Chevron Left
Volver a Introduction to the Biology of Cancer

Opiniones y comentarios de aprendices correspondientes a Introduction to the Biology of Cancer por parte de Universidad Johns Hopkins

4.8
estrellas
6,376 calificaciones
1,246 reseña

Acerca del Curso

Over 500,000 people in the United States and over 8 million people worldwide are dying every year from cancer. As people live longer, the incidence of cancer is rising worldwide and the disease is expected to strike over 20 million people annually by 2030. This open course is designed for people who would like to develop an understanding of cancer and how it is prevented, diagnosed, and treated. The course introduces the molecular biology of cancer (oncogenes and tumor suppressor genes) as well as the biologic hallmarks of cancer. The course also describes the risk factors for the major cancers worldwide, including lung cancer, breast cancer, colon cancer, prostate cancer, liver cancer, and stomach cancer. We explain how cancer is staged, the major ways cancer is found by imaging, and how the major cancers are treated. In addition to the core materials, this course includes two Honors lessons devoted to cancers of the liver and prostate. Upon successful completion of this course, you will be able to: - Identify the major types of cancer worldwide. (Lecture 1) - Describe how genes contribute to the risk and growth of cancer. (Lecture 2) - List and describe the ten cellular hallmarks of cancer. (Lecture 3) - Define metastasis, and identify the major steps in the metastatic process. (Lecture 4) - Describe the role of imaging in the screening, diagnosis, staging, and treatments of cancer. (Lecture 5) - Explain how cancer is treated. (Lecture 6) We hope that this course gives you a basic understanding of cancer biology and treatment. The course is not designed for patients seeking treatment guidance – but it can help you understand how cancer develops and provides a framework for understanding cancer diagnosis and treatment....

Principales reseñas

AH

17 de mar. de 2017

I am an Undergraduate student and i didnt even read oncology subject, but this course not just start the beginer level , butt gradually it goes in depth and the flow of lectuures and topics is smooth

AS

15 de oct. de 2021

A didática do curso é excelente, os docentes conseguem, em poucos minutos, explicar diversos assuntos de forma simples. Além disso, o conteúdo é super completo e corresponde a todas as expectativas.

Filtrar por:

1101 - 1125 de 1,234 revisiones para Introduction to the Biology of Cancer

por Anna W C

1 de jul. de 2020

Pretty good, shorter than some other courses I've taken. I think it should be spiced up more because I almost fell asleep once and that the quizzes should be more difficult but other than that, great course.

por Nicole M

16 de ago. de 2016

I think this was a very good course and I definitely got out of it what I expected. I think anyone interested in advancing their knowledge on the general basics of cancer, this is a good place to start.

por Ishak Z

30 de may. de 2020

I benefited hugely from this course although I don't have background in clinical practice. The introduction to Medical imagery was a little bit challenging for me, It could've been further simplified.

por Rebal N

11 de feb. de 2020

i enjoyed the information gthat i have learned in this course. however, I already learnt the majority of these information i my university. hope that there is more detailed course about cancer

por Alaa H B E

21 de may. de 2020

Very interesting course for one have to be a good fighters against cancer ,first step and be strong , I hope in future give more about genetic of cancer.

Thank you very much.

por Martina S

18 de oct. de 2019

Thank you, it was a nice course, my first coursera. I find lectures quite general but definitely interesting. Good starting material. There is always space for improvement :)

por Amy C

13 de abr. de 2018

Good basic introduction to cancer biology, some of the information was a little dry but all in all worthwhile. Some prior knowledge of basic biological concepts needed.

por Jose A d A R

8 de ene. de 2021

Content is tailored to the general audience but a some lectures are spoken at a very high pace, which I though made it a bit difficult to catch all the information.

por Roberto L D

8 de abr. de 2017

It was a great course form my favorite university, thanks very much for giving us this types of courses, I would like to be tested as a free course, but I coudn't

por Dr. A B

22 de oct. de 2019

This is a great course for those interested in gaining more basic clarity on this topic. I would recommend it to all with a need for more information on Cancer.

por Helen L

31 de jul. de 2017

If there is a more detail description about that different kind of the six most common cancers that would be great. The 10 hallmarks of cancers are very useful.

por stephanie a

18 de jun. de 2020

very good and insightful course.it has helped me a lot to gain understanding of basics in cancer biology even though i am an undergraduate biochemistry student.

por Matthew B

13 de jul. de 2020

The information in this course is great. I only wish the assessments were more comprehensive and challenging to test your true understanding of the material.

por Ranim A Z

13 de may. de 2020

screening and treatment parts were hard for me because I'm not a specialist, yet the course is a perfect introduction for non-specialized interested people

por James R

16 de nov. de 2020

This course is a great introduction to the disease of cancer. An update to this course would be wonderful as it was completed in 2016. Very interesting.

por Sudarson B

17 de nov. de 2019

It is a basic course to get you interested in the field of cancer biology. Suitable for undergrads and above. The course delivered on what they promised.

por Alexander J S

14 de sep. de 2019

I did a module, just like this during my undergraduate days. Whilst I found it quite basic and just a refresher, the content is well presented and clear.

por Khin S O

23 de nov. de 2016

This is very interesting course of basic of cancelling pathway and the biology of cancer that can fundamental to the study of research of cancer. Thanks.

por Humera S

23 de jun. de 2019

It was very interesting. but the recent critiques of cancer Hallmarks and theories related to cancer heterogeneity should be included

por Ummi C

16 de ago. de 2016

The class was clear and concise. I was hoping to get more challenge and in depth explanation but it is indeed an introductory class.

por Aditya A D

2 de abr. de 2020

Tougher assignments and a final exam consisting of dummy experimental data to test the knowledge of the students would be welcome!

por Deleted A

9 de jul. de 2017

Its a good course that outlines the basics of cancer biology. Highly recommended for anyone interested in understanding cancer.

por Syed S A

23 de ago. de 2020

Should have two separate modules. from Week 5.

One for MBBS students and technologists. One for Higher Academicians

por Dr. S C

16 de mar. de 2022

Excellent. All the speakers have very nicely elobarated concept of cancer biology. It was a very good experience

por Kazi T

2 de feb. de 2019

Some content could be a little more informative and rigorous. "Intro" essentially meant seeing the surface only.