Chevron Left
Volver a Big History: Connecting Knowledge

Opiniones y comentarios de aprendices correspondientes a Big History: Connecting Knowledge por parte de Universidad de Macquarie

4.8
estrellas
1,014 calificaciones
273 revisiones

Acerca del Curso

We currently face unprecedented challenges on a global scale. These problems do not neatly fall into disciplines. They are complicated, complex, and connected. Join us on this epic journey of 13.8 billion years starting at the Big Bang and travelling through time all the way to the future. Discover the connections in our world, the power of collective learning, how our universe and our world has evolved from incredible simplicity to ever-increasing complexity. Experience our modern scientific origin story through Big History and discover the important links between past, current, and future events. You will find two different types of lectures. ‘Zooming In’ lectures from multiple specialists enable you to understand key concepts through the lens of different disciplines, whilst David Christian's ‘Big History Framework’ lectures provide the connective overview for a journey through eight thresholds of Big History....

Principales revisiones

BG

Jan 07, 2016

Finally! A creation myth based on evidence and multiple scientific disciplines for all humans is here! The time for stories based on speculation and superstition for the chosen group is finally over.

MS

Aug 01, 2017

Very informative, cross and inter-disciplinary course. Lot of effort is put into formulating and developing the course. Thanks for all the people who have contributed to run the course successfully.

Filtrar por:

251 - 267 de 267 revisiones para Big History: Connecting Knowledge

por Ian M

Aug 02, 2017

Useful in understanding the bigger context of time outside of history.

por Vipul A

Jan 20, 2017

It was very intuitive course with lots of example and explanation.

por Muhammad A S

Sep 20, 2016

An excellent course indeed! Strongly recommended for 'everyone'!

por Henry I

Apr 11, 2016

It is very good but it doesn't explain every thing

por Tony A

Feb 09, 2016

Good, engaging and thought-provoking course.

por Якупов А М

May 26, 2019

Global view of the evolution process.

por Medhedi

Apr 26, 2017

Excellent Cours.. Merci a tt l'équipe

por Patrick L

May 29, 2016

Very interesting and mind expanding.

por Robert S

Apr 19, 2016

Great ideas. Great course.

por Tsambikos P

May 25, 2017

very good lessons!!

por Julio C N P

Mar 21, 2019

i like big history

por Simon-Peter S

Jan 10, 2017

Well the course is reasonably well organized the material is in great detail exceeding what I would've thought the overview concept of big history would be. Other big history courses I've taken do not go into specific date and time detail, period by period But function more in terms of how preceding events may be causative for future events (more like a butterfly effect analysis over long periods of time).

If you are looking for more detailed specific history than this course is useful. If you are looking for more of the big history overview concept this may not be the best course for you.

por Leandro A R

Apr 08, 2016

Excellent lecturers and high-quality material to study, although the course is heavily centered on human History as opposed to Big History - i.e. early Universe and its development over a time span of billions of years.

por Paolo S

Dec 18, 2015

The history of the universe, mainkind and the future in 6 weeks. A very short introduction but a good idea

por Bill T

Aug 23, 2016

With a grand title and grand introduction, I found the course very superficial and gained little additional insight form "Big History".

por Kerstin S

Sep 18, 2016

Why is this course dangerous?

I took this course because first I liked the idea to have a history lesson spanning the age of the whole universe. Maybe it is also intriguing to explain everything just with one principle: the second law of thermodynamics. BUT as it turned out they don't have any clue what this second law of thermodynamics means. They always forget the second part of it: it is just valide in a closed system. I think everbody will agree, that the earth for example isn't a closed system.

In the beginning they tell you you should be critical about everything new you hear or get taught. But if you are critical and question things they teach you they will ignore you. One glance at the discussion forum shows: they are fast in answering good feedback and compliments by students, but critical questions (with scientific papers who show different facts) get ignored for weeks and months. They are cherry picking. They just see what encourages their view and their opinion and ignore everything that contradicts their course, opinion, believe and dogma. In this respect they are so dangerous. That is the same principle how cults work.

Maybe their goal, stopping polluting and changing the world in such a speed seems to be a good one. But also here you have to be careful. When they talk about climate change and the overuse of ressources they are exaggerating by a factor of 50! In my opinion you are damaging an important discussion if you are lying and exaggerating in such a shameless way. For sure it is not helpful! But again, the truth doesn't fit in their world view.

Furthermore they "teach" that cities get blown away by taifoons is caused by the "universe balancing entropy". This isn't just lack of understanding physics, or history, or flow mechanics, it is just insane.

In summary: this is not a history course, but the "teachings" of a lying, exaggerating, cherry picking cult with no knowledge in particle physics, cosmology, chemistry, biology or even history.

So please: if you take this course, be aware of this pitfalls and their intentions.

por aneli h

Nov 27, 2018

no