Chevron Left
Volver a Big Data Modeling and Management Systems

Opiniones y comentarios de aprendices correspondientes a Big Data Modeling and Management Systems por parte de Universidad de California en San Diego

4.4
estrellas
2,715 calificaciones
451 reseña

Acerca del Curso

Once you’ve identified a big data issue to analyze, how do you collect, store and organize your data using Big Data solutions? In this course, you will experience various data genres and management tools appropriate for each. You will be able to describe the reasons behind the evolving plethora of new big data platforms from the perspective of big data management systems and analytical tools. Through guided hands-on tutorials, you will become familiar with techniques using real-time and semi-structured data examples. Systems and tools discussed include: AsterixDB, HP Vertica, Impala, Neo4j, Redis, SparkSQL. This course provides techniques to extract value from existing untapped data sources and discovering new data sources. At the end of this course, you will be able to: * Recognize different data elements in your own work and in everyday life problems * Explain why your team needs to design a Big Data Infrastructure Plan and Information System Design * Identify the frequent data operations required for various types of data * Select a data model to suit the characteristics of your data * Apply techniques to handle streaming data * Differentiate between a traditional Database Management System and a Big Data Management System * Appreciate why there are so many data management systems * Design a big data information system for an online game company This course is for those new to data science. Completion of Intro to Big Data is recommended. No prior programming experience is needed, although the ability to install applications and utilize a virtual machine is necessary to complete the hands-on assignments. Refer to the specialization technical requirements for complete hardware and software specifications. Hardware Requirements: (A) Quad Core Processor (VT-x or AMD-V support recommended), 64-bit; (B) 8 GB RAM; (C) 20 GB disk free. How to find your hardware information: (Windows): Open System by clicking the Start button, right-clicking Computer, and then clicking Properties; (Mac): Open Overview by clicking on the Apple menu and clicking “About This Mac.” Most computers with 8 GB RAM purchased in the last 3 years will meet the minimum requirements.You will need a high speed internet connection because you will be downloading files up to 4 Gb in size. Software Requirements: This course relies on several open-source software tools, including Apache Hadoop. All required software can be downloaded and installed free of charge (except for data charges from your internet provider). Software requirements include: Windows 7+, Mac OS X 10.10+, Ubuntu 14.04+ or CentOS 6+ VirtualBox 5+....

Principales reseñas

MP

Oct 17, 2017

Good Explanations of Concepts and Nice Tests. I got a trilling experience in completing the peer Assignments with keen observation and Analyzing of Concepts learned.Thanq for your course very much.

VG

Mar 28, 2017

Nice course to describe the traditional data modeling (RDBMS) as well as various semi-structured and un-structured data modeling and management of the systems (Batch and Streaming data processing)

Filtrar por:

26 - 50 de 441 revisiones para Big Data Modeling and Management Systems

por James w

May 08, 2019

I feel as though the assessment questions could have been more specific and the assessment criteria when marking could have been more precise. But other than that it was a great course.

por Mohammad M

Sep 30, 2019

Big Data modeling is important consideration while designing big data solution. Most of other online courses lacks this module. Thanks to coursera for bringing this course. Five star.

por Ankit C

Mar 24, 2020

It's a good course to get an overview of different technologies that are out there. I would highly recommend this course to anyone who wants to build a foundation for big data.

por Oguzhan B

Oct 06, 2020

After the first course, I both refreshed and improved my knowledge. Thank you very much for bringing this course together with many examples, tutorials and a great narration.

por Routhana L

Apr 10, 2019

As a undergraduate data analytics student, this course was an enlightening experience that complemented my more theoretical, less-applicational on campus course very well.

por Saju T M

Apr 13, 2020

Gives us a very good understanding on Big data modeling and various data models like Graph Data model, Vector Space model (TF-IDF), Vertica, AsterixDB, Aerospike etc.

por Luis R G

Dec 05, 2019

Great course to learn and also practice how data can be visualized and how to model data, formats and how important is to choose appropriate data format and model

por Arindam B

Mar 14, 2018

Very well defined course curriculum and easy to follow.

All the different aspects of big data modeling has been well discussed and presented with examples.

por André G P

Nov 07, 2018

The course presents a conceptual basis behind each of the tools demonstrated. It is important to know the best options when designing a project.

por Gowri A

Sep 30, 2020

The delay of completion of course was due to do no review submission otherwise the course would have got completed as per the stipulated time.

por Antony C

Apr 05, 2018

A good presentation of available technologies around Big Data Modelling, theory and technical skills that are used in this scientific field.

por Hector L

Sep 29, 2016

Great introduction to management systems. I would have more hands on exercises for the final week, but it was a great course overall.

por Syed M Z H

Apr 10, 2018

Great course! As described in the course info, the course didn't cover Neo4j, Impala, SparkSQL, is it covered in some other course?

por Shivam T

Jun 12, 2020

Great course for introducing Big Data management systems and processing them, would suggest doing this before going to next course

por Jamiil T A

Sep 26, 2018

An interesting course on BDMS and DBMS you will real learn more about the velocity and volume aspect of the big data. Good luck !

por Aliasgher N

Jan 21, 2018

While it was difficult than the intro course, I mean 9 mins video are too long for me but I really gained a lot of knoeledge

por Akshay V

Jul 17, 2017

The Course was Awesome. It enhanced and enriched my knowledge and was overall fruitful in learning the nuances of Big Data.

por Panagiotis T

Jan 16, 2019

Very useful, although some concepts (especially week 5) are a bit condensed and hard to remember without further practice.

por Darius T

Dec 31, 2017

Course gave a lot of useful information about data modeling. However the peer graded assignment was a bit dissapointment.

por Jamal A

Apr 16, 2017

In this great course the instructors cover a broad range of topics related to big data models that is perfectly designed.

por Hector d J G C

Oct 23, 2016

it was a little too slow but is ok, specially with beginners as me.it can be a little bit more interactive or didactical.

por Tcheutchoua S

May 19, 2019

This is wonderful course that explains that provides insight in to Management systems and how big data can be leveraged.

por Esteban E C

Nov 30, 2018

I learnt a lot of things with this course, It doesn't matter we are at 2018, stills pretty asertive with the topics. :)

por Anjali P

May 16, 2020

Nicely written, can add few more details or one example how it actually works instead of directly giving assignment

por Luciano

Sep 05, 2018

This course is amazing!!! is helping me a lot in deepening my knowledge in data modeling and data architecture.