Chevron Left
Volver a Big History: Connecting Knowledge

Opiniones y comentarios de aprendices correspondientes a Big History: Connecting Knowledge por parte de Universidad de Macquarie

4.8
estrellas
1,377 calificaciones
383 reseña

Acerca del Curso

We currently face unprecedented challenges on a global scale. These problems do not neatly fall into disciplines. They are complicated, complex, and connected. Join us on this epic journey of 13.8 billion years starting at the Big Bang and travelling through time all the way to the future. Discover the connections in our world, the power of collective learning, how our universe and our world has evolved from incredible simplicity to ever-increasing complexity. Experience our modern scientific origin story through Big History and discover the important links between past, current, and future events. You will find two different types of lectures. ‘Zooming In’ lectures from multiple specialists enable you to understand key concepts through the lens of different disciplines, whilst David Christian's ‘Big History Framework’ lectures provide the connective overview for a journey through eight thresholds of Big History....

Principales reseñas

SA

Jul 02, 2020

I absolutely LOVED Big History! It's so interesting and insightful!! I highly recommend everyone to take this course, you will learn a lot about the world! Thank you Professor Christian and Baker!! :)

BG

Jan 07, 2016

Finally! A creation myth based on evidence and multiple scientific disciplines for all humans is here! The time for stories based on speculation and superstition for the chosen group is finally over.

Filtrar por:

51 - 75 de 377 revisiones para Big History: Connecting Knowledge

por Richelle N E

Mar 15, 2016

Very nice! I like the variation and the montages of the video lectures very much. The variety really kept me enticed and paying attention throughout everything. This course would also be a perfect self-paced course. Interesting subject matter as well! Very important for everyone, to get a sense of where we are and where our lives fit into the bigger picture.

por marcus

Dec 11, 2019

I am amazed at the level of informative information that can truly be embedded into the human mind in the span of six weeks. From human history that covers the critical points in society from geology, philosophy and history, to the birth of the universe and the creation of life, big history will give it to you all, making your mind prepared for the future.

por David V G

Dec 03, 2016

Enjoying all of it. Actually in process of going through it a second time. So much information is made available every week, that I am finding and learning new things the second time through. The variety of instructors and information sources is appreciated. Thank you for putting such a extensive course together and making it available for all.

por Vladimir

Jun 27, 2017

Absolutely amazing course!

It's not only fun and intense, but a coherent story with facts conveyed in most interesting way. Allows to have a view of a BIG picture and even scale the view to a more local periods.

Thank you Creators! That is a great Journey! Thanks!

This is the rare course to return enjoy later again. And somehow, I'm sure I will.

por Gregory H

Jun 12, 2018

Very good overview of the history of the universe. Provided an amazing "big picture" helping me to organize other courses I have taken that focused on specific eras in history. For example, where do dinosaurs fit in relative to mammals or plants. It makes it much easier to study the details of shorter historical periods. Highly recommended.

por Soma B

Mar 09, 2016

This is a wonderful and absolutely mind-boggling course. I am so glad I got this opportunity to take this course and be introduced to this topic. The range of topics covered are diverse and they make you think of how it all began, your past, present and future. I will like to thank all the professors and contributors who made this course.

por Ardra R

Jun 14, 2020

It was really a new platform and experience for me to earn some knowledge regarding the big bang history to modernity. The evaluation methods you have used was really unique and novel. The assignment, quiz and the claim testers were quite interesting to be done. Thanks for the resourceful sessions. Really contentful and inspirational.

por Mihkel H

Feb 23, 2017

A great way to get an overview of one's place in this world by understanding the whole history of the universe before and after humans. The multitude of sciences touched upon during the course made me research on the topics discussed more thoroughly. The teachers are good, the intro music is a wee bit too intense

por Jan G

Jun 25, 2020

A very interesting course which draws from many different disciplines as they relate to our world history from the beginning of time. Very enthusiastic and engaging teachers, the graphics and videos are excellent. The accompanying references contain some resource gems I will enjoy referring to in the future.

por Emmanuella P

Apr 13, 2020

I love how this course blended so many disciplines and their knowledge. The big picture painted in Big History is essential in the current confusing days. We need to realize all this collectively so we can move towards a brighter future. Not this greedy, selfish, ignorant way we seem to mostly be leading.

por Manojkumar P S

May 14, 2020

As a student of History, the course on Big History: Connecting Knowledge gave me fresh insights regarding the sources we can use while learning, writing and engaging with History. I am indebted for the team for taking me to fresh arenas of historical researches and conceptualizations. Thank You.

por Gabriella

Jan 17, 2016

A well-taught, mind-expanding, perspective-altering course. Everything is presented in an interesting and understandable way, even complex topics such as cosmology and chemistry. I can't rate the Big History course highly enough - it has inspired me so much and I can't wait to keep learning.

por Ella K

Nov 28, 2015

Incredible course in every way: Highly competent lecturers, excellent video quality in both content and production, great pacing and delivery of information and dozens of links to engaging resource material.

One of the best MOOCs I have ever participated in: fun, informative and intriguing!

por Kseniia K

May 06, 2020

Amazing course that ties together various concepts and sciences to provide a holistic approach to the understanding of our Universe. Perfect for general knowledge and improving transdisciplinary skills. Special thanks to the Pr. David Christian - one of the best lecturers on Coursera!

por Hassan H

Sep 21, 2016

Such an amazing experience for me.

I have always loved history and appreciated the sciences. This is the first I get exposed to the concpt of both being part of a bigger thing.

Big History has connected the dots between the different academic fields. Totally recommend it to all humans.

por Joey S

Jul 10, 2019

This course taught me a new appreciation for the natural sciences by grounding them in a fascinating, evidence-based narrative. Anyone with a naturally historical mind who wishes to gain a fuller understanding and appreciation of science will have their life changed by Big History.

por Mel F

Feb 13, 2018

I thoroughly enjoyed this course, I have always been interested i the "Big Picture" of history and the Universe and this course fit the bill. Easy to understand and very well done. My sincere thanks to the teachers that put their time and effort into making this course great!

por Clifford L B

Jul 16, 2016

this course combines theories and ideas from many different disciplines to produce a coherent picture of the world we live in today. The picture does appear to match the real world far better than what we see when just using a single discipline. It is joined up thinking

por madeleine d

Apr 11, 2016

Riveting lectures. Weaves knowledge from astronomy, physics, chemistry, economics, anthropology, genetics, geology, etc. into history. Enthusiastic presenters, unique assembly of knowledge, comprehensive coverage, entertaining and informative. Highly recommended.

por Paul S

Jan 12, 2016

A very interesting and broad introduction to a new and exciting form of interdisciplinary form of history, that gives a wide perspective on a big range of sciences from biology and cosmology, to social and historical sciences. Would easily recommend for everyone.

por Matej A B

Jul 07, 2020

This course exceeded my expectations. It didn't only grasp the topic of history, but also geology, astrophysics and much more. I don't see a reason why someone would not want to take this course, it will generate interesting thoughts beyond today's society.

por S M N H J

Sep 13, 2017

It's an amazing course. I took this course on account of curiosity. It change my whole way thinking about world. I learned so much and most importantly I learned how different subjects helped to change the world. I think everyone should take this course.

por Mariana C

Oct 15, 2016

I'm impress and very amazed, with this course. I'm just starting, but I have my first insights and connections to the things I've written and research before, to help people, and our enviroment as well, through science, and now, BIG HISTORY <3 love it...

por Pamela H

Sep 03, 2020

Best course I have ever done! It has enabled me to become scientifically literate in a short space of time. It has provided me with a scientific world view and given me the tools to make informed choices about how to face the challenges of the future.

por Michael A S H

Nov 23, 2017

This course is engaging, informative and enlightening. It will broaden your views of yourself, the cosmos, humans, the environment and the world on a whole. I highly recommend anyone to enrol in this journey of discovery known as Big History!