Chevron Left
Volver a Child Nutrition and Cooking

Opiniones y comentarios de aprendices correspondientes a Child Nutrition and Cooking por parte de Universidad de Stanford

4.7
estrellas
5,578 calificaciones
1,693 revisiones

Acerca del Curso

Eating patterns that begin in childhood affect health and well-being across the lifespan. The culture of eating has changed significantly in recent decades, especially in parts of the world where processed foods dominate our dietary intake. This course examines contemporary child nutrition and the impact of the individual decisions made by each family. The health risks associated with obesity in childhood are also discussed. Participants will learn what constitutes a healthy diet for children and adults and how to prepare simple, delicious foods aimed at inspiring a lifelong celebration of easy home-cooked meals. This course will help prepare participants to be the leading health providers, teachers and parents of the present and future.The text and other material in this course may include the opinion of the specific instructor and are not statements of advice, endorsement, opinion, or information of Stanford University....

Principales revisiones

RH

Sep 17, 2017

very useful and practical course.. it boosts my positive energy to cook more and more in healthy way for my baby coz much love=much healthy.. It inspired me, it's very simple , easy and very healthy..

ZP

Oct 07, 2015

This course is immensely informative, as well as fun! I loved the way Maya made things simple, with diagrams to accompany all of the the nutrition information. I hope she does more courses like these!

Filtrar por:

1 - 25 de 1,683 revisiones para Child Nutrition and Cooking

por Zayra P

Oct 07, 2015

This course is immensely informative, as well as fun! I loved the way Maya made things simple, with diagrams to accompany all of the the nutrition information. I hope she does more courses like these!

por Maria E

Aug 29, 2018

Too basic, I expected a more scientific class from Stanford.

por Lochana P

Nov 01, 2018

This course is very informative and helps you learn many facts and new things. Love this course

por Fransisca Y W

Jul 08, 2019

The lecturer has broken down the information so that it was interesting and easy to digest

por lorenia a

Aug 07, 2015

This is a very friendly course. It is complete and easy to follow. I highly recommend it.

por roula h

Sep 17, 2017

very useful and practical course.. it boosts my positive energy to cook more and more in healthy way for my baby coz much love=much healthy.. It inspired me, it's very simple , easy and very healthy..

por Akbar A

Jul 08, 2019

A very informative course for parents in this modern world, where junk and processed foods are consider healthier (a misconception). What to choose to feed to children, where to buy, and how to cook food for children, are all covered in this course. Presentation of course with preparation of food demonstration and blackboard discussion make the course very unique.

por Sofia R

Jul 03, 2019

Información muy útil y práctica. Me gustaron mucho las estrategias para hacer que a los niños les guste la alimentación saludable. Además aprendimos otros conceptos muy actuales sobre alimentos procesados, orgánicos, alérgenos, etiquetas, etc.

por Tyra P

Jul 05, 2019

Very informative! Something everyone should know about nutrition when it comes to children and themselves.

por Mana D

Jun 21, 2019

Absolutely love it! Learn so much and so many important things that we forget to think about generally

por Mariana T

Jul 03, 2019

I loved the teacher and how the course is made.

por Akiko T

Jul 04, 2019

I love this course and the professor!!

por Edna M d S

Jun 28, 2019

Excellent course, Congratulations!

por Prashant S S

May 03, 2019

Very nice and informative course

por Lukianova E

May 03, 2019

Очень понравился данный курс.

por Sujata

Jul 12, 2019

Enjoyed learning through the course. Very informative in our day today lifestyle.

por Pamela J R

Mar 23, 2018

I enjoyed the class very much. I've taken nutrition classes before. This one is well done, and manages to be scientifically based and yet the material is presented in an approachable way. The drawings are a great way to engage. I convinced my daughter to take the course, and my grand-daughter is watching the videos, too. She loves the drawings. I also think the cooking style is great, teaching HOW to cook instead of being reliant on recipes, and keeping measurements approximate. That's how my grandmother taught me. Including gluten free and vegetarian recipes and nutritional content, as well as addressing food allergies, makes the course inclusive.

I like the contextualizing of nutrition information with suggestions on eating as a family, cooking and gardening with kids, and being mindful of environmental impacts of food production. The last week's inclusion of the layers of support for healthy children was an added bonus, and important to think about when so much effort goes into keeping children healthy at home, yet so much of our politics and use of resources doesn't support health, safety and well-being.

Only 2 things didn't seem right. One, rinsing fish. Didn't think that was necessary. Googling it, I see it's controversial!! Definitely is contrary to all I've heard to say that wine retains alcoholic content after cooking! (Stew recipe)

I've shared this class on Facebook a few times. I get very frustrated hearing people say, 'how do you know who to listen to about nutrition,' and it doesn't seem to be commonly known that there is science behind it. Also, that common sense and confidence go a long way in cooking. I think it's a good class for adults who are only feeding themselves! And finally, the kids are adorable. I'm looking forward to the student-submitted recipes. Thanks so much!

por Natalie D

Oct 11, 2015

This course reinforced what I know about nutrition and provided a more fundamental basis for the mechanisms at play. With a balance of facts with practical tips, this course avoids a lot of the extremes seen in most discussions on nutrition. Biggest takeaways:

* The food that spoils the quickest is the best for us because the nutrients that pests want are the nutrients that we want too. As much as possible, choose unprocessed foods.* While this course is agnostic in terms of vegetarian or carnivorous diets, it suggests that most Americans eat more meat than is healthy for them and the environment.* As much as possible, eat a rainbow. Variety is key to getting a complete variety of the nutrients we need.* Plate size matters a lot* The fresher and more local your produce, the better it is for you and the environment.* Drink water and a lot of it

por L. M

Dec 27, 2019

Dr. Adams is a wonderful lecturer and developed a FANTASTIC course to introduce the general public to basic concepts of food and nutrition. The only thing ai would perhaps consider adding (1) A few evidence-based references for those interested in the scientific basis of nutrition, and (2) a section or integration of more content on low-cost options. I imagine that many members of the international community, those working for or dependent on services like WIC and CHIP would greatly benefit from a course. Finances are a HUGE barrier to eating well for most people. Shopping at places like Whole Foods is simply out of question. If this course could be modified just a little, I think it would have an even broader appeal. Otherwise - I say "BRAVO". Thank You!

por Miriam

Aug 28, 2015

Excellent course. The material presented was not difficult to comprehend. I highly recommend this to parents who are in a quandry every night when the question, "what's for dinner?" presents itself. More than the content, I was most impressed by the manner in which the course was taught. Instead of a "talking head" format, the instructor used a variety of techniques to present the material, including teaching the majority of the class from her kitchen, using an interactive "blackboard" to illustrate concepts while she spoke and lots of cooking demonstrations. Kudos to Stanford for producing such high quality content. I have started a lot of Coursera courses and this is the first one that I've been able to complete because the content kept me engaged.

por Melissa S

Mar 31, 2016

A wonderful and life altering course, taught with families in mind! This course taught me so many wonderful concepts, opened up new ideas and helped me to understand that a rainbow of food without labels is what I should be feeding my family. I discovered a bit of the science behind food metabolism and how to make real, unprocessed food appeal to little taste buds!

Maya Adams takes you on spectacular food journey through insightful illustrations, informative lectures and cooking demonstrations. I have taken away a plethora of knowledge and the realization that if children help to prepare the foods they eat, they will be more accepting of those healthy and wholesome meals.

Thank you for this wonderfully designed course!

por Aleksey B

Aug 10, 2017

I wanted to know more about nutrition for help myself and people in my surroundings have a healthier diet, and I was very pleased with the information offered by the course and it's general presentation. I have gained better understanding of risks in consuming processed foods, role of fiber, safety scale of different fats, and effect of blood sugar spikes on the sensation of hunger. I was surprised that no GMO is part of the organic marketing package, since it seems that many kinds of GMO are proving to be more innocent than the media would like to portray it. Again -- really amazing course! Great thanks to Maya, course staff and Coursera guys for providing us with this great opportunity to get healthier.

por Neha R

Dec 14, 2015

This is a very useful and wonderfully presented course on child nutrition. This course has given me a good introduction on the various aspects of child nutrition in an extremely engaging manner. The author is very passionate, knowledgeable and enthusiastic about child nutrition. I love her way of presenting many key points with the help of sketches. She has covered this topic in a very holistic manner, even covering topics like sustainable cooking, gardening. I really like all her recipes. They are simple, healthy and delicious. Thanks to this course, I have now become quite interested in the world of fruits and veg,

God bless the author and her family for enhancing the health and happiness of many people.

por Karly R

Jun 27, 2016

I really loved this course! The instructor was very good, her lectures were informative and easy to follow with stellar graphics. Her videos were fun to watch, and her cooking lessons were very simple; she showed dishes that I would actually cook for my family! Best of all I believe she did a great job stating all the facts and encouraging people to make smart food choices without being judgmental about it, which is no easy task!

I am lucky that I am already doing a lot of the things the instructor suggests for my toddler but the best takeaway I got was to take my child to a farmers market. We went this weekend and it was so much fun! I plan to take her there as often as I can.

por Gabriela B O

Feb 03, 2016

Muy buena información, bastante claro y didactico. El material de apoyo y herramientas de apoyo como son los subtitulos en inglés y en español son bastante adecuados y estan sincronizados. El lenguaje empleado en este curso hace posible que toda la comunidad pueda tomarlo y realizar mejoras a nivel personal, familiar o apoyo para el aprendizaje, independientemente de si tienen conocimientos previos en nutricion o en alguna rama de las ciencias de la salud. Gracias por este curso y espero haya continuación del curso o cursos similares de esta universidad y seria fabuloso que siguieran siendo en colaboracion de la Dra Maya Adams