Chevron Left
Volver a Introduction to the Biology of Cancer

Opiniones y comentarios de aprendices correspondientes a Introduction to the Biology of Cancer por parte de Universidad Johns Hopkins

4.8
estrellas
3,100 calificaciones
650 revisiones

Acerca del Curso

Over 500,000 people in the United States and over 8 million people worldwide are dying every year from cancer. As people live longer, the incidence of cancer is rising worldwide and the disease is expected to strike over 20 million people annually by 2030. This open course is designed for people who would like to develop an understanding of cancer and how it is prevented, diagnosed, and treated. The course introduces the molecular biology of cancer (oncogenes and tumor suppressor genes) as well as the biologic hallmarks of cancer. The course also describes the risk factors for the major cancers worldwide, including lung cancer, breast cancer, colon cancer, prostate cancer, liver cancer, and stomach cancer. We explain how cancer is staged, the major ways cancer is found by imaging, and how the major cancers are treated. In addition to the core materials, this course includes two Honors lessons devoted to cancers of the liver and prostate. Upon successful completion of this course, you will be able to: - Identify the major types of cancer worldwide. (Lecture 1) - Describe how genes contribute to the risk and growth of cancer. (Lecture 2) - List and describe the ten cellular hallmarks of cancer. (Lecture 3) - Define metastasis, and identify the major steps in the metastatic process. (Lecture 4) - Describe the role of imaging in the screening, diagnosis, staging, and treatments of cancer. (Lecture 5) - Explain how cancer is treated. (Lecture 6) We hope that this course gives you a basic understanding of cancer biology and treatment. The course is not designed for patients seeking treatment guidance – but it can help you understand how cancer develops and provides a framework for understanding cancer diagnosis and treatment....

Principales revisiones

AH

Mar 18, 2017

I am an Undergraduate student and i didnt even read oncology subject, but this course not just start the beginer level , butt gradually it goes in depth and the flow of lectuures and topics is smooth

SS

Apr 12, 2019

Thanks a lot, Dr. Kenneth; the course has been very informative and mind-opening--it has also whetted my appetite to learn more about the topic.\n\nThanks and best of regards in your endeavours!

Filtrar por:

151 - 175 de 641 revisiones para Introduction to the Biology of Cancer

por Levan C

Jul 07, 2017

Very nice introduction reviwing all common theories of cancer development, metastasis. All common cancers and therapies were also reviewed.

por Lucy P

Mar 03, 2018

Very informative on the basics of cancer biology and treatment. If you already know about cell biology most of this course will be easy.

por Pau G R

Feb 21, 2020

Me ha parecido muy didáctico y muy útil para comprender mejor lo que es el cáncer, la metástasis y como podemos tratar esta enfermedad.

por Joanna K

Feb 06, 2017

Great explanation of basics of cancer biology. It helped me a lot in understanding of the process of metastasis and cancer development.

por Alvina L

Aug 27, 2017

Informative, in-depth and engaging. I enjoyed the use of a visual presentation as it allowed me to process the new information easily.

por Lalita K

Jul 06, 2017

I enjoyed the course. I wish it had been more in-depth in certain areas but I understand that there are extensions to various topics.

por Antonius B

Jul 16, 2017

Very very interesting and well explained. I can recommend this course to everybody who wants to get an easy introduction to oncology!

por Amritha M V

Feb 27, 2019

Loved it! I learned a lot more regarding this field and it has totally encouraged me to continue with my passion of cancer research.

por Teton A

Oct 20, 2019

Truly academic, very suitable for newcomers to oncology research. Provide necessary background knowledge for the field of research.

por 이소희

Oct 10, 2019

The course was very nice and I get information about the cancer very easily. I really recommend this course to someone who wants to

por LAKSHMI V

Mar 12, 2020

This course was truly amazing and i enjoyed learning every minute of it. The concepts were very intriguing and beautifully taught.

por Priyanka R

Feb 07, 2019

Being a medical graduate I can say that the topic was explained in a very effective manner, with an organized flow of information.

por Renugadevi K

May 04, 2020

it was really interesting to listen to your videos. ur videos are easy to understand for the beginners and with much information

por Deleted A

Aug 20, 2017

I especially enjoyed learning about the treatment of cancer (week 6) and the statistics related to cancer occurrence and death.

por Chung M C

Jan 01, 2017

It is my first on line coursera course and I liked it very much. Its a very good opportunity to review and learn about cancer.

por Isabella R

May 18, 2020

Ive learned so much from this course, I totally recommend it to anyone that is interested in biology or cancer staging/cells!

por Kaunda W

Feb 16, 2020

Terrific overview! Great for individuals who are interested in the science of cancer, it’s biology and possible treatments.

por Feather I

Oct 01, 2016

Great information. Excellent course that has left me wanting to know more and be a part of expanding treatments. Thank you!

por NKOSINGIPHILE T

Jul 25, 2019

Good course indeed. I enjoyed the learning. I have learned so much in the course. Thanks a lot Coursera and Prof Pienta.

por Akemi H S M

Aug 29, 2018

Muy bueno para adquirir un panorama general. Y tiene puntos que despiertan el interés para investigar de forma individual.

por Paula F R S

May 21, 2020

Wonderful course, I was able to learn a lot about the biology of cancer. I have a broad and wonderful view of the course.

por SARIDEVI S

May 19, 2020

The lectures and the quiz after every lecture are very helpful to attend the quiz. I really enjoyed learning this course

por Irene K L .

May 02, 2020

Very interesting and made me learn more. Dr. Ken Pienta was really an inspiration to me. Thanks for issuing this course.

por Caline A d B

Apr 22, 2020

simples e efetivo em informações, dando uma base para avançar nos estudos e desenvolver conhecimento mais aprofundados!

por Halima A M S A

Apr 20, 2020

A very well prepared course material. It cover the key knowledge about cancer. I enjoyed it and I learned a lot. Thanks