Chevron Left
Volver a At the Origins of the Mediterranean Civilization: Archaeology of the City from the Levant to the West - 3rd-1st millennium BC

Opiniones y comentarios de aprendices correspondientes a At the Origins of the Mediterranean Civilization: Archaeology of the City from the Levant to the West - 3rd-1st millennium BC por parte de Universidad de Roma La Sapienza

4.5
estrellas
363 calificaciones
146 reseña

Acerca del Curso

Which are the deepest roots of that mix of cultures that we use to call ‘Mediterranean Civilization’? Which are comminglings and exchanges which produced its most complete fruit, i.e. the city, a place for landscape-modelling communities? And which elements did contribute to build up that baulk of customs, ideas, and innovations which compelled to confrontation and hybridizations different peoples for millennia? What did it made, from pottery to metallurgy, from gastronomy to architecture, from art to religion, of a sea a cradle of civilization? Archaeology may help in disentangling such questions, seeking unexpected answers , by tinkering what ancient Mediterranean peoples left buried in the ground. A privileged point of view of our course is the ancient Phoenician city of Motya, located exactly at the centre of the “sea in the middle”. Throughout the live experience of excavation, with images taken on the field, this course will let you touch the many tesserae of the great mosaic of the Mediterranean Civilization. The field diary of the archaeologist, and the handpick will be the two tools, which will lead us across the sea to discover what such early cities actually were, and how their contribute is still a major part of our shared memory....

Principales reseñas

CH

13 de mar. de 2021

This was a great course, it was great to be out 'on location' with the archaeologists and Lorenzo Nigro. There was also a great selection of reading material which offered more in-depth information.

DA

9 de ago. de 2017

wonderful explanation along with good slides and maps and incredible readings\n\nbut the main organization was my favorite part because I learned so much about ancient cities as well as Motya

Filtrar por:

51 - 75 de 146 revisiones para At the Origins of the Mediterranean Civilization: Archaeology of the City from the Levant to the West - 3rd-1st millennium BC

por Deleted A

13 de ago. de 2018

This was my first time studying anything related to the Phoenician civilization. I enjoyed how much of the lecture was on the field in Motya. The professor's English was surprisingly good.

por Beatriz m d

27 de dic. de 2020

It has been a great course.Very easy,although archeology is not my thing.Thanks to teacher and to see if someone is encouraged to make a mooc about my country,España.Goodbay,Adiós.

por alejandro

29 de jul. de 2017

A very informative and interesting study of the origins of Mediterranean civilization. The course is packed with examples and explanations and delivered by the superb Prof. Nigro

por daniela p

2 de nov. de 2018

este curso es muy bueno te ayuda a aprender mas acerca de nuestro hermoso pasado su cultura, arquitectura , su sociedad entre otras cosas

muchas gracias

saludos desde VENEZUELA

por Eduardo T

25 de nov. de 2019

Wonderful course, very recommended for everyone interested in the subject. It was a real honor to study such a course with Professor Nigro.

Many thanks for this oportunity

por BoumTAC

23 de abr. de 2021

good but evaluation is not great, sometime we only have one choice but multiple answer are possible.

That's the only issue, otherwise the course is really interesting

por Zhenkun H

27 de sep. de 2020

A really interesting class with an exciting form of teaching. I have got a better understanding of this period and I really appreciate the professor and this course.

por Dr. S S I

22 de abr. de 2020

Awesome and Fantastic...Enriching and Enlightening Experience....Feeling Blessed to learn so many new things. Looking forward for more Interaction and Activities

por Abigayle D

27 de jun. de 2020

Professor Nigro is engaging and conveys information exceptionally well. His passion for archaeology is very evident, and I would highly recommend this class.

por JOHN Q

27 de may. de 2017

Very enjoyable class which provides evidence of the origins of Mediterranean Civilization with insights as to how these origins are known. Thanks so much!

por Piece o E

31 de oct. de 2020

Amazing course. I’ve learnt so much more about things that I’m truly interested in. What supposed to take 8 weeks, took me one - addictive in a good way.

por Angelina W

3 de jul. de 2020

I really enjoyed this course and learned a lot about little-known ancient civilization. I highly recommend this course to any Western ancient historian.

por Maritza B

31 de oct. de 2020

Thank you Professor Nigrio for your work in putting together this wonderful course. Thanks also to Sapienza University staff who helped in this effort.

por Eduardo P

1 de dic. de 2019

Excellent introduction to Phoenician expansion in the Mediterranean - in particular the process of interplay of Greek/Levantine cultures.

Grazie!

por Carlos H

19 de jul. de 2020

Muchas gracias Profesor, no tenía conocimiento de algunos aspectos de los fenicios, me sirvió mucho este curso para profundizar en ello.

por Exiquio M

27 de dic. de 2020

Muy buen curso para entender el origen y mestizaje de las civilizaciones del Mediterráneo. Y con ellas, el origen de Occidente

por Lisa F

9 de ene. de 2021

This course connected to other Coursera courses and made a picture of the commodity trade during the Bronze Age complete.

por Jiayang T

30 de dic. de 2018

The course shows a lot of artifacts and excavation sites, and it's helpful to understand the ancient architectures.

por Andreia G

12 de may. de 2020

Thank you so much for this amazing journey. It was a lovely course to do about an amazing ancient civilization.

por Alexandre M

1 de feb. de 2018

Big title MOOC very much just about a small island, Motya, but great content and entertaining course.

por patricia a

20 de abr. de 2020

It has been a very interesting course, full of information, quality videos and intereseting stuff.

por Christopher R

18 de nov. de 2019

I really enjoyed this course - took it in unison with Archaeoastronomy from Polytecnico di Milano.

por Andy E

20 de dic. de 2019

This was an excellent course which was both informative and enjoyable. Thank you for offering it!

por Mustafa G

23 de abr. de 2022

hem sınıfta hem de kazı alanında gayet etkili bir ders olmus. tesekkur ederim Lorenzo ogretmene.

por David L

12 de jul. de 2020

Thank you so much! I've learnt a lot. The course was very interesting and presented excellently.