Chevron Left
Volver a At the Origins of the Mediterranean Civilization: Archaeology of the City from the Levant to the West - 3rd-1st millennium BC

Opiniones y comentarios de aprendices correspondientes a At the Origins of the Mediterranean Civilization: Archaeology of the City from the Levant to the West - 3rd-1st millennium BC por parte de Universidad de Roma La Sapienza

4.5
estrellas
370 calificaciones
149 reseña

Acerca del Curso

Which are the deepest roots of that mix of cultures that we use to call ‘Mediterranean Civilization’? Which are comminglings and exchanges which produced its most complete fruit, i.e. the city, a place for landscape-modelling communities? And which elements did contribute to build up that baulk of customs, ideas, and innovations which compelled to confrontation and hybridizations different peoples for millennia? What did it made, from pottery to metallurgy, from gastronomy to architecture, from art to religion, of a sea a cradle of civilization? Archaeology may help in disentangling such questions, seeking unexpected answers , by tinkering what ancient Mediterranean peoples left buried in the ground. A privileged point of view of our course is the ancient Phoenician city of Motya, located exactly at the centre of the “sea in the middle”. Throughout the live experience of excavation, with images taken on the field, this course will let you touch the many tesserae of the great mosaic of the Mediterranean Civilization. The field diary of the archaeologist, and the handpick will be the two tools, which will lead us across the sea to discover what such early cities actually were, and how their contribute is still a major part of our shared memory....

Principales reseñas

CH

13 de mar. de 2021

This was a great course, it was great to be out 'on location' with the archaeologists and Lorenzo Nigro. There was also a great selection of reading material which offered more in-depth information.

DA

9 de ago. de 2017

wonderful explanation along with good slides and maps and incredible readings\n\nbut the main organization was my favorite part because I learned so much about ancient cities as well as Motya

Filtrar por:

126 - 149 de 149 revisiones para At the Origins of the Mediterranean Civilization: Archaeology of the City from the Levant to the West - 3rd-1st millennium BC

por Rafael M

7 de ene. de 2019

Bom curso, o professor é querido, mas muitas vezes pareceu mais uma série de leituras de relatórios arqueológicos do que uma aula de história

por Federico C

8 de oct. de 2018

Great course. I enjoy the most when a Proffesor talks about his passion, like in this case. 5 stars if the Proffesor spoke better English.

por David B

21 de feb. de 2021

Interesting and informative. Both wide ranging in detail and narrow in outlook since in mainly concentrates on one site. Enjoyed this.

por Shiva P P

4 de ago. de 2020

Please try concentrating on the clarity of the subtitles. It was too difficult to follow the professor without the correct subtitles.

por Karen W

28 de abr. de 2020

It was very interesting. It was sometimes hard to understand what the Professor was saying and the written notes didn't always help.

por 王一岚

12 de jun. de 2022

Thank you Prof. Nigro! I learned a lot from this course! The only regret is that the subtitles are not 100% correct.

por David J H

16 de abr. de 2019

A very interesting course with lots of information. The translations were at times a little challenging.

por Anton B

24 de jul. de 2021

A very interesting course which contributed further to my little knowledge on the island of Motya.

por Isabel G C

7 de nov. de 2019

Muy interesante y útil, aunque un poco confusas algunas explicaciones y preguntas de los test

por Rebeca P M

21 de ago. de 2017

It is a very interesting course to know the Phoenician city of Motya.

por Charles B

30 de ago. de 2020

was well paced would have liked a little more history

por Dennis W

2 de jun. de 2018

My first try at a subject like this. Very well done.

por Benedict S

6 de jul. de 2020

5/5 Lorenzo Nigro

4/5 content

3/5 translation

por Richard K

11 de ene. de 2018

interesting story of archaeology

por Julie B

13 de abr. de 2019

T

por Kathy S

15 de jun. de 2022

Fascinating topic, and Professor Nigro was inspirational in his enthusiasm and professionalism. But those transcripts!! No sign of having been proof-read, let alone edited! So many instances of [INAUDIBLE] or [FOREIGN]; words spelt so incorrectly that the meaning was unclear - for example, the course discussed the Phoenician settlement of Motya, but there were at least 5 different spellings of this name; the names of the various pottery types were impossible to decipher. Professor Nigro's accent was a bit tricky, but his enthusiasm made up for that. Yes, I know you have to use a computerised tool to produce these transcripts, but surely someone could take a bit of time to proof-read? What the computer produced was a complete mess, an insult both to learners, and a betrayal of Professor Nigro's professionalism. I would have given 5 stars had the transcripts been better.

por Trudy L

9 de feb. de 2021

The pictures of the artifacts, the maps and views of the site are all excellent. I found it challenging at times to get the jest of what was being said. Never the less I enjoyed the history lesson.

por Claudia M

6 de jun. de 2022

The course is very interesting, but the instructor really speaks a very poor English and sometimes it is not easy to understand what he is saying.

por Alexandra E

22 de sep. de 2019

Aimed at experienced archaeology students who want a deep-dive into this one particular topic.

por Oscar T

29 de nov. de 2018

The videos are excellent but the choice of lectures and the quiz need more work.

por Christian W

1 de jun. de 2019

Pro: - Some facts presented are interesting.

Cons: - Most content is too related about a specific dig find, too few general context.

-Prof has strong accent and English subtitles were *extremely* bad (did a machine do that???).

-Video cutting and script felt done overnight: some bad cuts, some segments are repeated on several occasions in the video

-Female students shouldn't be treated as decorations!

por Fred I

26 de mar. de 2018

The instructor's English was difficult to understand at times. The written text regarding the spoken had many errors

por Elizabeth D

23 de dic. de 2021

I​t is impossible to withdraw from a this course!!!!!!