed course. It sheds light on many animal care practices and welfare. Very well instructions and quiz sessions are arranged. Many important learnings and takeaways from the course.

SK

Sep 12, 2019

A Really great course which is interesting, informative and well executed. The video lectures were top notch and the visuals always suited the narration. Great work by the team behind this course.

Filtrar por:

26 - 50 de 578 revisiones para Animal Behaviour and Welfare

por Katie S

Mar 17, 2020

I went into this course thinking it would confirm my beliefs that we shouldn't eat animals. However, I have come to learn that it's not just about the ethics - we're called to look at things from an objective view as well when considering how animal feel, think, react, or why they behave the way they do. It definitely opened my eyes to logical ways of observing and providing for animals that are being raised for foods. I still don't eat meat, but I am more at ease knowing that there are measures put in place for animal welfare based on research and data that suggests animals had a say in how they are housed / treated. I also don't feel as "emotional" or subjectively angry about these things. I'm just glad we've made progress and we're continuing to make progress!

por Rumman H T

Aug 23, 2019

I am a Veterinary student of HSTU in Bangladesh(Asia). It was an awesome journey to all with my new teachers! I am glad to get them. That was my first course in Coursera, As I have not enough money to purchase this course, I really thank the authority to make this valuable course for free. It really helps to the persons who are financially poor enough to buy this. I have learned a lot that can't be described in a few sentences. Hope I'll able to apply it in my practical life as well as in any needs. Best wishes to all of my respective teachers. I wish if I were work with you in the future!

por Jorge R G C

Feb 11, 2016

The course was very concise and accessible. I enjoyed the fact that there was a lot of people involved in the course, each one of them presenting their field of expertise. Sometimes a quiz-based course can be a bit dull, but the hangouts and comments let you question certain topics or practices and add depth to the discussion. I would recommend it to anyone interested in a brief, general introduction to animal behaviour and welfare (do keep in mind that it is not an animal ethics course, but the information provided can help you question or strengthen ethical positions).

por asheesh s

Apr 07, 2020

Very very informative and motivational to sensitize us towards the welfare aspects of all animals, most important is that it opens our eyes to see these animals not from our point of views but try to see their world with their eyes and its not important that what we think, more important is what we do for these sentient animals. Thank you very much for opening our eyes, making us to think in a different way, broader way and specially to sensitize us to focus on various welfare issues and giving special attention towards the BEHAVIORAL part of animal welfare.

por Katerina P

Nov 27, 2019

Very helpful, well organized, eye opening course! Loved it! It made me want to study more on the subject of animal welfare and behavior.

I think this course would be beneficial for everyone today, regardless of if they have animals in their life or not, as it gives a very solid perspective, demystification, and understanding of what a good animal welfare means, how to assess it and how to objectively view the problematic of animal welfare in different areas, such as pets, farm/production animals, wild animals in captivity, etc.

I highly recommend this course!

por Jana R B

Aug 16, 2016

What an informative course! Your Professors (all women, and which I find very impressive and inspiring) are so knowledgeable, so broad-based, as well as detail-oriented in their quest to bring animal rights to the forefront of worldwide consciousness. I would love to visit University of Edinburgh someday, I'm an alumnus of University of Montana (B.A.) and Gonzaga University (M.A., and Ph.D. candidacy). Thanks so very much for offering this most important course for free and to make it available for certification so that it can be added to any resume.

por Brittany R

Oct 14, 2018

Very informative, and it helped me see aspects of everyday life that were definitely "out of sight, out of mind" as it often is with lifestock (for those not in farming or thinking about what they eat/where it comes from), wild animals in zoos and conservation sites, as well as animals used in lab testing which I had always been curious about since I work at a cancer research journal. I'm interested in learning more and advocating for animals in any way I can while still trying not to anthropomorphize them so much (as humans are wont to do).

por Eddy L

Feb 25, 2016

This is a very nice course. Thank you so very much for it.

It covers so many aspects of Animal Welfare. At the introduction, it is explained on how to have a useful discussion on such a delicate subject.

With so much information and facts given, one can develop their very own opinion on this Animal Welfare.

I find it very important to cover Animal Welfare for anyone, who works with any kind of animals.Alongside this course I studied Dognition and Basic Horse Management. Soon I will be starting Dairy Farm Management and Horse Nutrition.

por Melanie M

Mar 02, 2018

This is a great way of getting some education on the subject. I love animals and hope to work for an animal welfare charity as my next career move. I currently work in an Aquarium but in the operations side so I hope this shows potential employers my passion on the subject. For someone that is older and unfortunately can't afford to study full time, these courses are a great way of testing the brain! Really easy to learn whilst keeping up a hectic lifestyle! Thanks Coursera, I have already signed up to The Truth about Cat's and Dogs!

por Nicholas K

Nov 18, 2015

Five weeks in and this is one of the best courses going, This is a course every potential animal carer should take before considering 'cute' and 'expensive' just because they come with a certificate of pedigree with names one can't pronounce of prize winning ancestry. Drive past the puppy and kitten factories and go down to ones local RSPCA centre or council pound instead, you will never regret it. Rescue animals are the best because they will never forget your kindness for giving them a nice comfortable home.

por Loreta M

Mar 28, 2018

A brilliant course - suitable for beginners and amateurs interested in animal behavior welfare. Every lecture is engaging, full of useful information, encouraging discussion and thirst for more info! And there's plenty of that as well - every lecture provides extra reading material, quizzes to test what you've learned and a taste at the end of every week. AND you get an extra lecture at the end. This course reiterated the things that I already new, and provided some fresh material to think about.

por Katrina P

Mar 23, 2020

As a year 8 student in Middle School(junior high) This entire program was very easy to understand and showed me some key terms in Animal Behavior and Welfare. This has surely taught me well and it very much will help me with getting a job that uses this information in the future. I really enjoyed this learning experience and I'm glad to give it 5 stars as I feel it is a wonderful program! Thank you for this experience and I hope that others that do this program enjoy it as much as I do!

por vadali s s

Mar 28, 2018

This course has been amazing, i have learnt a lot more about animals and their behaviors as pets, strays and in captive. i received a better opportunity to understand the animal welfare issues around the world. Few videos that were shown in this session were heart touching. The course actually showed the sour truths about how animals suffer and how miserable their lives can be if not treated well. overall this course is very interesting and suites quite well for animal lovers.

por Sylvia S M

Mar 16, 2016

Opened my eyes to a lot of what is going on especially in the animal food industry, and animal behaviours and animal welfare that we don't consider when a visitor to a zoo or game farm. If more of us became aware, and understood the issues as well for both the industry and the animals, new policy via populace advocacy might help even further. It is taking too long for this, considering we live amongst animals for companions, and eat animals for survival. WEll most of us do.

por Manaswini G

Jun 03, 2020

This course was an wonderful experience, as I got several new perspective about life of an animal, the parts which were distressing did add on a lot of knowledge. I have interest in knowing and studying about Animal Rights and Psychology. So if such a course could be structured. This course structure is just what it needs to be and I feel so satisfied pursuing this course. Thanks for creating the course, to all the ones who taught us the course. Huge thanks to all of you.

por Wolf

Aug 03, 2019

As someone who studies animals and trains many there were some points I wasn't quite on ball with but many I still agreed with on your reasoning. Personally I've always thought animals felt emotions (I mean how can a human feel it and not an animal if we are all animals with the same common ancestors) so I often try to read their body language to understand how they may be feeling to what we are doing. This was a good course though with some good readings and videos.

por Vishrutha R

Apr 01, 2020

I found the course quite informative and engaging in terms of understanding the stress factors that apply to animals with human interaction. However, I wanted to know more about how QBA is quantified and how enrichment planning can be evaluated. I particularly was looking forward to understanding the welfare of captive cetaceans and how they can be improved which wasn't part of the syllabus but I shall try to extrapolate. Thank you for the enjoyable course.

por liuyuxi

Sep 10, 2017

This is a very good course, but unless u have some background or work in animal fields, u will find it's a little bit difficult to understand or hard to have a true feeling about what's it talking about. Actually animal welfare is a very big subject and needs long term improvement. This course needs u spend more time after class to learn and read, hope everybody enjoy it! Thank you to the trainer team to bring us such a wonderful course!

por Elyse R

Mar 07, 2016

Wonderful course about animal welfare issues today and how to improve our their well-being. I have always been interested in animals and I thought I knew a lot about them. This course provided a lot of objective information about the experiences of all different species. There's still a lot to learn, but I will be recommending this course to anyone interested in understanding a little more than the basics about the welfare of animals.

por Caroline C

Apr 26, 2020

I enjoyed this course greatly because it was content dense, delivered at a great pace, slides were uncluttered and easy to follow. additional information was provided that was relevant and informative. Some aspects were hard to watch [little bear calling for mum] but that is the nature of the topic. Identifying stressors and how to reduce them. Would be great if all MOOC's were as well put together.

por Hui Z H

Apr 30, 2020

This course is exceptionally well-created and covered many different aspects of this topic. The content was easy to understand, the instructors and interviewees were knowledgeable in their respective fields and gave many insights, and the quizzes were sufficiently challenging. Many additional readings are also available for those who want to learn more in-depth. I thoroughly enjoyed this course!

por Vanille

Apr 24, 2020

Very grateful for this course and all the information that I learnt. Animal welfare is a difficult subject since I'm vegan and an animal advocate, but it was very important to learn all these things to be a better voice for the animals. I really enjoyed weekly hangouts even though they weren't live - still a lot of insignts and useful information. I love all the teachers, thank you so much!

por Lucy W

Nov 17, 2016

I can't explain how much I enjoyed this course. It's content and resources were so easily accessible and easy to understand. I am just new into the Animal industry so this was a perfect way into it. The passion the lecturers had was so plain to see and I loved that. I makes me want more.

I am so happy I did this. So happy, I want to enrol on another MOOC :)

THANKS EDINBURGH UNIVERSITY <3

por Sara S

Nov 11, 2017

This course was very interesting, insightful and often surprising. It was fascinating to learn how much the welfare challenges depend on the species and the individual circumstances and to see how different research approaches are used to identify those challenges and improve animal's living conditions. Thanks to the team for this engaging introduction to a complex topic!

por Wesley L W

May 28, 2020

Thank you so for such an informative, enlightening, and thought provoking Animal Behavior and Welfare course. All the instructors are very engaging in their respective modules. I have gained what I feel is a great and encouraging starting point to continue learning about the scientific study of animal behavior and welfare, the findings, and positive results produced.