Chevron Left
Volver a Basic Statistics

Opiniones y comentarios de aprendices correspondientes a Basic Statistics por parte de Universidad de Ámsterdam

4.6
estrellas
3,549 calificaciones
904 reseña

Acerca del Curso

Understanding statistics is essential to understand research in the social and behavioral sciences. In this course you will learn the basics of statistics; not just how to calculate them, but also how to evaluate them. This course will also prepare you for the next course in the specialization - the course Inferential Statistics. In the first part of the course we will discuss methods of descriptive statistics. You will learn what cases and variables are and how you can compute measures of central tendency (mean, median and mode) and dispersion (standard deviation and variance). Next, we discuss how to assess relationships between variables, and we introduce the concepts correlation and regression. The second part of the course is concerned with the basics of probability: calculating probabilities, probability distributions and sampling distributions. You need to know about these things in order to understand how inferential statistics work. The third part of the course consists of an introduction to methods of inferential statistics - methods that help us decide whether the patterns we see in our data are strong enough to draw conclusions about the underlying population we are interested in. We will discuss confidence intervals and significance tests. You will not only learn about all these statistical concepts, you will also be trained to calculate and generate these statistics yourself using freely available statistical software....

Principales reseñas

PG
20 de abr. de 2016

This is a nice course...thanks for providing such a great content from University of Amserdam.\n\nPlease allow us to complete the course as I have to wait till the session starts for week 2 lessions.

JB
8 de sep. de 2020

Thank You, @University_of_Amsterdam for this wonderful course. I have really benefited a lot from this course. Thank you, Dr. Matthijs Rooduijn for making this course so lively and interesting!!

Filtrar por:

251 - 275 de 883 revisiones para Basic Statistics

por Hardik S

1 de jun. de 2017

Extremely useful for thorough fundamental understanding. Thank you so much for this well thought-about course!

por Thaung H

9 de jun. de 2020

Excellent course. I am going to take all the courses from University of Amsterdem. Thanks to all my teachers.

por Olokojo G E

13 de feb. de 2019

I find it mind blowing and i love the tutors style of demystifying statistics using daily life examples/cases

por Saurav V

8 de feb. de 2016

Absolutely great start for statistics with R. Not too heavy in time, not too light. Amazingly curated course.

por Ahmed S H

22 de oct. de 2020

Really great course to understand the whole concepts of statistics and get your hands dirty with some R code

por Maya S

12 de ago. de 2016

I sucked at math in high school, but this course is making me love math again. Excellent job, Amsterdam Uni.

por Sureshkumar L

8 de sep. de 2019

nice course.. course structured easy to understand and hint help where you dont know how to proceed futher.

por K. N S K A G

10 de jun. de 2019

Extremely helpful course. Laid my foundations for a hopefully bright future in Analytics and Data Science.

por vaishali m

31 de ago. de 2017

I am loving this course, it has many real life examples to understand the concepts. Thanks for this course

por Theo G

29 de ene. de 2016

Great explanations. Clear examples. I love the stories and the drawings. Good thought pedagogical concept.

por Pankaj K

16 de ene. de 2016

Best course on statistics. Concepts explained in very simple language and through beautiful visualizations

por Hemant K P

6 de ene. de 2020

Nice course. Professors explained concepts well. Basics were covered in detail with interesting examples.

por Markus W

7 de may. de 2016

Nice and challenging (despite the fact that most of the material was taught at school many years ago...)

por MANOJ K

15 de feb. de 2016

This is best course on statistics.. at least for me who is comparatively new to it. I recommend it 100%.

por yanghb

8 de nov. de 2017

Very Good lessons to learn Statistics, but it's better if we could pick Python/MataLab as alternatives.

por Tay J

7 de ago. de 2017

Thank you! I think it was a good course. I have no particular problems or complaints about the course.

por DINESHKUMAR U

28 de jun. de 2020

Course composition and the subject matter explanation is great, Thanks for the team and the professor

por Ashish T

2 de feb. de 2020

I loved this course. Learned a lot. I hope the team can make a similar course on bayesian statistics.

por Siddharth

6 de mar. de 2016

Very nicely created. Gets a bit too fast paced in the middle but still well worth taking this course.

por Do H L

28 de feb. de 2016

Awesome course, very friendly to people who want to start learning R and practicing it straight away!

por Diego A

25 de feb. de 2016

Very dynamic and enjoyable class, great instructors and combination of theory and hands-on exercises.

por Shenglan Z

16 de oct. de 2020

The teachers impart those knowledge in such a lively way, full of interesting examples and insights.

por Kornelis P

29 de mar. de 2019

This is an excellent introductory course into statistics especially if you're a soccer/football fan.

por Paula B

28 de ago. de 2017

Very easy going course!

I highly recommend it for people who is willing to start to learn statistics!

por Dahir M H

2 de feb. de 2017

This course is a very interesting course. It introduces the world of statistics. It is a good start.