Chevron Left
Volver a Introduction to the Biology of Cancer

Opiniones y comentarios de aprendices correspondientes a Introduction to the Biology of Cancer por parte de Universidad Johns Hopkins

4.8
estrellas
6,421 calificaciones
1,254 reseña

Acerca del Curso

Over 500,000 people in the United States and over 8 million people worldwide are dying every year from cancer. As people live longer, the incidence of cancer is rising worldwide and the disease is expected to strike over 20 million people annually by 2030. This open course is designed for people who would like to develop an understanding of cancer and how it is prevented, diagnosed, and treated. The course introduces the molecular biology of cancer (oncogenes and tumor suppressor genes) as well as the biologic hallmarks of cancer. The course also describes the risk factors for the major cancers worldwide, including lung cancer, breast cancer, colon cancer, prostate cancer, liver cancer, and stomach cancer. We explain how cancer is staged, the major ways cancer is found by imaging, and how the major cancers are treated. In addition to the core materials, this course includes two Honors lessons devoted to cancers of the liver and prostate. Upon successful completion of this course, you will be able to: - Identify the major types of cancer worldwide. (Lecture 1) - Describe how genes contribute to the risk and growth of cancer. (Lecture 2) - List and describe the ten cellular hallmarks of cancer. (Lecture 3) - Define metastasis, and identify the major steps in the metastatic process. (Lecture 4) - Describe the role of imaging in the screening, diagnosis, staging, and treatments of cancer. (Lecture 5) - Explain how cancer is treated. (Lecture 6) We hope that this course gives you a basic understanding of cancer biology and treatment. The course is not designed for patients seeking treatment guidance – but it can help you understand how cancer develops and provides a framework for understanding cancer diagnosis and treatment....

Principales reseñas

AH

17 de mar. de 2017

I am an Undergraduate student and i didnt even read oncology subject, but this course not just start the beginer level , butt gradually it goes in depth and the flow of lectuures and topics is smooth

SI

13 de ene. de 2022

A beautifully structured course with highly valuable information explained with great detail in a simplified manner. Highly recommended for anyone interested to gain overall understanding of Cancer.

Filtrar por:

151 - 175 de 1,243 revisiones para Introduction to the Biology of Cancer

por KOH J Y

31 de jul. de 2020

very informative and well made slides, easy to follow and the content is really interesting! i had engaged learning throughout with the mini quizzes at the end of each video to recap certain key points. highly recommended!

por Marcus D

12 de ene. de 2017

Wonderful course, lots of information. Dr. Pienta is an excellent teacher. Thanks also to his staff and lab assistants for helping to create such a well-designed program. I will definitely recommend this course to others!

por Andrea M

12 de jun. de 2016

Thank you for the course. I am looking forward for even more detailed lectures about each specific cancer types, from the molecular mechanisms involved in transformation and progression, to treatment and patient manageme

por Vinicius A

7 de dic. de 2020

A very good introduction course, I've already started reading some books about cancer and thanks for this course I can understand it better! I'm really excited to study more about it and join the fight against cancer!!!

por Sherianne T Y T

24 de jun. de 2020

A good introduction to cancer biology which is suitable for beginners. Even though I have some background knowledge on the molecular basis of cancer, I still learnt a lot about imagining and treatment of common cancers.

por STAY A B C

17 de jun. de 2020

AMAZING TEACHING BY THE TEACHERS AND THE CONTENT TAUGHT IN THE COURSE IS REALLY GOOD. IT IS TAUGHT IN A INTERSERTING FASHION AND ALSO HAS SOME FEATURES WHICH MAKES IT STAND OUT. IT PROVIDES A NICE LEARNING EXPERIENCE.

por Abdul K

28 de abr. de 2020

So impressive gave me each and every fine detail of cancer,I very glad that I joined this course and I have learned about Cancer and I got to know that how cancer can effect the body also the changes in the body

Thanks

por Yiwen Z

16 de feb. de 2020

Very informative and educational for beginners. As a chemist working in pharmaceutical industry, I always wanted to learn some background knowledge about cancer biology. This is the course of choice for any newbies.

por hiranmayi d s r

18 de may. de 2020

I am beyond satisfied with the course that was provided. The subject was in-depth enough to understand the subject and develop a passion for doing further studies in cancer biology. The teaching was really great.

por Emily E

12 de mar. de 2019

Excellent course! Breaks concepts down into easily understood terms while still bringing the true technical components of oncology care. Very helpful! I will be looking out for more courses just like this one.

por Mehmet F T

30 de oct. de 2020

I learned many topics related to cancer such as what cancer is, why it occurs, how it is biology, how we can prevent it, how we can cure it. I think it is really understandable and useful. Thank you everyone.

por Amanda D

26 de jul. de 2020

Amazing course! The professors were all so knowledgeable and explained everything so well. I truly walked away with a much better understanding of cancer and cannot wait to use this information in the future!

por Hassnain Q

17 de jul. de 2017

The course provided me a broader knowledge in the field of cancer biology. It also allowed me to explore the various aspects of cancer biology through different resources that were available for the students.

por BHASKAR S

30 de jul. de 2019

This course is extremely valuable for the beginners and also helps you to acquire a basic knowledge of cancer biology. This course is interesting as well as it gives a boost to your career in cancer biology.

por Siomara E

4 de feb. de 2018

I took this course, because my mother was just diagnosed with Colon Cancer. Although this news was not easy I just want to be more knowledgeable about this "disease" and educate myself a little. Thank you.

por Lidemarie v d W

5 de mar. de 2017

Excellent course. Introduction to cancer at a general biological and pathofysiology level, as well as specifically in terms of risk factors, diagnosis, and treatment of the six most common types of cancer.

por Natalie B

8 de ago. de 2017

Absolutely fascinating. I enjoyed every lecture and really did learn a lot. The course was engaging and was easy enough to understand, but difficult enough that I felt a real accomplishment when I passed!

por mariana m a

8 de dic. de 2020

The most amazing course I have been attend ,thanks for all staff ,this course is highly recommend,and I have inquiry ,I need course entitled by breast cancer can the all staff help me for this course ?

por Daniel S d S

23 de jun. de 2020

Sensational course !!! It redirected me to the future specialization in pharmacotherapy of antineoplasic. I only have to thank the professionals involved in the teaching of classes and engaging tests.

por OOI L Y

8 de may. de 2021

The content are arranged in systematic ways make it very easy to understand. Besides that, the content are very comprehensive and provide important information related to most common cancer in world.

por Can D

30 de ago. de 2020

I took 8 courses in coursera yet and I can say this course was so far the best one. Very informative, not boring spoken, very interesting. Thank you for your work. I appreciate it from my heart.

por Katia J

27 de jun. de 2020

A well sructured course with a lot of useful information. Gives you a good basic understanding of cancer, answers many questions. I,ll bw looking forwars to a more advanced course on this topic!

por Angélique C B J

20 de ago. de 2018

Very interesting and useful information for non-specialists interested in this field

Understanding is reachable even without scientific background but with a keen interest in medicine and cancers

por Garima K S

2 de abr. de 2022

Great introductory course for students and researchers interested in the field of cancer. Thanks a lot to Coursera and instructors from JHU med school to put it together. Highly recommended!

por Cor R

7 de abr. de 2020

Adequate introduction to the theme. If, however, you have any experience in oncology already, it is not advisable to attend this course since it discusses only the fundamentals of oncology.