Chevron Left
Volver a Big Data Modeling and Management Systems

Opiniones y comentarios de aprendices correspondientes a Big Data Modeling and Management Systems por parte de Universidad de California en San Diego

4.4
estrellas
2,905 calificaciones
494 reseña

Acerca del Curso

Once you’ve identified a big data issue to analyze, how do you collect, store and organize your data using Big Data solutions? In this course, you will experience various data genres and management tools appropriate for each. You will be able to describe the reasons behind the evolving plethora of new big data platforms from the perspective of big data management systems and analytical tools. Through guided hands-on tutorials, you will become familiar with techniques using real-time and semi-structured data examples. Systems and tools discussed include: AsterixDB, HP Vertica, Impala, Neo4j, Redis, SparkSQL. This course provides techniques to extract value from existing untapped data sources and discovering new data sources. At the end of this course, you will be able to: * Recognize different data elements in your own work and in everyday life problems * Explain why your team needs to design a Big Data Infrastructure Plan and Information System Design * Identify the frequent data operations required for various types of data * Select a data model to suit the characteristics of your data * Apply techniques to handle streaming data * Differentiate between a traditional Database Management System and a Big Data Management System * Appreciate why there are so many data management systems * Design a big data information system for an online game company This course is for those new to data science. Completion of Intro to Big Data is recommended. No prior programming experience is needed, although the ability to install applications and utilize a virtual machine is necessary to complete the hands-on assignments. Refer to the specialization technical requirements for complete hardware and software specifications. Hardware Requirements: (A) Quad Core Processor (VT-x or AMD-V support recommended), 64-bit; (B) 8 GB RAM; (C) 20 GB disk free. How to find your hardware information: (Windows): Open System by clicking the Start button, right-clicking Computer, and then clicking Properties; (Mac): Open Overview by clicking on the Apple menu and clicking “About This Mac.” Most computers with 8 GB RAM purchased in the last 3 years will meet the minimum requirements.You will need a high speed internet connection because you will be downloading files up to 4 Gb in size. Software Requirements: This course relies on several open-source software tools, including Apache Hadoop. All required software can be downloaded and installed free of charge (except for data charges from your internet provider). Software requirements include: Windows 7+, Mac OS X 10.10+, Ubuntu 14.04+ or CentOS 6+ VirtualBox 5+....

Principales reseñas

MP
16 de oct. de 2017

Good Explanations of Concepts and Nice Tests. I got a trilling experience in completing the peer Assignments with keen observation and Analyzing of Concepts learned.Thanq for your course very much.

VG
27 de mar. de 2017

Nice course to describe the traditional data modeling (RDBMS) as well as various semi-structured and un-structured data modeling and management of the systems (Batch and Streaming data processing)

Filtrar por:

451 - 475 de 485 revisiones para Big Data Modeling and Management Systems

por Waldo U

30 de dic. de 2017

The last assignment is really vague and poorly written.

por Abu R

31 de jul. de 2017

great course

Hands on practice needs to do a better job

por Tushar S

4 de oct. de 2016

Just about okay. Wouldn't recommend to pay for this.

por Mohamed A

26 de oct. de 2020

The course graphical interface makes me confused.

por Diwen

19 de ago. de 2019

Peer-graded assignment is very badly described.

por Gustavo S

8 de ago. de 2016

More practical exercises should be recommended.

por Amit D

13 de jul. de 2020

Good Course. More practice sessions are needed

por Gregory S

29 de sep. de 2017

Assignments were vague and hard to understand.

por Abhishek V

31 de jul. de 2017

Final assignment needed to be more clear

por rkouatly

6 de ago. de 2018

The course requires more practical part

por Christine G

9 de ago. de 2017

Capstone assignment was disappointing.

por Marco F

24 de abr. de 2018

Final assignemet is too hard.

por Juan A R

11 de may. de 2017

poco contenido práctico

por Ra'ed A

7 de may. de 2019

Fix the mistakes!

por Ruowang Z

24 de abr. de 2020

too simplistic

por Barend M

13 de jul. de 2017

.

por Nathaniel M

26 de ago. de 2021

This is a difficult subject to teach in an online introduction course, but this was assembled poorly and in need of a reboot. The lectures appear dated, lengthy, and lack much substance (outside of the final lecture). The final, peer graded assessment is a joke. 5/6 peer assignments I graded were the exact, word-for-word copied answers from an internet source. I received a failing review on my first submission with 0 explanation for the grades. I spent the majority of my time in this course not gaining knowledge about BDM, but overcoming bugs associated with running outdated Oracle VM and petitioning to get valid reviews of my final assessment. Easily the worst course taken so far on Coursera.

por Othmane B

12 de nov. de 2016

The course a materials are interesting and with significant value, same comment on the teachers, this would be perfect if the third party(the VM) is working fine, I can't say I'm happy about the course where the frustration is probably the right word describing my feeling right now, wish me luck for this week, I might pass might not ......

por Erik P

3 de oct. de 2017

I think some real polish needs to be applied to the final assignment in this course. Some of the questions are not formatted well for the coursera web site.. and even on my macbook pro retina I am seeing text overrunning the text box. Really want to see UCSD represented better

por Izabelle A

10 de abr. de 2019

Cannot finish Twitter activities as commands shown in the video apparently don´t work with the most recent pyhton version. I am very disappointed about it, since I am mostly focused on Twitter-related data.

por Abdulrahman A T

20 de jul. de 2020

The course does not add much knowledge if you came from computer science field. It touches the very basics. The exercises are simple, and the final project is very vague.

por Allyson D d L

15 de oct. de 2021

Very poor in practical content. The maximum you will see is to run done python scripts in the virtual machine; But you can also run in your personal PC.

por akhil r k

24 de oct. de 2016

I wish the courses are more project oriented. This is a very good introduction but, atleast you could provide some optional projects or some tasks.

por Otto E

21 de sep. de 2021

The content is good but this course needs an extensive update of the course material (labs and power point presentations).

por Ján M

18 de abr. de 2021

I spent a lot of time setting up VM, as packages from python and libreoffice wasn't working