Chevron Left
Volver a Build a Modern Computer from First Principles: From Nand to Tetris (Project-Centered Course)

Opiniones y comentarios de aprendices correspondientes a Build a Modern Computer from First Principles: From Nand to Tetris (Project-Centered Course) por parte de Universidad Hebrea de Jerusalén

4.9
estrellas
1,892 calificaciones
562 revisiones

Acerca del Curso

What you’ll achieve: In this project-centered course* you will build a modern computer system, from the ground up. We’ll divide this fascinating journey into six hands-on projects that will take you from constructing elementary logic gates all the way through creating a fully functioning general purpose computer. In the process, you will learn - in the most direct and constructive way - how computers work, and how they are designed. What you’ll need: This is a self-contained course: all the knowledge necessary to succeed in the course and build the computer system will be given as part of the learning experience. Therefore, we assume no previous computer science or engineering knowledge, and all learners are welcome aboard. You will need no physical materials, since you will build the computer on your own PC, using a software-based hardware simulator, just like real computers are designed by computer engineers in the field. The hardware simulator, as well as other software tools, will be supplied freely after you enroll in the course. Course format: The course consists of six modules, each comprising a series of video lectures, and a project. You will need about 2-3 hours to watch each module's lectures, and about 5-10 hours to complete each one of the six projects. The course can be completed in six weeks, but you are welcome to take it at your own pace. You can watch a TED talk about this course by Googling "nand2tetris TED talk". *About Project-Centered Courses: Project-centered courses are designed to help you complete a personally meaningful real-world project, with your instructor and a community of learners with similar goals providing guidance and suggestions along the way. By actively applying new concepts as you learn, you’ll master the course content more efficiently; you’ll also get a head start on using the skills you gain to make positive changes in your life and career. When you complete the course, you’ll have a finished project that you’ll be proud to use and share....

Principales revisiones

MM

Feb 18, 2017

An excellent course provided by phenomenal professors! Everything is broken down into simple, easily understandable portions, and leaves you with a clear idea how to proceed to solve a given problem.

RQ

Feb 15, 2017

One of the best courses I have taken on Coursera. I feel much more knowledgable about the lower-level workings of computers now. I hope at some point Coursera offers the second part of the course.

Filtrar por:

526 - 550 de 555 revisiones para Build a Modern Computer from First Principles: From Nand to Tetris (Project-Centered Course)

por Sanjeev S

Aug 18, 2016

one of the best courses one can take to understand how computers are build from ground up

The course is organized in such a way such that its very easy to understand and relate

por Edwin H

Nov 20, 2016

Fun course to take. Makes you realize how much we depend on abstraction in our world. A few notes on documentation (your own code) and version-control would complete it...

por Putcha L N R

Feb 15, 2019

It is an amazing course for people at any level!! The instructors go right from basics, until the high level stuff. Definitely recommend the course!

por R.L C

Feb 13, 2017

participation by the professors in the discussion forums , would in my opinion get this 5 star rating, overall a very innovative & fun course

por Wyler Z

Sep 24, 2017

Good, but not very challenging. If you wanted to learn you could but if you were just doing it for the grade you could skate by.

por Ehud K

Feb 02, 2017

very interesting, constructed well and in escalating difficulty level.

cons: hard to debug using the emulators

por Fabrice B M

May 31, 2017

I loved how you guys explain things and make them look very simple...that is awesome! Keep up the great work

por Lee G

Sep 08, 2017

Good course, very challenging. I find the resources to be a little bit outdated in their presentation.

por Tony Z

Jul 30, 2018

The course is well-organized. Could be too elementary for advanced participants.

por Ganapathi s

Oct 23, 2016

nice lecture to know someting about the elctronics ...thanks...

por Dhruv K

Aug 13, 2016

Really good one. Would be 5 stars if there was better support.

por Simon V

Jun 06, 2017

Great course to learn the fundamentals of a computer

por Wang G

Feb 20, 2016

Having none prerequisite is quite surprising indeed.

por Mayank N

Jul 29, 2016

Had A lot to learn from this course ... Thanks

por Alexey M

Nov 08, 2016

Very good cource, but only first part of it

por Joseph F

May 29, 2019

One of my favorite courses... period.

por Lalith b

Apr 02, 2017

I got principles of computer

por Mayank P

Aug 05, 2019

Good Course

por Sappani G

Jan 03, 2018

GOOD

por San V

Aug 11, 2018

yes

por Joseph H

Dec 22, 2019

For better or worse, this is a course designed to have the students work things out for themselves. Nearly all the non-trivial parts of the course were contained in the projects, so while the projects were interesting the video lectures were largely a waste of time. I found the hardware description language syntax difficult to pick up because there were so few real examples of how to use it. Finally, covering so much ground in six weeks inevitably means that many topics must be skipped or only briefly discussed, so if you're looking for a deep dive into digital design or computer architecture then this is not the course for you.

por Dario A

Jul 28, 2016

Very interesting course for those who want to fully understand the inner workings of a computer.

However, the utilities offered are a bit neglected. Be prepared to fight bugs on your own.

por alvaro H

Dec 03, 2019

The teacher with grey long hair talks to fast and seems like he gets nervous in front of the camera, its hard to follow what he says also because of his speed at talking and accent.

por Gercino A N J

Dec 08, 2016

The course is good. I just do not give five stars because we have to pay to atempt pass.

por Shawna C

Apr 17, 2019

The instructional videos for this class move way too quickly for a beginner. I had to use lots of other sources to even begin to understand how to do the projects. This class is not for beginners.