Chevron Left
Volver a AstroTech: The Science and Technology behind Astronomical Discovery

Opiniones y comentarios de aprendices correspondientes a AstroTech: The Science and Technology behind Astronomical Discovery por parte de Universidad de Edimburgo

4.7
estrellas
730 calificaciones
203 revisiones

Acerca del Curso

"How do they know that?" Modern astronomy has made some astonishing discoveries - how stars burn and how black holes form; galaxies from the edge of the universe and killer rocks right next door; where the elements come from and how the expanding universe is accelerating. But how do we know all that? The truth is that astronomy would be impossible without technology, and every advance in astronomy is really an advance in technology. But the technology by itself is not enough. We have to apply it critically with a knowledge of physics to unlock the secrets of the Universe. Each week we will cover a different aspect of Astronomical technology, matching each piece of technology to a highlight science result. We will explain how the technology works, how it has allowed us to collect astronomical data, and, with some basic physics, how we interpret the data to make scientific discoveries. The class will consist of video lectures, weekly quizzes, and discussion forums. Each week there will be five videos, totalling approximately 40 minutes. They will be in a regular pattern - a short introduction, an example science story, an explanation of the key technology area, a look at how the technology is used in practice, and finally a look at what the future may hold....

Principales revisiones

EM

Jun 08, 2020

After completing the course, I was able to understand better some concepts in astronomy such as dark matter and dark energy as well as the technologies that helped uncover more truths in our universe.

JC

Sep 14, 2020

Thank you for the course. Thoroughly enjoyable and interesting. I realise the course only scratches the surface of the various core topics covered but it's whetted my appetite to go deeper!

Filtrar por:

51 - 75 de 199 revisiones para AstroTech: The Science and Technology behind Astronomical Discovery

por G

Aug 14, 2020

Thank you for efforts that introduce in the course, although It has for beginners, it has substantial information and I hope another course in the near future

por Marta C

Mar 26, 2020

I enjoyed the course very much, professors gave an overview of a complicated matter in a clear and simple way without being trivial, thank you!

por sebastian q

Jan 16, 2020

a great introductory course to understand the technology behind modern astronomy, its recommended if you are a complete beginner to astronomy.

por Yulia B

Oct 27, 2019

Very accessible and at the same time informative. Introduction and use of formulas are great for keeping it serious even at the intro level.

por George V P

Mar 03, 2017

A very interesting course for beginners and a very good first step in pursuing deeper knowledge. Thank you Edinburgh University and Coursera

por Aarón G H

May 02, 2020

A great option to understand how different astronomical achievements have been possible with the indispensable co-work with technology.

por Pramodini P

Aug 05, 2020

This course was very informative and useful. Both the professors were very good at their teaching. A wonderful course not to be missed

por Nilesh A

May 17, 2020

It's a pretty basic course if you want to know astronomically how things are done and to explain it to your kid or students in class.

por Ajith N

Apr 06, 2020

It was really Interesting and informative .. I hope I get chance to do and know more about Astrophysics. Thank you for this course.

por Greg n

Feb 19, 2020

Andy and Catherine do a wonderful job of explaining the cosmos questions and how technology is answering those questions.

Thank you!

por Leonard S

Jan 22, 2020

Very interesting entertaining introduction to this topic. I would look forward to other courses on this topic by these presenters.

por Fabiha N

Jul 06, 2019

Very good course. It gives a very clear explanation regarding the ways adopted by the scientists to discover the amazing universe.

por ADITI N

Jun 06, 2020

I really enjoyed learning about this topics..overall a very good experience and got to learn something new.

Thank you so much

por Alexander W

Oct 11, 2018

This course was engaging and easy to understand. I'd recommend it to anyone even remoty interested in the subject material.

por Juan M G

Feb 14, 2017

Amazing course! Brings me a lot of updated information regarding technic that how mesure an observe the universe currently

por David M

Feb 07, 2019

The professors were friendly, animated and explained concepts well in a manner that was easy to follow and understand.

por Vasant P

Mar 22, 2020

Great introduction to spectroscopy. Both instructors did a great job keeping the course informative and exciting.

por David B

Aug 17, 2017

Excellent course. I highly recommend anyone interested in viewing the night sky and Astronomy to take this course.

por Robert B

Mar 11, 2017

Very good course. Explanations of new technology and

basic concepts were informative and easy to understand.

por Francisco M F

Mar 04, 2017

Excelente curso, bastante completo y muy interesante. Muy buen profesor me gustaría conocerlo algún día!!!!

por Khaled E

Feb 12, 2020

Great course and teachers, who explain everything in such a way that they make it simple and interesting.

por Gkouvelis L

Jan 08, 2017

I enjoyed a lot this course and even if I am doing astrophysics I have learned some technical details!!

por Melissa R

Aug 10, 2019

This course is very easy to follow and explains all the essential concepts of technology in astronomy.

por Lilian K

Jun 14, 2019

Excellent! And the teachers are great at explaining everything very clearly. Thank you very much!!!

por V R S

Jul 06, 2019

I enjoyed doing this course. Learnt lot of things about astronomy and the way technology is used.