Chevron Left
Volver a Introduction to Big Data

Opiniones y comentarios de aprendices correspondientes a Introduction to Big Data por parte de Universidad de California en San Diego

4.6
estrellas
10,480 calificaciones
2,451 reseña

Acerca del Curso

Interested in increasing your knowledge of the Big Data landscape? This course is for those new to data science and interested in understanding why the Big Data Era has come to be. It is for those who want to become conversant with the terminology and the core concepts behind big data problems, applications, and systems. It is for those who want to start thinking about how Big Data might be useful in their business or career. It provides an introduction to one of the most common frameworks, Hadoop, that has made big data analysis easier and more accessible -- increasing the potential for data to transform our world! At the end of this course, you will be able to: * Describe the Big Data landscape including examples of real world big data problems including the three key sources of Big Data: people, organizations, and sensors. * Explain the V’s of Big Data (volume, velocity, variety, veracity, valence, and value) and why each impacts data collection, monitoring, storage, analysis and reporting. * Get value out of Big Data by using a 5-step process to structure your analysis. * Identify what are and what are not big data problems and be able to recast big data problems as data science questions. * Provide an explanation of the architectural components and programming models used for scalable big data analysis. * Summarize the features and value of core Hadoop stack components including the YARN resource and job management system, the HDFS file system and the MapReduce programming model. * Install and run a program using Hadoop! This course is for those new to data science. No prior programming experience is needed, although the ability to install applications and utilize a virtual machine is necessary to complete the hands-on assignments. Hardware Requirements: (A) Quad Core Processor (VT-x or AMD-V support recommended), 64-bit; (B) 8 GB RAM; (C) 20 GB disk free. How to find your hardware information: (Windows): Open System by clicking the Start button, right-clicking Computer, and then clicking Properties; (Mac): Open Overview by clicking on the Apple menu and clicking “About This Mac.” Most computers with 8 GB RAM purchased in the last 3 years will meet the minimum requirements.You will need a high speed internet connection because you will be downloading files up to 4 Gb in size. Software Requirements: This course relies on several open-source software tools, including Apache Hadoop. All required software can be downloaded and installed free of charge. Software requirements include: Windows 7+, Mac OS X 10.10+, Ubuntu 14.04+ or CentOS 6+ VirtualBox 5+....

Principales reseñas

DK

11 de ago. de 2021

I love the course. It goes deep into the foundations, and then finishes up with an actual lab where you learn by practice. I greatly benefited from it and feel I have achieved a milestone in big data.

HM

8 de sep. de 2019

I love the course. It goes deep into the foundations, and then finishes up with an actual lab where you learn by practice. I greatly benefited from it and feel I have achieved a milestone in big data.

Filtrar por:

326 - 350 de 2,400 revisiones para Introduction to Big Data

por Diego S

16 de oct. de 2016

This course is perfect for Big Data beginers. I loved how they explained haoop's architecture and big data principles in a simple way.

por oussema h

9 de oct. de 2016

This course will go through all the definitions and the core concepts of Big Data.

It is a great introductory course.

Thank you so much.

por Selim K

1 de abr. de 2020

with her simple in terminology-compact in content explanations, Ilkay Hoca was a great tutor to step inside the door of data science.

por ADITYA S K

14 de may. de 2019

If you don't have any idea about what Big Data exactly is and If you want to explore more about the same then this course is for you!

por Shruti S

14 de may. de 2020

Interesting and excellent approach to teaching and anybody not knowing any fundamentals can learn easily, get interest in the field.

por Hari K K

20 de feb. de 2018

Excellent course material, simple, lucid and easy to follow structure, contextual examples - all this is worth making the Intro to B

por Vagner P

1 de feb. de 2017

This course bring the real perspective of bigdata and data science , demonstrating real use cases and solution for business problems

por Pankaj G

7 de ago. de 2016

I found this program extremely useful to understand the concepts of Big Data. I can now get into any conversation and do not feel li

por Samuel B F

5 de ago. de 2018

Very interesting enlightment of Big Data. I really learned a different perception towards Big Data. Can't wait for the next clases.

por Edward F

9 de may. de 2018

I really enjoyed the pace and challenges associated with the class. I learned quite a bit, and will recommend to others! Thank you!

por Johnny C

22 de feb. de 2017

Great as an introduction to Big Data - now I've enrolled on the other 5 courses in this specialisation and am keen to get moving !!

por Manjunath B R

11 de feb. de 2017

This course is amazing for the one who wants to start Big Data! Great job by Instructors by citing real time examples and problems.

por Marta J V

15 de nov. de 2016

Really good course. I had the opportunity to learn about the fundamentals of Big Data. Now I want to take the following courses. :)

por Matheus G L

20 de jul. de 2016

Good content, good teacher. Maybe should have a little more hands on assignments, but it is an excellent introduction to the topic!

por HANLIM L

4 de oct. de 2020

Good lecture to learn basic concepts of big data and to try the simplest version(as simple as printing 'hello world') of wordcount

por Ganesan R

15 de may. de 2020

The course is excellent. The way they teach is really good and making us to understand the concepts very well. Thanks to the team.

por Michael

28 de feb. de 2020

Loud and Clear! Wonderful entry level courses for begineer like me, particular in the explaination on MapReduce, thanks very much!

por YEO H J

12 de ago. de 2019

This is a good course for the beginner. But I would like to ask for some detail exercises and examples for the real beginner. Tha

por Lambros M

17 de dic. de 2016

Excellent introduction into big data. Material is well organized and well presented for anyone that is not familiar with big data

por Matias G

24 de nov. de 2020

Muy interesantes todos los temas que se tratan, y la introducción al uso de las herramientas para Big Data me pareció excelente.

por Manisha B

7 de mar. de 2018

Flow of material is good .Along with the assesment at end of each chapter . It help to re visit the point we missed during class

por Sappa, K k

1 de ago. de 2019

Well organized, easy to understand material and lessons taught by speakers. Good exercises and quiz in the end of each chapter.

por Ranjeet K

5 de mar. de 2019

The course was in depth about Big Data Introduction and its related technologies. Thanks to Coursera for the wonderful content.

por Kosala W

9 de dic. de 2018

Superb introduction to the concepts of Big data for total newcomers with a simple hands on exercise at the end. Well done team!

por Salvatore C

23 de jul. de 2018

The course is really well done and provide all the basic concepts and notions that are required to start working with big data.