Chevron Left
Volver a Design and Interpretation of Clinical Trials

Opiniones y comentarios de aprendices correspondientes a Design and Interpretation of Clinical Trials por parte de Universidad Johns Hopkins

4.7
1,679 calificaciones
286 revisiones

Acerca del Curso

Clinical trials are experiments designed to evaluate new interventions to prevent or treat disease in humans. The interventions evaluated can be drugs, devices (e.g., hearing aid), surgeries, behavioral interventions (e.g., smoking cessation program), community health programs (e.g. cancer screening programs) or health delivery systems (e.g., special care units for hospital admissions). We consider clinical trials experiments because the investigators rather than the patients or their doctors select the treatment the patients receive. Results from randomized clinical trials are usually considered the highest level of evidence for determining whether a treatment is effective because trials incorporates features to ensure that evaluation of the benefits and risks of treatments are objective and unbiased. The FDA requires that drugs or biologics (e.g., vaccines) are shown to be effective in clinical trials before they can be sold in the US. The course will explain the basic principles for design of randomized clinical trials and how they should be reported. In the first part of the course, students will be introduced to terminology used in clinical trials and the several common designs used for clinical trials, such as parallel and cross-over designs. We will also explain some of the mechanics of clinical trials, like randomization and blinding of treatment. In the second half of the course, we will explain how clinical trials are analyzed and interpreted. Finally, we will review the essential ethical consideration involved in conducting experiments on people....

Principales revisiones

JQ

Oct 26, 2019

Excellent beginner course on design and interpretation of clinical trials, complements a lot of what I reviewed on my classes and I would like to take a more advanced course on the topic. Thank you.

OS

Sep 19, 2019

This course would be most useful to the participant if pursued within a short time-frame, of maximum of 6 weeks. Both lecturers were clear and good communicators. I would take more of their classes.

Filtrar por:

1 - 25 de 280 revisiones para Design and Interpretation of Clinical Trials

por João P J P

Nov 18, 2018

I think that the course should provide a written material in order to deepen the learning process.

por valentina c

Aug 25, 2017

Useful to get a general understanding of the complexity of a clinical trials and the many aspects that need to be taken into account. it would be incredibly helpful to have a more advanced and statistically-oriented module following this one.

por Diana E V

May 29, 2017

One of the best online courses I have taken so far at Coursera. Very helpful if you are new to the field and helps you to understand and interpret clinical data. I highly recommend this course.

por Olga M

Jul 01, 2019

Great course for basic introduction to clinical trials design, features and guidelines.

por Mary C V

Dec 03, 2018

A great course for people working in the Clinical Research industry! I definitely recommend!

por Alba M M L

Jan 30, 2019

This is a really good course if you are starting your journey in a clinical trials. It's really helpful to learn vocabulary related to this field.

por Lisa L

Apr 05, 2019

Thrilled to finish this course. I'm gonna use what I learnt from this course in my current job and share with my colleagues.

por Tsinatkeab T H

May 31, 2018

I was able to learn a lot from this course. The lectures and the sequence of the presentations were logical and clear to understand. I will definitely recommend this course for my colleagues.

por Nancy H

Mar 20, 2019

Really great course that goes over clinical trials and very important terms in order to understand the topic well.

por Kinjal D

May 05, 2019

v

e

r

y

u

s

e

f

u

l

l

f

o

r

t

h

e

k

n

o

w

l

e

d

g

e

p

u

r

p

u

r

s

e

a

s

w

e

l

l

a

s

m

a

k

e

a

g

r

o

w

t

h

I

n

p

r

o

f

e

s

s

I

o

n

a

l

c

arrier

por Sarah R

Jan 15, 2019

I learned so much from this course. I thought the lectures were very well designed and easy to follow. Thanks Janet and Lea!

por Twaib S

Jan 16, 2019

i like this course

por Shafagh E

Jan 16, 2019

It's detailed and well-designed course, which could be helpful for digging into Clinical Trials and how it works!

por Sixtus A

Jan 31, 2019

A great introductory course in clinical trials; designs and interpretation.

por Paula C L

Feb 09, 2019

Excelente curso muy practico!

por Petre M

Mar 21, 2019

Useful and interesting course for me.

por Lara V G

Dec 07, 2018

A very informative and interesting course. Despite the complexity of some issues, they manage to explain them in an understandable way. Thank you!

por Rodrigo P G B

Dec 11, 2018

Amazing course. They discuss basic principles and provide some insights about complex ones too. I'm loving it! Thanks for setting up this course.

por Leonardo Z

Dec 27, 2016

I learned so much and am excited to take more classes

por Karo L

Oct 30, 2017

Great course! Lots of useful knowledge and real cases.

por MUSOKE A

Mar 30, 2017

It is pretty exciting course with rich knowledge in clinical trials' field which is well expressed with practical examples

por Alexander M

Oct 16, 2016

Very useful. Important aspects highlighted. Systematic presentation.

por Shaker A

Jun 29, 2017

great course

por Dr N G

May 12, 2018

The course is excellent. However, I feel, it shall also incorporate issues like protocol designing, case record form designing, sample size calculations

por Jorge H C

Nov 07, 2017

Excellent