Chevron Left
Volver a At the Origins of the Mediterranean Civilization: Archaeology of the City from the Levant to the West - 3rd-1st millennium BC

Opiniones y comentarios de aprendices correspondientes a At the Origins of the Mediterranean Civilization: Archaeology of the City from the Levant to the West - 3rd-1st millennium BC por parte de Universidad de Roma La Sapienza

4.5
estrellas
354 calificaciones
142 reseña

Acerca del Curso

Which are the deepest roots of that mix of cultures that we use to call ‘Mediterranean Civilization’? Which are comminglings and exchanges which produced its most complete fruit, i.e. the city, a place for landscape-modelling communities? And which elements did contribute to build up that baulk of customs, ideas, and innovations which compelled to confrontation and hybridizations different peoples for millennia? What did it made, from pottery to metallurgy, from gastronomy to architecture, from art to religion, of a sea a cradle of civilization? Archaeology may help in disentangling such questions, seeking unexpected answers , by tinkering what ancient Mediterranean peoples left buried in the ground. A privileged point of view of our course is the ancient Phoenician city of Motya, located exactly at the centre of the “sea in the middle”. Throughout the live experience of excavation, with images taken on the field, this course will let you touch the many tesserae of the great mosaic of the Mediterranean Civilization. The field diary of the archaeologist, and the handpick will be the two tools, which will lead us across the sea to discover what such early cities actually were, and how their contribute is still a major part of our shared memory....

Principales reseñas

CH
13 de mar. de 2021

This was a great course, it was great to be out 'on location' with the archaeologists and Lorenzo Nigro. There was also a great selection of reading material which offered more in-depth information.

DA
9 de ago. de 2017

wonderful explanation along with good slides and maps and incredible readings\n\nbut the main organization was my favorite part because I learned so much about ancient cities as well as Motya

Filtrar por:

51 - 75 de 142 revisiones para At the Origins of the Mediterranean Civilization: Archaeology of the City from the Levant to the West - 3rd-1st millennium BC

por Carlos H

19 de jul. de 2020

Muchas gracias Profesor, no tenía conocimiento de algunos aspectos de los fenicios, me sirvió mucho este curso para profundizar en ello.

por Exiquio M

27 de dic. de 2020

Muy buen curso para entender el origen y mestizaje de las civilizaciones del Mediterráneo. Y con ellas, el origen de Occidente

por Lisa F

9 de ene. de 2021

This course connected to other Coursera courses and made a picture of the commodity trade during the Bronze Age complete.

por Jiayang T

30 de dic. de 2018

The course shows a lot of artifacts and excavation sites, and it's helpful to understand the ancient architectures.

por Andreia G

12 de may. de 2020

Thank you so much for this amazing journey. It was a lovely course to do about an amazing ancient civilization.

por Alex M

1 de feb. de 2018

Big title MOOC very much just about a small island, Motya, but great content and entertaining course.

por patricia a

20 de abr. de 2020

It has been a very interesting course, full of information, quality videos and intereseting stuff.

por Christopher R

18 de nov. de 2019

I really enjoyed this course - took it in unison with Archaeoastronomy from Polytecnico di Milano.

por Andy E

20 de dic. de 2019

This was an excellent course which was both informative and enjoyable. Thank you for offering it!

por David L

12 de jul. de 2020

Thank you so much! I've learnt a lot. The course was very interesting and presented excellently.

por ODASSO V

21 de ago. de 2020

C'est un excellent cours très enrichissant et les explications du professeur sont très claires.

por Alexandre R P

8 de ago. de 2017

It was an amazing course, I'm sad it is already finished. I'm really already missing it.

por Pete M

6 de ago. de 2017

A tough but rewarding course providing an overview of the Phoenician culture in Mozia.

por Fiona S

6 de mar. de 2018

This was a really interesting course with a very enthusiastic and inspiring lecturer.

por Laurence B

10 de jul. de 2017

I really enjoy this course and learn a lot of things about the Phenicians. Thank you.

por antman2015_ 6

26 de dic. de 2021

It gave me a great insight into basic-understanding of Mediterranean culture!

por Jane H

31 de jul. de 2020

I learned a great deal about a place I had never heard of before.

por henry h

21 de jun. de 2020

Excellent,very well presented Look forward to future courses

por Yuval K

11 de dic. de 2019

Great course!

I like the way the Professor pass the material.

por Paolo A

7 de sep. de 2020

Very interesting and an amazing amount of detail covered.

por susan

11 de sep. de 2017

Fascinating and right up my alley!! Thank you, Coursera!!

por Raúl H P

1 de ago. de 2020

Excellent course, this profesor is a good investigator!

por George P

13 de may. de 2020

I love the teacher and the course was really great

por Robert D D S

14 de feb. de 2021

Excelente...Felicitaciones por el organigrama

por Ксения К

9 de oct. de 2019

Very interesting course! Enjoyed it a lot!!