Chevron Left
Volver a The Truth About Cats and Dogs

Opiniones y comentarios de aprendices correspondientes a The Truth About Cats and Dogs por parte de Universidad de Edimburgo

4.8
estrellas
2,070 calificaciones
585 reseña

Acerca del Curso

What is your cat revealing to you when she purrs? What is your dog expressing when he yawns or wags his tail? Understanding your cat and dog’s behaviour and the way they communicate with you, will enable you to better understand their needs and strengthen your relationship with them. This MOOC is divided into five topics, the appliance of science; behaviour and body language, senses and perception; challenges for the human-animal relationship, including pet problem behaviour; and how to improve the quality of life for cats and dogs in our care. At the start of the course we ask you to consider what you feel is important to your cat/dog and what your cat/dog means to you? We explore the world of cats and dogs and how our relationships with them vary around the world and have changed over time. We ask if we can really know what our animals are thinking or trying to communicate through their facial expressions and behaviours. From our beloved pets to street dogs, shelter dogs/cats and welfare challenges, we explore the world from their perspective and examine how their genetic make-up may influence their behavioural responses and choices. We dispel common behavioural myths by looking through a scientific lens, asking questions about the function and development of their behaviour.. We explore how their senses help them to interact with their world and how they communicate with each other and us! Finally, we ask whether we impose unrealistic expectations on our cats and dogs and how this affects their ability to live alongside us. We ask, what can we do to be more responsible pet owners and to ensure the welfare of all cats and dogs in society? This MOOC explores different scientifically validated methods that can help you to better understand your pet, to enrich their lives and help you to be a more educated and confident pet owner. We hope you enjoy the course!...

Principales reseñas

HR

26 de mar. de 2020

I learned so much about how to decrease stress for my pets and increase their happiness. I also learned how to better communicate with them. Thank you for helping improve my pets quality of life!

LD

5 de abr. de 2020

I really enjoyed taking this course. The lectures were very informative and I learned a lot from this course. I definitely recommend this course for anyone who is interested in dogs and cats. :)

Filtrar por:

551 - 575 de 585 revisiones para The Truth About Cats and Dogs

por Desmond O

13 de dic. de 2018

Very interesting course and well informed and enthusiastic tutors.

por Diana C

12 de ago. de 2020

very informative and would consider retake it in near future!

por Megan Y

29 de abr. de 2017

This course was good. It was great to refresh knowledge.

por Wk W

29 de jun. de 2020

Very informative course with good videos and delivery!

por Maria L

24 de abr. de 2017

Very good course, especially for the (new) pet owner!

por Veronica S

25 de jun. de 2020

Basic information, but still useful.

por Ricardo P

18 de nov. de 2020

I have 100% time for cat facts. <3

por prajakta J

20 de jun. de 2020

like the course,.

very informative.

por maryanne e

5 de oct. de 2020

great course! really enjoyed it!

por Vladimir R

29 de oct. de 2020

The best of the themes.

por Richard K

26 de may. de 2017

Nice overview

por Noureddine I

24 de abr. de 2022

very useful

por Anne b

26 de jun. de 2018

Interesting

por Julio C N P

23 de may. de 2017

thanks

por Andreea T

11 de nov. de 2020

The course was informative but at times it felt like i wasn't learning that much and that much of the information could be foudn online on specific animal organisation websites. Would've been nice to have extra research on cats and dogs and more information on diseases, different breeds, how to show you animal you love them etc. Feels like these were mentioned but just touched on rather than explored in detail. Still helpful though so thanks for the effort put into making this come together!

por harshit s

19 de mar. de 2018

i came here after putting aside my firm belief in the alpha theory as far the dogs are concerned, totally fresh minded, zero ground. And i have to say i do agree on a lot of things discussed here. I knew nothing about cats, so this was a largely beneficial course in that field. There is a lot of information in this course on the nature of cats (loved those portions). Dog portion of the course is good, but not the best. Thanks a bundle for this!

por Jasmine K

26 de sep. de 2020

The topics can be rather boring and very directed towards UK residents. It had little information that was useful for anyone outside of the UK when it came to resources. Most of the information was basic info all pet owners should know before getting a pet. If that is what you want this is the right course. If you want to learn about pet behavior and proper training this is not the course.

por Valérie O

22 de ene. de 2020

module très intéressant mais parfois contradictoire sur le bien être animal (dressage/éducation) beaucoup de confusion cela vient peut etre de la traduction en français n'est pas très bonne.

por Nikkole P

21 de abr. de 2020

very interesting, learned a lot of important things, but the course was not very challenging. I was able to complete the course in one day.

por Kate C

23 de abr. de 2017

The content was inconsistently delivered and the topics disorganized. The content was excellent, although a bit repetitive at the end.

por Sarah J H

1 de may. de 2020

Overall good introductory course. Some information was repetitive and didn't have as much substance as I was hoping for.

por DEBOLINA C

11 de sep. de 2018

Good course content but a bit repetitive at times. Nat, Heather and Hayley are amazing!

por Vicki H

25 de ago. de 2018

A few bits of new information, but much of this course was already known and practiced.

por Roslyn M

2 de feb. de 2019

Some interesting information, but most of it was very basic.