Chevron Left
Volver a Introduction to the Arctic: Climate

Opiniones y comentarios de aprendices correspondientes a Introduction to the Arctic: Climate por parte de Universidad de Alberta

4.6
estrellas
445 calificaciones

Acerca del Curso

The University of Alberta, the University of Tromso and the University of the Arctic invite you to explore this four week course that examines the environment and climate of the circumpolar North. This course is the result of an international collaboration and provides you with an insight into our planet's North. Following an overview of regional geography, we will focus on the cryosphere (ice), as well as the atmosphere and ocean of the region. We will learn why the Arctic is cold and ice covered, and how that impacts its climate and ecosystems. We will also consider how the Arctic is connected to the rest of the world. Finally, we will examine present day climate change, the processes driving it, and evidence for it in the Arctic, before looking at the implications in the rapidly evolving North. Watch a preview of the course here: https://uofa.ualberta.ca/courses/arctic-climate...

Principales reseñas

DM

12 de may. de 2020

It was a really amazing and an informative course. If you are interested to know how things work in the Arctic region and how the climate varies in the Arctic, this is a must do course.

TO

15 de jun. de 2016

Great! I love the fact that it is a very simple course and information is easy to understand! I also adore the professionalism that is present in every lecture. Absolutely fantastic!

Filtrar por:

76 - 100 de 125 revisiones para Introduction to the Arctic: Climate

por SAMRUDDHI B D

4 de abr. de 2021

I like this course

por Asmaa A H E

7 de oct. de 2020

very useful course

por Devyn K

24 de jun. de 2021

literally so good

por Andrea A

7 de feb. de 2017

Very interesting

por Brenda M

24 de mar. de 2021

I learned a lot

por Ryan M

9 de oct. de 2017

O

u

t

s

t

a

n

d

I

n

g

!

!

por alpana r

16 de ago. de 2020

great course

por Anabel G

20 de abr. de 2020

Excellent!!!

por Ramu P

10 de dic. de 2021

good one

por EDM18B044 S N D B

5 de jun. de 2020

Amazing

por Virginia N F C

19 de jul. de 2017

Great

por Pedro B G L

24 de ene. de 2021

The content of the course is very interesting and deals with a problem that is generating more and more negative effects on the planet, not only on the Arctic.

The script is well developed, although the videos could be supplemented with more information, especially graphics.

Questions that are asked in the video allow us to better understand the contents, that detail is very successful.

Evaluations have a certain complexity, which makes it possible to analyze the substance of each question in great detail.

My thanks to Dr. Paul Myers for this course.

por Bruno-Pierre C

2 de mar. de 2016

really interesting, it's a really good base for all to understand the Arctic and a rebound to understand the climat change. I would like to learn more in the pdf lesson, if you'll be able to add some optional lessons to read I would appreciate, but for sur I'll take the next course. It well structure and explain. The other thing is about the test it will be interesting to have all the good answer after we've pass it. Just to understand our mistake

por Guillermo I

14 de mar. de 2016

Content was very good. I didn't liked the assignments, they were too short and the answering options were too narrow; sometimes they could be misinterpreted and led to a confusing missing point. I would recommend to add several more questions for each assignment, chosen random for each attempt, put a limit on total attempts and give feedback on answers. Thanks for the course, I enjoyed it a lot; short but precise.

por David D

8 de ene. de 2019

This is a good overall picture of the arctic covering a wide range of topics that are being affected by climate change. The quiz that are spaced throughout the videos are a good break from just watching.

Perhaps the presentation, while enthusiastic, was a bit static and fairly long in length. This could possibly be improved by having different presenters or more visuals during the lecture.

por Rosie B

28 de oct. de 2017

The course was enjoyable and I definitely learned a lot more about the arctic and climate change. I felt the content was a bit static and having done Mountains 101 with University of Alberta, I thought it would have made a big difference to visit some of the places mentioned, to show the problems occurring, and see interviews with researchers working in the Arctic.

por Sophie J

9 de may. de 2016

Very interesting course on the Arctic. As an introduction, I appreciated the broad overview of the things affecting the Arctic and thus the global climate. As a neophyte, some of the more technical, scientific aspects were hard to follow but were just as interesting to understand; having the course notes to go back to was helpful!

por kori r

19 de abr. de 2016

Very interesting course that covers the the Arctic and how it has been impacted by climate change. Overall a qualitative discussion of the Arctic climate that references more detailed quantitative data. The summary sheets for each week are a really helpful reference for the class and beyond.

por Joy S

12 de feb. de 2016

Good info. Instructor had rather odd body language, but friendly. Had trouble passing a couple of section tests due to "check all that apply" questions. Sections on ocean and atmosphere circulation and global warming rather boring and a little harder to follow. Interesting class overall.

por Gabriel H

3 de dic. de 2018

Surprisingly thorough course, although the lectures can be improved and more material can be included in the lecture notes. I personally wasn't keen on watching the lecture material and only studies the notes, maybe a point to improve.

por Sasha B

16 de may. de 2020

This course was great, but I can't find the other UArctic courses mentioned, particularly the one about Arctic Cultures! I would love to learn more, any info would be much appreciated!

por Robert C C

25 de abr. de 2016

I found the course informative, but the quizzes to be a problem as there were too many multiple answers, so was near impossible to complete the quizzes correctly

por Linnéa R

11 de feb. de 2021

Good course, very informative.

Professor was a little stiff, but this is the first MOOC I've ever taken - so maybe that's the way you have to teach.

por Graham K

4 de oct. de 2016

Nice overview, gives a good appreciation for changes happening in the Arctic. Sometimes the lecture material is a bit dry and repetitive/slow.

por Roberto D

10 de jun. de 2016

A very good review of the main topics related to the Arctic and climate change. Final lesson tests are sometimes confusing.