Chevron Left
Volver a Challenging Forensic Science: How Science Should Speak to Court

Opiniones y comentarios de aprendices correspondientes a Challenging Forensic Science: How Science Should Speak to Court por parte de Universidad de Lausana

4.8
estrellas
372 calificaciones
108 reseña

Acerca del Curso

The aim of this course is to promote critical thinking with regard to forensic science. Today, in general, most people are dazzled by the technical possibilities offered by forensic science. They somewhat live in the illusion that forensic evidence is fool proof and brings factual findings with 100% certainty. This course – given by specialists in the field – goes beyond the conventional image that is promoted through TV series such as CSI. It alerts (without alarming) the public on the limits of the techniques in order to promote a sound administration of forensic science in the criminal justice system.  It allows participants to understand the importance of probabilistic reasoning in forensic science, because uncertainty is a constitutive part of forensic science. The course is constructed as a series of causes célèbres that could or have led to miscarriages of justice. Some of these cases have been part of case reviews carried out at the School of Criminal Justice of the University of Lausanne. ****************** Special thanks to our translators, in particular the University of Lausanne and the School of Criminal Justice sincerely thank Massimiliano Stabile (forensic biologist), Francesco Zampa (forensic chemist) and Giampietro Lago (forensic biologist) for the Italian translation of the course....

Principales reseñas

AM

20 de feb. de 2021

Very interesting course developing an understanding of forensic science and its use in various criminal cases as well as highlighting the limitations and challenges associated with its use in court.

JR

26 de may. de 2020

The instructors are very helpful and accessible. The course is enlightening and very important in the effective interpretation of forensic science. Thank you for preparing this course!

Filtrar por:

51 - 75 de 108 revisiones para Challenging Forensic Science: How Science Should Speak to Court

por Madhur T

8 de ago. de 2020

wonderful platform to gain knowledge with certification. learnt about the value of evidences when it comes in the form of interpretation to deal with probabilities and uncertainty. learnt about the ethics of how science should speak in court with forensic evaluation.

por Carlos B

31 de ago. de 2020

Hi, I take this course from Lima, Peru with the intention to improve and organize my practical concepts on Forensic Science and, in the end, I got more question that certainties, like 20 years ago when I was ending my Microbiology Major. Thanks for the opportunity.

por laura k

16 de may. de 2021

This course was very informative. My professional expertise is in psychology, but understanding how forensic science should speak to court also informs me and other scientist how we should also conform to a more strenuous framework when giving expert opinions.

por Roza Z

26 de oct. de 2020

The teachers in an accessible, clear and understandable way explained to us the most difficult problems in forensic science. The course materials helped me in working with students. Many thanks to the brilliant course. I will recommend it to students.

por Ademola A

24 de jun. de 2020

It's just wonderful, the case studies even made it better and more relatable. I'm glad I found this course, I wonder how long I'd have continued with some strange beliefs acquired from CSI movies if I hadn't enrolled in this course.

por Alfonso R M

14 de nov. de 2020

Truly useful and necessary for a forensic medical doctor. Very good level, excellent teachers and a relevant participation of guests. You start the course with a certain curiosity and you finnish with passion. Congratulations.

por Gustavo J

11 de may. de 2021

As a forensic scientist from Brazil, I am positively surprised. I got in touch with concepts and ideas that made much more sense than the solutions that the forensic community usually propose for the difficulties we face.

por Rizki N A I

25 de ago. de 2020

This course keep asking me to think logically and consider every options. It's applicable in other topic too, not just in forensic. The explanations are easy to digest, especially for a beginner like me. Thank you.

por Juan G

27 de ago. de 2021

Dear professors, Thank you for the excellent presentation and information provided. His proposal is innovative and opens paths for research and development in the teaching of forensic sciences.

por Jasrah N S R

27 de may. de 2020

The instructors are very helpful and accessible. The course is enlightening and very important in the effective interpretation of forensic science. Thank you for preparing this course!

por Maria G C

30 de may. de 2020

Excelente! no solo el diseño y estructuracion de las actividades semanales, sino el esmero en la presentacion de las entrevistas. Uno de los mejores cursos que he reazlizado.

por Brigita Z

17 de nov. de 2020

I really enjoyed taking this course. The team is very professional. I am still new to forensic science but all information was given clearly with examples.

por Aejas N

22 de ene. de 2022

Excellent course for Criminal Trial Legal Counsels from the perspective of evaluation of Forensic Science Reports as evidence in courts.

por Trisita P

6 de jul. de 2020

exceptionally well crafted course which is a must for every lawyer to become a good prosecutor or a unstoppable defence lawyer.

por Gabriel F

3 de ene. de 2021

Interesante aportación para los profanos del mundo forense en la aportación de la probabilidad en la prueba pericial.

por angela s

23 de may. de 2020

This is a wonderful course applicable for all branches of forensic medicine and science. I can highly recommend it

por Ariel

28 de ago. de 2020

Es de gran utilidad para que los abogados podamos entender los resultados que nos ofrece un análisis forense.

por Dayiris M J

6 de nov. de 2020

Excelente curso se adquieren conocimientos muy buenos toda vez que la metodología utilizada es muy rigurosa

por Dr L R

10 de oct. de 2020

I am so glad that I took up this course. The instructors involved did a great job. They explained so well.

por Vaishnavi B

4 de jul. de 2020

Great learning experience during Covid -19 situation. The course was well structured . Thank you

por Kaja R

19 de sep. de 2020

One of the best courses I have completed - very well structured, informative and inspiring.

por jawadullah

25 de feb. de 2022

best course for all eagerly want to learn what is forensic science and DNA fingerprinting

por Dato' D Y

8 de jul. de 2020

Must be very critical in interpretation of forensic results and do not make assumption.

por Brian O

15 de nov. de 2020

Fantastic course. This course should be mandatory for all working forensic scientist.

por Sophie H

29 de sep. de 2020

Really great course that helps you think more critically about forensic science