Chevron Left
Volver a Climate Change Mitigation in Developing Countries

Opiniones y comentarios de aprendices correspondientes a Climate Change Mitigation in Developing Countries por parte de Universidad de Ciudad del Cabo

4.7
estrellas
433 calificaciones
144 reseña

Acerca del Curso

This course challenges you to consider how one might lift societies out of poverty while also mitigating greenhouse gas emissions. We explore the inherent complexity of developing country governments wanting to grow their economies in a climate friendly way. You will be introduced to an approach with which to address this challenge. The approach consists of a facilitated process whereby academic researchers and high-level influential actors within society co-produce knowledge. You will track this process in four Latin American countries - Brazil, Chile, Colombia, Peru, and South Africa. You will hear from various professionals about their contexts and the different challenges and opportunities the process includes. This course will cover topics such as facilitation process techniques, energy modeling, scenario building, innovation and policy making. You will have the opportunity to respond to these topics with ideas and reflection from your own context. Whether you are a climate change practitioner, work in development or are simply curious about how climate mitigation is understood, this course will give you insights into the complexity of how countries from the South pursue development goals while addressing climate mitigation. The course is free to enroll and take. You will be offered the option of purchasing a certificate of completion, which you become eligible for if you successfully complete the course requirements. This can be an excellent way of staying motivated! Financial Aid is also available....

Principales reseñas

MG
3 de oct. de 2016

Super-awesome course that taught me about the super-wicked problem of our time and how to effectively achieve climate change mitigation and development objectives from developing countries context

CO
9 de nov. de 2017

The course has been very insightful to me as a climate change scientist. It has been very detailed and it has given me input that from a perspective that i had not thought of before. Thank you.

Filtrar por:

101 - 125 de 145 revisiones para Climate Change Mitigation in Developing Countries

por Brayan E R R

28 de jun. de 2021

Muy bueno el curso

por Dailux J

9 de ene. de 2021

Easy and simple.

por Dhruvil P

22 de jun. de 2020

Excellent course

por José M S L

19 de ago. de 2018

Simply Excellent

por Kenny S M G

1 de jul. de 2021

Excelente curso

por Olaleye A

29 de may. de 2017

Simply Awesome!

por Gourpada D

17 de jul. de 2020

Thanks a lot!

por Deleted A

28 de abr. de 2017

Great courses

por Nicole M B H

29 de jun. de 2021

good course

por Dr: J A B

7 de jun. de 2016

Excellent .

por DIEGO H P E

10 de jul. de 2021

muy lindo

por Lady E H C

5 de jul. de 2021

excelente

por Maria A P E

28 de jun. de 2021

genial

por TONY A V B

6 de jul. de 2021

Good

por NOE A H A

3 de jul. de 2021

Good

por Nicolas S N d P

3 de jul. de 2021

good

por Diana A C M

1 de jul. de 2021

Nice

por Bhekithemba S

7 de ene. de 2022

The course has been quite exciting for me, I have travelled a long route throughout the 6 weeks and I have found every section quite fulfilling for me. I did not expect to learn so much about climate change mitigation in such a short space of time. Each section that I went through on my own made me even more curious about learning about something else. I kept learning and learning and I must say I feel I am ready for the final hurdle: the examination!

I would like to convey my heartfelt thanks to Prof Winkler, all our lecturers and all who contributed in the development of this course. The course is not just a course; it’s a wake-up call, a challenge to all of us to wake up from our slumber land and do something about issues of climate change. I feel I am more armed with knowledge now than I was before. I am more determined to be part of the change now than being a bystander.

por Madhuri S

8 de ago. de 2020

Many interesting things can be learned through this course like how to make changes or tackle a problem by finding solution not only regarding climate change problems but personally to. The assignments are very interesting and helped to learned about activities or initiatives that were taking place in other developing or developed countries regarding the climate change and development or mitigation. I learned how models can be so helpful in getting info for future by using the past years data. Thank you.

por Tomasz K

8 de ene. de 2018

Great course, well organized and highly interesting. Some talks could be more up to the point and presented more clearly, but the international nature of the exchanges and the multicultural background of speakers explains those factors. I am giving 4 stars because I enjoyed the course a lot, but I think it could be more detailed and factual. Thank you for making this content available.

por Yotam F

11 de dic. de 2016

A course that provides an overview of the challenges faced by sustainable development efforts, and the processes the MAPS programme practices to effectively tackle them. I wish I could have access to the detailed "models" that were a main topic to more deeply understand the kind of effort that goes into creating and adjusting them, and how they then translate into affecting policies.

por Faith C C

8 de ene. de 2022

It was my first but certainly will not be my last course. So grateful to Harald and the entire MAPS team for taking time out of their busy schedule to share their knowledge and skills with us! It was informative and well presented throughout. I especially appreciated ng able to interact with my peers as we would in a classroom.. Fantastic!

por Josaia U

1 de abr. de 2019

This course puts into perspective the correlation between the co-production of knowledge, innovation, technology, community towards the development and establishment of a country's policy towards climate change and its effect on developments. I definitely have learnt a lot from other context especially other developing countries.

por Hiba J J J

14 de jul. de 2016

It explains the issue of how developing countries are facing climate change and on that aspect it presents the information not only the way they deal with it but the obstacles they encounter in the process. It also introduced very interesting concepts that could be used outside of this course.

por Livia W

10 de jul. de 2021

W​hat I particularly liked were the essays we wrote, as wording a write-up on a specific topic brings the relevant topic this way much closer.

W​hat I would have liked more that there are presentation materials, that can be saved and later re-read. Unfortunately there were none.