Chevron Left
Volver a Biology Meets Programming: Bioinformatics for Beginners

Opiniones y comentarios de aprendices correspondientes a Biology Meets Programming: Bioinformatics for Beginners por parte de Universidad de California en San Diego

4.2
estrellas
1,269 calificaciones
384 reseña

Acerca del Curso

Are you interested in learning how to program (in Python) within a scientific setting? This course will cover algorithms for solving various biological problems along with a handful of programming challenges helping you implement these algorithms in Python. It offers a gently-paced introduction to our Bioinformatics Specialization (https://www.coursera.org/specializations/bioinformatics), preparing learners to take the first course in the Specialization, "Finding Hidden Messages in DNA" (https://www.coursera.org/learn/dna-analysis). Each of the four weeks in the course will consist of two required components. First, an interactive textbook provides Python programming challenges that arise from real biological problems. If you haven't programmed in Python before, not to worry! We provide "Just-in-Time" exercises from the Codecademy Python track (https://www.codecademy.com/learn/python). And each page in our interactive textbook has its own discussion forum, where you can interact with other learners. Second, each week will culminate in a summary quiz. Lecture videos are also provided that accompany the material, but these videos are optional....

Principales reseñas

DL
17 de abr. de 2016

I give this course 5 star because I did Bioinformatics I and I totally enjoy it.\n\nThis is where programming can be fun, and practical, and you'll learn some basic biology too.\n\nWhat's not to love?

MZ
14 de abr. de 2020

A very good course for those who has some (at least a little) experience in programmimg! I really loved it, it was challenging sometimes, especially in the end, but I did it and learned a lot.

Filtrar por:

251 - 275 de 382 revisiones para Biology Meets Programming: Bioinformatics for Beginners

por Kyle B

5 de jun. de 2020

Difficult for beginners inexperienced in coding but so rewarding and extremely interesting! Awesome introduction into the field of bioinformatics

por Abdullah D S

5 de jun. de 2018

The course is alright. I learned a great deal from the challenges in the Stepik modules. The only issue is that the material is pretty dry.

por Rohan S

24 de jul. de 2017

Excellent course to learn Python programming and great way to learn very interesting topics in biology and be introduced to bioinformatics.

por dong c

5 de sep. de 2017

Novel knowledge and require some python base.More useful for leaners if printable handout with summarized information provided .

por Will V P

18 de ene. de 2021

Very technical.... I certainly would recommend this to someone with a prior experience in Biology. Regardless, very good course

por Caroline C

13 de jun. de 2019

I already have python background so it is good for me. Maybe not suitable for beginner who doesn't touch python before.

por Mohamed A

4 de ene. de 2017

Very good introductory course to new learners in bioinformatics or students who are just curious about this field.

por Afshin P

25 de abr. de 2017

Thank you.

This course was very effective for me.

It has a lot of details, and I need to review some issues agian

por Florent C

2 de mar. de 2020

Très bon cours malgré le fait qu'il faille passer par une plateforme externe de Coursera pour les cours

por Flávio H V d M

30 de abr. de 2021

The course is very nice but very difficult at the same time. It is not a course for true beginners!!

por Surabhi D

4 de jun. de 2016

Stepic issues with not syncing progress and assignment completion. All else was good. Well paced.

por itay b

19 de sep. de 2016

very interesting!, i liked the stepik interactive lesson very much, i prefer them over lectures

por bpathakjee

26 de mar. de 2017

Limited intro course compared to one offered few years ago but still Great start , Thank you

por Tarik A

20 de ago. de 2020

Please add more video course and meaningful assignments instead of all readings. Thanks

por cristina g g

29 de abr. de 2018

It doesnt seem for begginers in coding but still there is a lot of helpful information!

por SABARIKRISHNANBB R

1 de ene. de 2020

Way more to be "digestible" to beginners in bioinformatics and non-computer students.

por Paul J

27 de jul. de 2017

First time coding, so found some parts challenging, but worked it all out in the end!

por Daniel H

12 de feb. de 2019

A very interesting course, but perhaps not necessarily for "begginer" programmers.

por Michael E L

4 de jul. de 2017

Great intro course even if tedious for those who know next to nothing about coding

por Hamza A D

28 de feb. de 2020

Good course although could be improved with more simplicity and less complexity.

por María J F P

14 de nov. de 2018

This is definitely NOT a beginners course. Very interesting and useful, though.

por Mariane M R

18 de dic. de 2020

/Não é nada fácil e muito menos nível iniciante, mas consegui pensar bastante.

por Juan J M

1 de ago. de 2020

This is a challenging course for absolute beginners, but definitely rewarding!

por Helena C P d A B

31 de jul. de 2016

It's good, but I would prefer that the python was taught within the course.

por Zein A Z

6 de jul. de 2020

too hard for beginners, it started simple and escalated to hard very fast