Chevron Left
Volver a AstroTech: The Science and Technology behind Astronomical Discovery

Opiniones y comentarios de aprendices correspondientes a AstroTech: The Science and Technology behind Astronomical Discovery por parte de Universidad de Edimburgo

4.7
estrellas
807 calificaciones
231 reseña

Acerca del Curso

"How do they know that?" Modern astronomy has made some astonishing discoveries - how stars burn and how black holes form; galaxies from the edge of the universe and killer rocks right next door; where the elements come from and how the expanding universe is accelerating. But how do we know all that? The truth is that astronomy would be impossible without technology, and every advance in astronomy is really an advance in technology. But the technology by itself is not enough. We have to apply it critically with a knowledge of physics to unlock the secrets of the Universe. Each week we will cover a different aspect of Astronomical technology, matching each piece of technology to a highlight science result. We will explain how the technology works, how it has allowed us to collect astronomical data, and, with some basic physics, how we interpret the data to make scientific discoveries. The class will consist of video lectures, weekly quizzes, and discussion forums. Each week there will be five videos, totalling approximately 40 minutes. They will be in a regular pattern - a short introduction, an example science story, an explanation of the key technology area, a look at how the technology is used in practice, and finally a look at what the future may hold....

Principales reseñas

EM
7 de jun. de 2020

After completing the course, I was able to understand better some concepts in astronomy such as dark matter and dark energy as well as the technologies that helped uncover more truths in our universe.

BJ
22 de sep. de 2020

The course was amazing especially when the instructor was explaining by using experiment instruments above all the way the instructors has taught me has completely made me understand the concepts.

Filtrar por:

51 - 75 de 227 revisiones para AstroTech: The Science and Technology behind Astronomical Discovery

por Anubhab S

24 de jul. de 2020

An excellent course for beginners who are willing to explore Space Technology at greater depths. The instructors are great and the knowledge imparted is fluid and easy to understand.

por Karan C C

3 de abr. de 2020

Over all good experience, subject taught very well, and also practical things experimental set up and telescope were explained very well. Both instructors are explaining very well.

por Khondaker t m

21 de jun. de 2020

I think the course is easy to understand for college level student. Now, i have a clear understanding of Many known things. Thanks for the well described lesson and teachings.

por Anagha M

6 de ago. de 2020

A great experience. Very well explained. Practical things experimental set up of spectroscopy and telescope were explained very well. Both instructors are taught sincerely.

por Talha S

7 de jul. de 2020

The whole course was explained in a convenient and outstanding way especially in the last week , the spectroscopy instruments , that helps a lot for a better understanding.

por Mrunmayee N P

12 de ago. de 2020

Great course . A must taking course for anyone who is interested in Astro topics . This course gave a lot of information about the modern Astro tech , telescopes , etc .

por Christian A

6 de jun. de 2020

Is interesting and a complete course to objectives that are proposed. The topics are basics, making it more advantageous to introduce a person to the world of astronomy

por Alikhan B

11 de feb. de 2020

The entire six week was really wonderful and informative. Andy and Catherine have that special talent to keep the students focused and excited at the same time.

por G

14 de ago. de 2020

Thank you for efforts that introduce in the course, although It has for beginners, it has substantial information and I hope another course in the near future

por Nigel R

1 de nov. de 2020

Great course. I didn't expect to actually do Physics to pass this course but luckily I knew a decent amount of Physics and Astronomy to get through easily.

por Marta C

26 de mar. de 2020

I enjoyed the course very much, professors gave an overview of a complicated matter in a clear and simple way without being trivial, thank you!

por sebastian q

15 de ene. de 2020

a great introductory course to understand the technology behind modern astronomy, its recommended if you are a complete beginner to astronomy.

por Yulia B

27 de oct. de 2019

Very accessible and at the same time informative. Introduction and use of formulas are great for keeping it serious even at the intro level.

por George V P

3 de mar. de 2017

A very interesting course for beginners and a very good first step in pursuing deeper knowledge. Thank you Edinburgh University and Coursera

por Aarón G H

1 de may. de 2020

A great option to understand how different astronomical achievements have been possible with the indispensable co-work with technology.

por Pramodini P

5 de ago. de 2020

This course was very informative and useful. Both the professors were very good at their teaching. A wonderful course not to be missed

por Nilesh A

16 de may. de 2020

It's a pretty basic course if you want to know astronomically how things are done and to explain it to your kid or students in class.

por Ajith N

6 de abr. de 2020

It was really Interesting and informative .. I hope I get chance to do and know more about Astrophysics. Thank you for this course.

por Greg n

19 de feb. de 2020

Andy and Catherine do a wonderful job of explaining the cosmos questions and how technology is answering those questions.

Thank you!

por Leonard S

21 de ene. de 2020

Very interesting entertaining introduction to this topic. I would look forward to other courses on this topic by these presenters.

por Fabiha N

6 de jul. de 2019

Very good course. It gives a very clear explanation regarding the ways adopted by the scientists to discover the amazing universe.

por ADITI N

6 de jun. de 2020

I really enjoyed learning about this topics..overall a very good experience and got to learn something new.

Thank you so much

por Sampath K , R

5 de nov. de 2020

A very insightful and down to basics course that provided insights into the technology behind explorations of the universe.

por Alexander W

11 de oct. de 2018

This course was engaging and easy to understand. I'd recommend it to anyone even remoty interested in the subject material.

por Juan M G

14 de feb. de 2017

Amazing course! Brings me a lot of updated information regarding technic that how mesure an observe the universe currently