Chevron Left
Volver a Basic Statistics

Opiniones y comentarios de aprendices correspondientes a Basic Statistics por parte de Universidad de Ámsterdam

4.6
estrellas
3,388 calificaciones
864 reseña

Acerca del Curso

Understanding statistics is essential to understand research in the social and behavioral sciences. In this course you will learn the basics of statistics; not just how to calculate them, but also how to evaluate them. This course will also prepare you for the next course in the specialization - the course Inferential Statistics. In the first part of the course we will discuss methods of descriptive statistics. You will learn what cases and variables are and how you can compute measures of central tendency (mean, median and mode) and dispersion (standard deviation and variance). Next, we discuss how to assess relationships between variables, and we introduce the concepts correlation and regression. The second part of the course is concerned with the basics of probability: calculating probabilities, probability distributions and sampling distributions. You need to know about these things in order to understand how inferential statistics work. The third part of the course consists of an introduction to methods of inferential statistics - methods that help us decide whether the patterns we see in our data are strong enough to draw conclusions about the underlying population we are interested in. We will discuss confidence intervals and significance tests. You will not only learn about all these statistical concepts, you will also be trained to calculate and generate these statistics yourself using freely available statistical software....

Principales reseñas

PG

Apr 21, 2016

This is a nice course...thanks for providing such a great content from University of Amserdam.\n\nPlease allow us to complete the course as I have to wait till the session starts for week 2 lessions.

JB

Sep 09, 2020

Thank You, @University_of_Amsterdam for this wonderful course. I have really benefited a lot from this course. Thank you, Dr. Matthijs Rooduijn for making this course so lively and interesting!!

Filtrar por:

826 - 843 de 843 revisiones para Basic Statistics

por Navya V

Aug 02, 2020

good

por Mutcherla S

May 30, 2020

good

por Anastasiya K

Apr 28, 2020

The course is good because it collects pieces of information together if you have studied something before. But I went through it for a very long time (relative to other specialization courses) and lost motivation several times, had to take breaks. Some topics are not described in such detail and with incomprehensible examples, which is why it is go difficult to solve problems. Tasks with R are generally difficult - but not because it's code (i'm good with it) – most often tasks were not related to lectures in the subject, and often instead of using functions and other convenient methods in R, you had to solve everything manually, simply substituting the numbers in the formula. But what's the point then in the code?

I would also like to draw attention to the fact that it’s very difficult to pass tests, sometimes the question and answer options are ambiguous, or it seems that there can be more than one answer.

Also important is the fact that the curators do not answer questions at all on the forum, I met questions written six months or a few months ago - and they were unanswered. How so?

In general, I am glad that I took this course, but I can’t say that it practically helped me. You will have to watch other courses to fill in the gaps and understand what was not explained here.

por Courtney v S

Nov 10, 2016

Not very helpful. In the homework I spent more time wrestling with commands in R than actually gaining an understanding of the subject matter.

Also, I really didn't need so many subject matter examples about the professor's baby's pooping habits. (And my family is Dutch with all the offensive humor that comes with it, so it's not just a matter of the sense of humor not translating)

I'm re-taking Statistics with Calculus online at my local state university and frankly, I can't notice any benefit from taking this course first. My current online Statistics with Calculus course is rewarding and I feel like I'm truly gaining mastery of the topics, whereas in the Basic Statistics course I was floundering.

The graphics in the way the lessons are presented are well done! But I would have been just fine with fewer graphics if it meant more worked-through examples.

por Bank E

Jul 23, 2020

The instructor failed to explain many parts; such as why we don't use T-distribution for proportion, why use n-1 instead of n in some equations, etc. The discussion forum is sooo quiet, I appreciate some students who try to help other out. R lab is the most annoying part, you barely need any understanding at all; all you need is remembering the function and understand the convention what instructions are telling you (which is so varying or sometimes not telling you and you have to go back to see what it is in the previous questions). I feel R lab is not useful.

por Dafna M

Dec 06, 2019

Most of the courses didn't feel like basic statistics, they were very hard, plus a lot of the presentations were difficult to understand. I felt that there is a significant disparity between the two lecturers; the way they present the learnt materials is very different. In several times i had a gap and had to look for more information online. This is called "basic statistics" and it felt like i was supposed to start the course with a previous knowledge which i didn't have.

por Monica H

Oct 13, 2020

I struggled with understanding the concepts. At the first read, they made sense, but when trying to solve problems they stopped making sense. There were errors in the calculations too, and more examples would have really helped.

por Anthony

Dec 15, 2019

This course is more about learning R-programming which is totally useless for me. The videos are nice. Try instead buying the book and do the excercises with python or excel.

por Andrea F

Dec 29, 2016

I've only gotten started, but there seems some assumptions made about how much we know and how quickly we can pick up these new terms and ideas.

por Clement

Feb 25, 2019

The program is good. The videos not so much. The professors are speaking pretty fast. It would have been good to have some written material.

por yazhini c

Aug 16, 2016

R labs are too tedious for people with medical or science background! we need explanations rather than trying to figure it out on our own!

por Lai J

Apr 30, 2020

shitty final exam questions. confusion on sample std or population std

por Tobias R A

Mar 23, 2020

If you don't pay it you can't do anything

por Ivan C

Jan 07, 2016

Damn R-Lab

por Alyxx S B

Jun 27, 2020

The information was amusing sometimes, but the first 2 chapters are sexist. That aside - the "R Lab" is not relevant to the class. Also, the order is backwards - all the interesting theory parts are the last 3 chapters!

por Assad N

Oct 06, 2020

please write the requirement necessary to complete this course, one can chose if he is capable of doing the lab. although statistics is basic but i wonder the computer skills are not.......

por Anshika C

Sep 26, 2020

i want to unenroll from the course, I am not able to do it.