Chevron Left
Volver a At the Origins of the Mediterranean Civilization: Archaeology of the City from the Levant to the West - 3rd-1st millennium BC

Opiniones y comentarios de aprendices correspondientes a At the Origins of the Mediterranean Civilization: Archaeology of the City from the Levant to the West - 3rd-1st millennium BC por parte de Universidad de Roma La Sapienza

4.5
estrellas
354 calificaciones
142 reseña

Acerca del Curso

Which are the deepest roots of that mix of cultures that we use to call ‘Mediterranean Civilization’? Which are comminglings and exchanges which produced its most complete fruit, i.e. the city, a place for landscape-modelling communities? And which elements did contribute to build up that baulk of customs, ideas, and innovations which compelled to confrontation and hybridizations different peoples for millennia? What did it made, from pottery to metallurgy, from gastronomy to architecture, from art to religion, of a sea a cradle of civilization? Archaeology may help in disentangling such questions, seeking unexpected answers , by tinkering what ancient Mediterranean peoples left buried in the ground. A privileged point of view of our course is the ancient Phoenician city of Motya, located exactly at the centre of the “sea in the middle”. Throughout the live experience of excavation, with images taken on the field, this course will let you touch the many tesserae of the great mosaic of the Mediterranean Civilization. The field diary of the archaeologist, and the handpick will be the two tools, which will lead us across the sea to discover what such early cities actually were, and how their contribute is still a major part of our shared memory....

Principales reseñas

CH
13 de mar. de 2021

This was a great course, it was great to be out 'on location' with the archaeologists and Lorenzo Nigro. There was also a great selection of reading material which offered more in-depth information.

DA
9 de ago. de 2017

wonderful explanation along with good slides and maps and incredible readings\n\nbut the main organization was my favorite part because I learned so much about ancient cities as well as Motya

Filtrar por:

76 - 100 de 142 revisiones para At the Origins of the Mediterranean Civilization: Archaeology of the City from the Levant to the West - 3rd-1st millennium BC

por Bishwaksen B

10 de mar. de 2018

Very informative and beautifully presented

por Charles M G

16 de mar. de 2019

wonderful course, I'm really liking it.

por Zeytuna S

30 de may. de 2020

very informative and interesting

por Flo

21 de may. de 2020

Merci, c'était très instructif !

por josette r

20 de jul. de 2021

Very clear notes to understand,

por Melissa C

10 de may. de 2019

The instructor is great!

por Xavier K

17 de jul. de 2020

Loved it. Top teacher!

por Bindu V S

16 de ago. de 2020

Interesting topic

por Thomas v d B

26 de mar. de 2020

very well done

por Júlio C M d F

17 de ene. de 2018

Fantastic !

por Matheus W R

10 de oct. de 2021

Very good!

por Katy L

13 de ago. de 2020

Thank You.

por Jisha

17 de jul. de 2020

Very Good

por David B

31 de jul. de 2017

Excellent

por Claudette D

6 de oct. de 2019

E

por Damon T R

7 de jul. de 2018

I

por Charles E M

27 de jun. de 2018

G

por Carmen

3 de ago. de 2017

F

por Javier G G

27 de abr. de 2020

Ha sido realmente bueno el poder repasar el mundo fenicio. Lo que he echado mucho en falta es que se hubiera hablado del mundo fenicio en términos más ámplios geográficamente hablando, y no solo basarse en un solo yacimiento. El curso está muy bien pero únicamente se basa en el yacimiento de Motia y no se habla casi nada de los enclaves fenicios del norte de África o de la Península Ibérica. Debe quedar claro que es un curso sobre los fenicios en un lugar muy concreto: Motia. El título del curso debería cambiar sustancialmente ya el mismo nos induce a confusión, no tiene nada que ver éste con el curso a realizar.

por John M

18 de oct. de 2020

I enjoyed learning the material, however, the narrator was Italian and his translations to English/American needed quite a bit of interpreting and proofreading. Numerous times the printout of his narration had incorrect words that could easily mislead the student. Also, some of the "Readings" were not in English and I needed to find a translator program to convert to English so I could read them.

Otherwise, I enjoyed learning about the early expansion of the Mediterranean civilizations and the factors that made for success and development of the people.

por Shelley A

1 de oct. de 2019

The content was excellent and the new information was personally very exciting to me. Prof. Nigri and the staff are to be complemented. As a native English speaker, the English in some of the transcripts and certain quiz questions did cause me to stumble at times (e.g., there is a major difference between 'basement' and 'battlements')--but I appreciate the effort it took to teach this course in a foreign language. I learned so much and this course has opened up a whole new world of ancient history to me. I want to visit the excavation at Motya! Grazi!

por Jamie W

25 de jun. de 2020

Very interesting case studies into ancient civilizations. I took this class because of my own Sicilian heritage and it was fulfilling in that it taught me about my history. I think more connections could be made between the various civilizations we read about. Some articles were also written in Spanish and Italian, which I can't access with my level of ability in those languages. Otherwise I would recommend to someone who is interested in this time period or culture.

por Elisabeth M

1 de mar. de 2020

Curso muy interesante!. me interesa la historia como pasatiempo y desconocía totalmente la existencia de Motia y sus ruinas. El próximo Mayo, si el coronavirus me lo permite, voy a ir a Túnez y Malta, por lo que estoy leyendo acerca de los Fenicios, y es probable que me acerque a Sicilia, donde ya estuve, pero no conocía estos lugares. Gracias profesor Nigro, transmite su entusiasmo. Desde Argentina

por Richard S

21 de feb. de 2021

I enjoyed the class. It provided an insight into the spread of urban civilization across the Mediterranean through the lens of one city Motya. My only problem was that some of the questions were translated somewhat awkwardly into English, because I only speak one language it took more than one try to understand. However, that is my issue and not really a problem with the course.