Chevron Left
Volver a Introduction to the Biology of Cancer

Opiniones y comentarios de aprendices correspondientes a Introduction to the Biology of Cancer por parte de Universidad Johns Hopkins

4.8
estrellas
6,420 calificaciones
1,254 reseña

Acerca del Curso

Over 500,000 people in the United States and over 8 million people worldwide are dying every year from cancer. As people live longer, the incidence of cancer is rising worldwide and the disease is expected to strike over 20 million people annually by 2030. This open course is designed for people who would like to develop an understanding of cancer and how it is prevented, diagnosed, and treated. The course introduces the molecular biology of cancer (oncogenes and tumor suppressor genes) as well as the biologic hallmarks of cancer. The course also describes the risk factors for the major cancers worldwide, including lung cancer, breast cancer, colon cancer, prostate cancer, liver cancer, and stomach cancer. We explain how cancer is staged, the major ways cancer is found by imaging, and how the major cancers are treated. In addition to the core materials, this course includes two Honors lessons devoted to cancers of the liver and prostate. Upon successful completion of this course, you will be able to: - Identify the major types of cancer worldwide. (Lecture 1) - Describe how genes contribute to the risk and growth of cancer. (Lecture 2) - List and describe the ten cellular hallmarks of cancer. (Lecture 3) - Define metastasis, and identify the major steps in the metastatic process. (Lecture 4) - Describe the role of imaging in the screening, diagnosis, staging, and treatments of cancer. (Lecture 5) - Explain how cancer is treated. (Lecture 6) We hope that this course gives you a basic understanding of cancer biology and treatment. The course is not designed for patients seeking treatment guidance – but it can help you understand how cancer develops and provides a framework for understanding cancer diagnosis and treatment....

Principales reseñas

AH

17 de mar. de 2017

I am an Undergraduate student and i didnt even read oncology subject, but this course not just start the beginer level , butt gradually it goes in depth and the flow of lectuures and topics is smooth

AS

15 de oct. de 2021

A didática do curso é excelente, os docentes conseguem, em poucos minutos, explicar diversos assuntos de forma simples. Além disso, o conteúdo é super completo e corresponde a todas as expectativas.

Filtrar por:

76 - 100 de 1,243 revisiones para Introduction to the Biology of Cancer

por Lana K

3 de sep. de 2021

Thank you very much for the valuable information you delivered to us throughout this course. It's been a highly beneficial and interesting course that I enjoyed every lecture and every minute of it. Also, this course enhanced my critical thinking and helped me find out what are the exact research interests that I'm going to focus on in my future graduate studies.

por BRAIZON Q G E A *

29 de oct. de 2020

Este curso contiene información muy precisa e interesante acerca de muchos aspectos moleculares del cáncer y como se tratan los diferentes tipos de canceres en la actualidad. considero que es un muy buen curso para aquellas personas que desean iniciar una carrera investigativa relacionada con el cáncer ya sea en el área de la salud o de las ciencias biológicas

por Letícia C C d S

18 de jul. de 2020

Um curso maravilhoso. Tive a oportunidade de revisar algumas informações e aprender bastante sobre o tema. Os professores que lecionam o curso são muito bons, tudo é dado de forma simples e direta, sendo fácil entender e não ficando cansativo. Adquiri um grande conhecimento e espero que isso possa fazer a diferença em minhas futuras pesquisas. Adorei.

por Sarah S

11 de abr. de 2017

I work for a worldwide cancer research charity and found the course to be an excellent, challenging introduction to cancer biology. I particularly liked the fact that the course pointed towards some of the major questions that researchers are working around the clock answer, and that core materials were supplemented with examples of current research.

por Lora M

2 de mar. de 2021

An excellent introduction to cancer course for students who have a general understanding of science. Some concepts (names of drugs, cell types & cellular processes) can be challenging for those who do not have a science background. Overall- this course provided outstanding information about cancer as it relates to types, diagnosis, and treatment.

por Dipto K S

30 de abr. de 2020

This is an important topic now a days.In this course I have learned some types of cancer, which gene is responsible for cancer, how many people in the world are suffering from cancer, what is the treatment of cancer and known some chemotherapy. I hope this course will help me in future. And i thank to the instructor to help me in this course.

por laura r

15 de dic. de 2016

Great Course, was literally hooked as content was very informative and well structured. Not too overwhelming with massive information. This is a brief but effective intro to cancer - however if you are not from a medical background you do have to do some background reading to understand pathways and functions of sub cellular components.

por Abija J

20 de ago. de 2020

This course is really simple and it is designed in such a manner that somebody from not a biology background can also understand the concepts very well..it was a great opportunity for me to learn about a subject in which I am planning to pursue my research work..thanks a lot to the professors of this course as well as the organisers..

por Anushree D

13 de dic. de 2020

I feel honored to complete this course under the guidance of Johns Hopkins University. I express my gratitude towards all the expert mentors for acknowledging me with this developing issue in the medical stream and broadening my spectrum towards accepting cancer as a challenge. Looking forward for many new courses regarding the same!

por Todd L

28 de dic. de 2020

This course educated me to a much higher level in cancer biology. I would recommend this course to anyone, that wants to gain said knowledge. Thank You, all instructors, and others, for putting this course together. I'm a master beekeeper, University of Montana, bee sting therapist, Pollinator Champion, Michigan State University,

por SHARNALI A

3 de sep. de 2020

This course was informative, yet not too overflowing with information which can leave the learners confused. This is a perfect course for anyone who wants to get basic yet sufficient knowledge on cancer biology in order to pursue a career in research on cancers. I am glad I took this course during the lock-down. Highly recommended.

por Adekunle S

29 de jul. de 2020

I learnt a lot from this course. The docs. and profs. made the modules so basic and understandable to those that are new to the idea of cancer biology. I'm a biochemistry student at the university and I hope to continue in cancer research in my postgrad studies. This course was a stepping stone for sure. I appreciate the exposure.

por Jennifer E

11 de may. de 2017

I took the course as I recently obtained a new career as a clinical research coordinator on an oncology unit. As a nurse, I have had no experience in oncology other than the short time in nursing school. This was a wonderful refresher and will make a tremendous difference in my transition to my new role as a nurse in oncology.

por Ricardo A T Z

8 de ene. de 2022

A very complete journey into the knowledge and outcomes of cancer. Perfect for everyone starting out.

Not only for beginners but also for all the students and professionals seeking to understand more about cancer from biology to treatment, this course carries you all the way in a perfectly simple and yet well-explained way.

por nadeem r

10 de oct. de 2019

I was very informative to me. I learn different kind of cancer and there treatment, I came to know that what are drawback of cancer. If we dose not dignose it at time it can be a very dangerous and can effect almost all part of body . Thanks very much to my all faculty whose teach me very well . God bless you all . Thanks

por Pavithra K

9 de jul. de 2016

I was working at a lab last summer where I worked on breast cancer cells. A lot of the signalling pathways taught as examples in this course is what I worked on. I loved this course. The Professors are fantastic and very knowledgeable. I would recommend this course for anyone who is very passionate about cancer biology.

por Andrew P

5 de feb. de 2017

This course is awesome. As a current research technologist in this field, this course gives me great knowledge of cancer. I recommend anyone who is interested in this field. However, this course by itself won't give you everything. It is a course where you want to begin with if you want to begin a career of this field.

por Vita S

20 de sep. de 2016

It is quite informative and useful course for begginers. I'm working with clinical trials, so I know so many cases, so many details, but this course has made a basement for my building.

Thank you! Highly recommended for those, who know smth, but want to make all knowledge in order and prepare your 'brain shelves'

por Vignesh A K

30 de jul. de 2020

This was a very informative course and I learnt a lot about cancer doing this course. The instructors were clear, precise and at the right pace. A big thanks to all the instructors. The only feedback that I have is that the quizzes could be made a mit more complex to test the knowledge gained by the students.

por Matheus H T

10 de abr. de 2020

Muito interessante para profissionais que tenham algum envolvimento e queiram se aprofundar um pouco mais nesta área, seja para fins acadêmicos ou para conhecimento pessoal. É extremamente didático e de fácil compreensão até mesmo em questões altamente teóricas, o que contribui para sua já estimada excelência

por Tom R M M

22 de oct. de 2016

Thanks so much! Professor Kenneth Pienta and your team, you are so well prepared and the presentation is empowering. One is able to follow the step by step flow of information and tips. I enjoyed this course. As a health educator/promoter, it helps me act as a good source of information. Thank you once again.

por JULIANA S

27 de oct. de 2020

One of the best courses I have taken at Coursera so far. I enjoyed every minute of it. This course helped me to learn the biological mechanism of cancer and how it behaves in each organ it is present. I definitely recommend this course to anyone who wishes to have a deeper and better understanding of cancer.

por José C C R

3 de ene. de 2020

A great course with very interesting subjects related to origin of metastasis and how it currently affects comprehension of cancer and its spreading through human body. At the same time, teachers are capable of teaching these topics with relatively easiness, so that one can learn even without noticing it.

por Luis A R R

18 de jul. de 2020

Muchas felicitaciones al equipo que estuvo detras de este gran curso, aprendi mucho sobre la biologia del cancer y su tratamiento, espero se encuentren nuevas formas de poder erradicar canceres metastasicos que trae consigo muchas muertes y poder alargar el tiempo de vida de las personas. Felicidades !!

por Anna R

11 de mar. de 2018

A great course, very basic though. I haven't purchased a certificate as i only wanted to get familiar with the topic. Biology of cancer is very interesting to me but absolutely useless in my job)

So this course is absolutely designed for me - there is all important information given in a very simple way.