Chevron Left
Volver a Basic Statistics

Opiniones y comentarios de aprendices correspondientes a Basic Statistics por parte de Universidad de Ámsterdam

4.6
estrellas
3,122 calificaciones
808 revisiones

Acerca del Curso

Understanding statistics is essential to understand research in the social and behavioral sciences. In this course you will learn the basics of statistics; not just how to calculate them, but also how to evaluate them. This course will also prepare you for the next course in the specialization - the course Inferential Statistics. In the first part of the course we will discuss methods of descriptive statistics. You will learn what cases and variables are and how you can compute measures of central tendency (mean, median and mode) and dispersion (standard deviation and variance). Next, we discuss how to assess relationships between variables, and we introduce the concepts correlation and regression. The second part of the course is concerned with the basics of probability: calculating probabilities, probability distributions and sampling distributions. You need to know about these things in order to understand how inferential statistics work. The third part of the course consists of an introduction to methods of inferential statistics - methods that help us decide whether the patterns we see in our data are strong enough to draw conclusions about the underlying population we are interested in. We will discuss confidence intervals and significance tests. You will not only learn about all these statistical concepts, you will also be trained to calculate and generate these statistics yourself using freely available statistical software....

Principales revisiones

PG

Apr 21, 2016

This is a nice course...thanks for providing such a great content from University of Amserdam.\n\nPlease allow us to complete the course as I have to wait till the session starts for week 2 lessions.

DA

Aug 06, 2016

One of the best courses of statistics for the beginners. The concepts are well explained, the learning path well researched and above everything the R labs were ideal for the beginners.

Filtrar por:

51 - 75 de 789 revisiones para Basic Statistics

por Aurangazeeb A K

Jan 06, 2019

One of the best courses on Coursera and I'm saying this with an experience of 10+ courses on Coursera. The teaching strategy is brand new, with some surprises from the awesome teachers ! Statistics now feels like child's-play. Thank you University of Amsterdam for making this amazing course. The animations gives a fresh feel towards the concepts. After starting this class, I'm more curious and passionate about statistics. One more thing, be ready for a surprise at the first video of week 6.

por Elena K

Sep 30, 2016

A really great course. Simple to follow and understand, but provides insights into the basics of statistics. Almost no math which is good news for non-experts and makes the course more accessible for a broader audience. The lecturers explain the intuition behind the fundamental things in statistics, which I find very important before studying the statistical tests (inferential statistics). Feels like it opened my eyes.

Thank you very much Matthijs Rooduijn and Emiel van Loon!

por Leitha M

Feb 27, 2016

I've always had a rough time with mathematics, but the way this course is structured makes it easy for me to go at my own pace, re-watch videos that were confusing the first time through and work through problems until I really felt like I understand how the formulas work. The consistent use of exercises in R were extremely useful as well. I'd highly recommend this course and learning system for people like me, who never thought they'd be able to grasp mathematics.

por Giulia L

May 13, 2020

I decided to start that course as I am not good at statistic, but I wanted to learn more about it and see if I was wrong.

Actually, the course has been super interesting and VERY well structured. All the topics were very well explained and I understand them all. Therefore, I believe that the professors has made an excellent job. However, I still don't like statistic that much, I am sorry!! But probably it is just my personal inclination.

por Alexander M

Aug 08, 2017

Thank you for the instruction and clear overview for this course. Coming from a HR standpoint (where ocassionally Statistics are a must) it was easy to follow the chapters week by week. As in any course there were some challenging sections to redo or retry but great learning and application to the real world. Highly recommend for anyone in a math background or looking to improve a skill set in numbers.

por Ebubechi N

Apr 23, 2020

I really enjoyed this course. I was always terrified of statistics, but it was explained so well and so clearly that I found myself understanding some of the statistical jokes shared during the lesson. The only difficult part for me was the probability sessions, but after reviewing them a few times I got the gist of it. I am already recommending this course to my colleagues and friends. Great job!

por Eric M E

Mar 22, 2016

Simple explanations that make the topic rather easy to learn and having a visual aid (the drawings) I find it to be so much more friendly that I've really come to enjoy what I'm learning (I'm mostly a visual learner so to me this is very good). So far it has been a great course with R labs that can help reinforce the ideas and give a bit more practice in the subject, I do recommend the course.

por SRI R R

Mar 02, 2016

This is a very informative and good course for beginners who wants to explore basic statistics along with R lab. Ofcourse, I felt little tought when i tried to do R lab but finally got it!! Overall course was very informative and would definitely recoment for those who wants to learn statistics

thanks for professors and the team of University of Amsterdam for conducting this course.

por Srikar R

May 16, 2020

This is literally the best statistics course to begin with.It improved my fundamentals and revoked my love for statistics.I would recommend this to anybody who wants to explore the statistics field.I will also come back here to clarify my doubts.A well thought out course and brilliant explanation.I wish I had teachers like you guys in my college,our world would be a better place :)

por Ramesh S

Jun 21, 2020

I enrolled into the course to revisit the basics, which we learnt long back and forgotten down the line. The course aptly filled the purpose. The exercises were truly testing. Evaluation questions really made us sweat out, revise the lectures, look at internet for better grasp...on the whole made an intense session of learning. Thank you Teachers and Thank you Coursera!!

por Nobuko S

Jun 09, 2020

Great course to learn a basic of statistics. Teachers tried to explain complicated concepts in a comprehensive way by using interesting examples. Although I have some background in mathematics, this course was a little bit challenging for me. However, I could learn a lot and by the end of the lecture, I felt confident about statistics. Thank you for the great lectures!

por Asikur R

Jul 21, 2020

This course gives me very clear idea about basic and intermediate statistics and examples were really awesome through the whole video lectures. Instructors were very cool and experienced. Thank you very much for this course. I hope it will surely help me in my academic career because I have some main courses in my subject. Now, it will be easy for me to understand.

por Vladimir R P B

Jul 04, 2020

This is a pretty well made course. The explanations are clear and entertaining (as much as a statistics and probability course can be entertaining, at least) and it covers enough subjects deeply enough. The only observation I have is that there are a few minor errors and technical issues in some lectures that, although not very serious, are a little annoying.

por Vijay C

Jun 10, 2020

An awesome course for anyone to learn statistics. Instructors explain the contents very well. This course is a must for anyone who wishes to enter into the world of Data Science. The video lectures accompanied by assignments and R lab I learned the stuff very well. I am thankful to the instructors and the University of Amsterdam for making this online course.

por Dorien H

Mar 09, 2016

Very good course, the explanations are made very accessible through understandable and sometimes funny examples.

Learned many of new things, despite having finished a course on statistics in my university. Especially the R component helped me greatly; despite already having some experience, the datacamp modules were very helpful.

Oh, and great Dutch accents :)

por Chitvan K P

Jul 01, 2018

Excellent starter for learning statistics. Looking forward to learn Inferential Statistics next. This course covers a wide variety of material ranging from basic Probability Distributions to Formulating and Testing hypothesis, confidence intervals and regression methods. Great starter to stats and looking forward to learn Inferential stats too.

por Maryluz H

Oct 15, 2017

It is a great course. I don't have much experience or knowledge in statistics, but I found it useful. I still need to review concepts that are still not clear, but the professors are good in the explanations and examples. I wish I had had more time for everything, and didn't have to rush because of the payment.

Thanks for the great course!

por Ginger B

Nov 29, 2017

One of the best lecture I've ever attended online! Although sometime the pace was a bit off, yet overall this course has offered enough coverage and clear examples for basic stuff. Great sense of humour for the lecturer (Matthijs Rooduijn) also helped in making this course to be not such a boring subject. Well done, keep up the good work!

por Jorge A A B

Apr 26, 2016

Excelente curso, muy bien explicado a traves de una manera clara e intuitiva, dando razon a cada uno de los conceptos utilizados en la estadistica. Conocer los conceptos estadisticos, asi como su significado, calculo y uso, no solamente mejora el analisis cientifico sino ademas la capacidad de comunicacion dentro del comunidad cientifica.

por Andrei

Apr 22, 2017

Very easy to comprehend course. Both presenters put extra effort in relaying the material and introducing comical relief along the way. I can say now that I understand more above z-scores and t-scores that I ever did at university! I would highly recommend the course for anyone feeling a bit scared than facing statistical information

por Kate W

Mar 04, 2016

I never thought I would learn so much so quickly in a math course. The course moves fast, but being able to rewind the videos and repeat anything I don't understand is really helpful! I love the applicability of what I'm learning, and my ability to take notes and practice everything on the quizzes makes the information stick.

por piaoyang

Jul 16, 2020

A very interesting class, the examples are vivid and easy to understand, and the teacher is also very interesting. Sure enough, teachers without acting are not good teachers.

It is a pity that just like the course name, it is just basic statistics. If you want to study statistics in-depth, you need to study other courses.

por pkavpro

Jul 01, 2019

I would like to thank you all professors and those who participates in creating this amazing course. It helped me a lot in building basic knowledge about statistics. The course is very well structured with clear & easy-to-understand content. I highly recommend this course for those who starts learning statistics.

por xavier C

Jan 07, 2017

This course is very well prepared, thanks to the video and the commitments of the 2 teachers,

There is also a good balance between Theory and Practice (usage of R).

I do already use the learning of this course in my daily job (data & analytics)

Good job and thank you to the entire team who has prepared this course.

por Liisa P

May 01, 2020

Great introduction to statistics! The course moves at a steady pace with good quality video lectures. Every week is concluded with a quiz on the content that challenges you to use what you have learned. Additional bonus is the exercises in R, which give you an introduction to using it in statistical analysis.