Chevron Left
Volver a AstroTech: The Science and Technology behind Astronomical Discovery

Opiniones y comentarios de aprendices correspondientes a AstroTech: The Science and Technology behind Astronomical Discovery por parte de Universidad de Edimburgo

4.7
stars
354 calificaciones
98 revisiones

Acerca del Curso

"How do they know that?" Modern astronomy has made some astonishing discoveries - how stars burn and how black holes form; galaxies from the edge of the universe and killer rocks right next door; where the elements come from and how the expanding universe is accelerating. But how do we know all that? The truth is that astronomy would be impossible without technology, and every advance in astronomy is really an advance in technology. But the technology by itself is not enough. We have to apply it critically with a knowledge of physics to unlock the secrets of the Universe. Each week we will cover a different aspect of Astronomical technology, matching each piece of technology to a highlight science result. We will explain how the technology works, how it has allowed us to collect astronomical data, and, with some basic physics, how we interpret the data to make scientific discoveries. The class will consist of video lectures, weekly quizzes, and discussion forums. Each week there will be five videos, totalling approximately 40 minutes. They will be in a regular pattern - a short introduction, an example science story, an explanation of the key technology area, a look at how the technology is used in practice, and finally a look at what the future may hold....

Principales revisiones

AS

Jul 10, 2017

Excellent Course!! Amazing Teachers!! You can learn a lot of fundamentals if you are new to the field.Highly recommended for people for starting who just getting into astronomy.

EE

Apr 27, 2018

This Course is phenominal and the mix of practicals shown with the consistency of thery makes it a remarkable product of gaining basics ofAstronomical knowledge

Filtrar por:

51 - 75 de 94 revisiones para AstroTech: The Science and Technology behind Astronomical Discovery

por shakib C

Mar 21, 2018

Learn lots of interesting things. Thank you.

por Aishwarya S

Apr 04, 2017

Great course. Would definitely recommend it.

por Maciej K

Nov 05, 2016

great starter for astronomy and cosmology :)

por Alfonso Y

Apr 30, 2018

Good course with interesting information.

por Alexandre B

Mar 18, 2019

Very nice and very interesting.

Thanks

por Mohammed M

Nov 20, 2019

They made it so easy to complete.!

por Sharan S M

May 13, 2017

This was a really good course.

por Manas S

Nov 30, 2019

Great learning experience

por zorion r

Nov 21, 2019

Excellent course

well don

por paneri p

Apr 09, 2017

amazing course.....

por Wade C A C

Jul 11, 2018

Outstanding course

por José F Q V

Jan 15, 2018

Excellent course.

por Mohamed N

Sep 07, 2017

Excellent Course!

por Shiv P

Aug 13, 2019

good explanation

por Balaji S

Jan 06, 2018

very good course

por Abirami.S

Feb 14, 2018

i am enjoying

por Bruce J A

Dec 23, 2016

Super course!

por arlex b

Feb 19, 2019

exelente !!

por Mukharbek O

Dec 22, 2016

Excellent!

por Akhil T P

Aug 19, 2019

Loved It!

por Nabarup G

Apr 18, 2018

good

por RAGHAV R

May 23, 2018

This course presents basic science and tech used behind many of the astronomical discoveries, introducing us to methods and instruments used by astronomers. The course is very basic in nature, hence good for those who seek some astro knowledge for fun & curiosity. Presentation by instructors was also very good. Great use of real data and photographs to help in understanding and imagination. A large number of website links provided for looking up additional information. Overall,

It has been a wonderful journey to have been a part of this course as a space lover!

por Harshal G H

Jun 14, 2018

This is a unique course, giving nice introduction about different technologies used by astronomers for observations. I particularly liked organizing it around revolutionary technologies. A small suggestion: Please expand this course, especially for computers and spectroscopy. For example, data analysis pipelines, machine learning, virtual observatories can be discussed for role of computers, and for spectroscopy role of filters such as Sloan filters (if I recall them correctly). Overall, great introduction.

por Chiradeep C

May 14, 2019

Very informative course, with concepts explained in a simple, no-fuss manner using lots of examples. Perfect for learners from all academic levels to grasp. I would definitely rate this as one if the top 10% of all courses I've taken on any MOOC platform.

por Abhay B

Aug 04, 2019

This is a very good course which provides enough insights into Astronomy and the technologies, efforts which go unwatched behind it. It would be much better if we could learn some more insights by adding one week more into the syllabus.