Chevron Left
Volver a The Truth About Cats and Dogs

Opiniones y comentarios de aprendices correspondientes a The Truth About Cats and Dogs por parte de Universidad de Edimburgo

4.8
estrellas
2,059 calificaciones
582 reseña

Acerca del Curso

What is your cat revealing to you when she purrs? What is your dog expressing when he yawns or wags his tail? Understanding your cat and dog’s behaviour and the way they communicate with you, will enable you to better understand their needs and strengthen your relationship with them. This MOOC is divided into five topics, the appliance of science; behaviour and body language, senses and perception; challenges for the human-animal relationship, including pet problem behaviour; and how to improve the quality of life for cats and dogs in our care. At the start of the course we ask you to consider what you feel is important to your cat/dog and what your cat/dog means to you? We explore the world of cats and dogs and how our relationships with them vary around the world and have changed over time. We ask if we can really know what our animals are thinking or trying to communicate through their facial expressions and behaviours. From our beloved pets to street dogs, shelter dogs/cats and welfare challenges, we explore the world from their perspective and examine how their genetic make-up may influence their behavioural responses and choices. We dispel common behavioural myths by looking through a scientific lens, asking questions about the function and development of their behaviour.. We explore how their senses help them to interact with their world and how they communicate with each other and us! Finally, we ask whether we impose unrealistic expectations on our cats and dogs and how this affects their ability to live alongside us. We ask, what can we do to be more responsible pet owners and to ensure the welfare of all cats and dogs in society? This MOOC explores different scientifically validated methods that can help you to better understand your pet, to enrich their lives and help you to be a more educated and confident pet owner. We hope you enjoy the course!...

Principales reseñas

HR

26 de mar. de 2020

I learned so much about how to decrease stress for my pets and increase their happiness. I also learned how to better communicate with them. Thank you for helping improve my pets quality of life!

AG

7 de oct. de 2020

This course is a very good overview for people beginning their studies of dogs and cats. Pertinent videos and additional resource suggestions provide further opportunities to study more details.

Filtrar por:

126 - 150 de 582 revisiones para The Truth About Cats and Dogs

por Melinda M

2 de jul. de 2019

This course was informative on many street and pet dogs and cats. I do want to know more about the shelter element of how these animals can be better suited in a shelter environment.

por Karen R

14 de may. de 2022

really interesting and full of useful information and tips. What I'd love to see is a course dedicated to rescue dogs - especially ones that have been mistreated or not socialized

por Monika R

31 de oct. de 2020

Thank you for this course. I helped me to extend my knowledge on cats and dogs in a very nice and friendly way. I will recommend it to any English-speaking cat or dog owner I know.

por Maria E G S

17 de oct. de 2020

Thank you Coursera and University of Edinburgh for this course! I really appreciated all the efforts everyone made to make this course enjoyable. I've learned a lot as a pet owner.

por Julia K

15 de oct. de 2017

Thank you! I do enjoyed this course. I got a lot of new information about cats stress, dogs and cats welfare. I will use this knowledge with my pets and in my dogtraining practice.

por Sharon H I

29 de nov. de 2017

I think this course should be a requirement for anyone thinking of adopting a pet. I've been around animals all my life and I still learnt a number of new things from this course!

por NADINE M S

19 de sep. de 2020

Excellent content. Full of scientifically-based advice for those who really care about their pets. This course should be compulsory for all prospective and current pet owners.

por Λίντα Ε Μ

5 de feb. de 2021

This course is really very helpful and interesting because learn us a lot about cats and dogs and how to take care of our pets, the best ways for their wellbeing and happiness!

por ANA K C L

10 de sep. de 2020

Es un curso muy básico, sin embargo aprendes mucho y te ayuda a entender más a los animales y saber como tratarlos y corregirlos de una manera correcta preservando su bienestar

por Somya A

16 de may. de 2020

I enjoyed every reading every video. I love pets and i want to know everything about them and teachers help me to know about them. I am thankful to whole team of this MOOC.

por Órlaith 0

30 de ene. de 2021

Great, informative, although there is a little bit of repetition if you’ve completed the other MOOCs by University of Edinburgh, particularly the course on Animal Welfare.

por Fahim Z

11 de ene. de 2021

This was quite an eye-opening experience! I will definitely recommend this course to others. The course instructors were really great as well in conveying their message.

por Larisa R

28 de feb. de 2018

I am happy that studied this course. I got lots of important information about cats and dogs. As a owner of cat, I found this course is very useful. Thank you so much!

por Jeanne C

25 de jun. de 2017

I loved this course and only wish more people could take it and learn about the different characteristics and needs of dogs and cats before they rush out and get one.

por María D D C

15 de jul. de 2021

​Great course , I like it very much and learn a lot about tbe behavior of cats and dogs how to made each other live happier , healthier and improving their welfare

por Halan J G

19 de may. de 2020

We need more courses like this, to have the opportunity to understand more about our companions, our pets, to enhance they welfare and our relationships. Thank you!

por Sara F F J G

2 de may. de 2020

Thank you. The course exceeded my expectations, I really liked your approaches to various problems, I learned a lot and solidified other knowledge. Congratulations!

por Inês M M M

25 de sep. de 2020

Super informative, simple and trully important information! To all pet owners and specially to all the pet owners to be in the world! I liked it a lot. Recommend!

por Susthira A

9 de jun. de 2017

this course is very helpful to encourage me as a vet and as an pet owner to more understand my patients and my dogs' behaviour and their acts. thank you so much!

por Melania G

5 de jun. de 2017

This was such an intersting and owner-friendly course. I an a vet and I highly recommend it to allvpet lovers, pet owners or people that work with cats and dogs.

por Rina M C ( P

16 de ago. de 2020

The course has open my eyes and gives me deep understanding on cats and dogs behaviour and raises my awareness on how i should fulfill their five welfare needs.

por Liew W Y

11 de jun. de 2020

The course programme is nicely paced and covers the fundamentals which are definitely helpful for anyone who are interested in basic knowledge of cats and dogs.

por Sabita R

9 de abr. de 2020

The emphasis is on wellbeing of the pets, changing our views as human 'masters', and I appreciate that! It's not about us humans, its about them cats and dogs!

por Kirsten L

15 de jun. de 2020

Such an informative and interesting course, I really enjoyed it and can't wait to apply it to my further plans of working with animals (mainly cats and dogs).