Chevron Left
Volver a Bugs 101: Insect-Human Interactions

Opiniones y comentarios de aprendices correspondientes a Bugs 101: Insect-Human Interactions por parte de Universidad de Alberta

4.9
estrellas
1,060 calificaciones
466 reseña

Acerca del Curso

Of all the animals on earth, which are the strongest for their size? What about the fastest? Who were the first animals to evolve flight? Insects take all of these titles and more! As the most abundant animals on the planet, insects and other arthropods affect our lives in so many ways. From beneficial interactions like pollination and biological pest control, to the transmission of life threatening diseases; this course will teach you about the big ways that these little arthropods impact our lives. In Bugs 101: Insect-Human Interactions, you will be plunged into the diverse (and sometimes alien) world of arthropods to learn how they work, what they do, and how insects and humans interact every day. After completing this course, you will be able to: Describe the evolutionary relationships between insects and their arthropod relatives Inventory major groups of insects and their diversity Demonstrate evolutionary adaptations that make insects successful Discuss insect biology and human-insect interactions Evaluate positive and negative interactions between insects and humans Propose practical and symbolic roles insects play in human societies...

Principales reseñas

AB
7 de jul. de 2020

Very interesting and specially the anchors of this course are very enthusiastic and encouraging throughout the course so my focus is maintain for bugs and surly I will search more on insects further.

MM
19 de nov. de 2020

An absolutely fantastic course with logically set-out modules and enthusiastic, inspiring and engaging presenters. Very useful for anyone involved in Science outreach and/or widening participation.

Filtrar por:

101 - 125 de 463 revisiones para Bugs 101: Insect-Human Interactions

por Mauritius X

6 de sep. de 2019

I have followed quite a few courses in Coursera offered by University of Alberta. They were all good. This one is at the same level. Lessons are well prepared. Instructors are good and easy. Topics are various. I learned a lot about insects and, as a biologist, this is not a minor accomplishment for a course like this.

por Lavender M

18 de jun. de 2020

this is a wonderful course because it shows all aspects of arthropods. I came out of this class with so much more knowledge then I ever could've dreamed of. it shows you what to do to control bugs yet also how beneficial they are. I will always love insects, but this class made me love them more. thank you, Coursera!

por Jeanne C

16 de jun. de 2020

This is an awesome course which examines the world of insects where it intersects with humans. I never thought that I would learn so much material that could be useful in my daily activities as a Master Gardner, especially about insect reproduction and IPM. Thanks so much to the instructors and to U of Alberta.

por Molly K

9 de jun. de 2020

This course was extremely thorough. It covered so many aspects, some I was aware of, but most I wasn't. I really learned a lot and enjoyed it quite a bit. The instructors and special guest experts were very easy to understand and gave valuable information. Very thankful that it was available in this format.

por André M M S

3 de ago. de 2020

De verdad me pareció un curso muy bueno porque soy un principiante en todo el mundo de los insectos y los instructores, actividades y vídeos hicieron muy digerible toda la información. Siento que todas las herramientas que me dieron serán de mucha ayuda en el futuro de mi carrera. Muchas gracias por este curso.

por Deb L

6 de dic. de 2020

This is hands down the best online course I have ever taken, and I've been taking them for at least 5 years now. Am hoping I can take it again in the near future as I know there is plenty more to be learned from these amazing and enthusiastic instructors. Thank you so much for making this available to us!

por Alexander W O

5 de mar. de 2021

This course was developed and presented in very interesting and professional manner. I had completed my Prairie Horticultural Certification several years ago from the University of Saskatchewan and Bugs 101 fit in nicely with the material I had learned there.

Thank you so much and keep up the great work.

por Barbara K

22 de oct. de 2020

Excellent Course, enjoyed learning about these beautiful creatures and the role they play in our lives and ecosystem. Well balanced presentations, and very clear. Beautiful Photography and interesting people. Makes me want to visit!

I need to review the course again to fully benefit from the information.

por David G

14 de ago. de 2020

Thanks so much for an outstanding class about insects and their valuable contribution to our well-being. All of the professors and guest speakers were outstanding, and genuinely made learning entomology fun. I really appreciate the great time and effort that went into making and presenting this class.

por Ricardo j m n

15 de may. de 2020

Great course, with very good lecturers. managed to compile so much information and keep it interesting and focused. the course is very well structured and allow to advance at our own pace. Really well done. it would be great if there are some more specific follow up courses and a bit more on arachnids.

por ECG I

21 de abr. de 2020

Excellent!!! Glad i took this course. The subject was taught slowy and all four of the tutors made themeselves very interesting to listen to. Subject was quite expansive but really worth it. Could have gone little bit more into the different species as well. Appreciate the effort of the whole team.

por Omnipresent M

5 de oct. de 2020

Thank you so much I am an aspiring entomologist (although only 13) and was finding difficulty discovering a course about insects that fit my age group as I am very passionate I had to wildly jump around things and self teach myself and it was really nice to be guided and learn a lot of new things!

por Sophia H

5 de mar. de 2021

I love this course! It has completely changed my views of insects and how important they are. This course has inspired me to explore nature and photograph as many insects I can find, and help any injured ones I can. I am striving to become an entomologists myself and help insect conservation.

por Anne-Lise D

29 de nov. de 2020

After having taken multiple online courses, this one was the richest in term of provided knowledge. Its design and creation were taken very seriously. It offers strong support orally, visually and on paper. This must have been a real job to achieve for the team: very well done and thank you!

por Nancy M

10 de mar. de 2020

Excellent course! I really enjoyed the lay out of the material and the freedom to complete each module through out an entire week. Makes it enjoyable and practical for anyone working while taking this course. The information was educational and up to date. Good Job delivering this course.

por Jessica B

2 de ene. de 2020

I was hoping to develop a understanding of the little creepie crawlies and gain some appreciation for them which I did - still not a huge fan yet more gratefull we have them. A very insightful course and nicely spread out not overwhelming to digest. Thanks to those involved. very well done

por Jennen S

20 de abr. de 2021

I went into this course terrified of most little "creepy crawlers", but find I am most fascinated with them. This course was just wonderful all around and I appreciate bugs more, I also feel much braver. Thank you for this incredible opportunity to be able to take this course for free.

por James B

25 de oct. de 2019

Excellent and in-depth summary of the many ways in which insects impact our daily lives. I found the portion of their effects on crop management both as pests and biological controls particularly exciting! Highly recommend to anyone with an interest in expanding their knowledge base.

por Caroline L

18 de ene. de 2022

Great course! Tons of information--you really get out of it what you put into it. I found the lectures easy to follow and there were plenty of opportunities for me to do a deeper dive into certain concepts that were touched on in videos but not explored in-depth. I learned a lot!

por Fran S

19 de ago. de 2019

Although I've always rather liked bugs, after having taken BUGS 101, I have a much deeper appreciation for the value of insects in my daily life and for the importance of insect life in the entire ecosystem.

The course was well-organized, well-presented, and absolutely valuable.

por Shubham K

14 de jun. de 2020

Thank you for this wonderful and informative course, I've learned a lot and i still am willing to learn more. Thanks to this course, now I'm more curious about what creeps and crawls around me and what benefits or harms it can cause and how I can manage them... Thank you....

por Nien K

6 de may. de 2021

Fantastic course, I learned so much about insects! This course gave me a whole new appreciation for the insect world. The instructors and the interviewed experts were truly inspiring in their enthusiasm and knowledge. I would definitely recommend others to take this course!

por Winnifred W

27 de jun. de 2020

This course was amazing! I recommend it to people with some background in biology. You do not just learn the benefits of insects and other arthropods. You learn how to preserve these tiny wonders. What you do not see or barely see in the wild, effects your life every day.

por Dorothy J

29 de sep. de 2019

Very informative and interesting. I liked the topics from what bugs are, to how they are managed, and then cultural aspects. It is giving me a new way to look at what is in my backyard, where if I need to do a little pest management, I don’t need to use strong pesticides.

por Mrsdsease

5 de ene. de 2021

I really love insects and it was a really informative course, very concise and well structured. The concepts were very clear and the additional material was very helpful. Congratulations to the university of Alberta, it's academics and the team that produced this videos.