Chevron Left
Volver a Managing Big Data in Clusters and Cloud Storage

Opiniones y comentarios de aprendices correspondientes a Managing Big Data in Clusters and Cloud Storage por parte de Cloudera

4.7
estrellas
149 calificaciones
37 reseña

Acerca del Curso

In this course, you'll learn how to manage big datasets, how to load them into clusters and cloud storage, and how to apply structure to the data so that you can run queries on it using distributed SQL engines like Apache Hive and Apache Impala. You’ll learn how to choose the right data types, storage systems, and file formats based on which tools you’ll use and what performance you need. By the end of the course, you will be able to • use different tools to browse existing databases and tables in big data systems; • use different tools to explore files in distributed big data filesystems and cloud storage; • create and manage big data databases and tables using Apache Hive and Apache Impala; and • describe and choose among different data types and file formats for big data systems. To use the hands-on environment for this course, you need to download and install a virtual machine and the software on which to run it. Before continuing, be sure that you have access to a computer that meets the following hardware and software requirements: • Windows, macOS, or Linux operating system (iPads and Android tablets will not work) • 64-bit operating system (32-bit operating systems will not work) • 8 GB RAM or more • 25GB free disk space or more • Intel VT-x or AMD-V virtualization support enabled (on Mac computers with Intel processors, this is always enabled; on Windows and Linux computers, you might need to enable it in the BIOS) • For Windows XP computers only: You must have an unzip utility such as 7-Zip or WinZip installed (Windows XP’s built-in unzip utility will not work)...

Principales reseñas

PZ

Sep 04, 2020

This was definitely the most challenging course I have done so far, but I am loving it! Glynn and Ian do a fantastic job of guiding you through the content in an engaging and practical manner.

SY

Mar 01, 2020

This is Very good course for a beginners, it gives you lots of exercises to practice in vm and course material is Really really good but only thing is you have to read a lot ,

Filtrar por:

1 - 25 de 37 revisiones para Managing Big Data in Clusters and Cloud Storage

por Fabiola S

Jan 05, 2020

Coursera Team,

This course has been the absolute best experience I have had with online learning. I've taken other courses on Coursera but this course is exemplary because of it structure, focus, and skilled instructors.

Each course is well organized and stays on topic. However, if there are any related topics students should explore, the instructors have provided links for students to have a semi-guided self-taught journey on their own time. Other courses don't do that.

The focused lessons keep data neophytes like myself feel less overwhelmed by the information taught in the course. Modern Big Data Analysis using SQL is a very broad yet important topic. However, the instructors on this course really ameliorate that overwhelming feeling with clear and focused lectures.

The instructors come across as not only subject matter experts but as seasoned teaching professionals. They can explain the concepts in the courses in a clear and succinct manner without oversimplifying. Other instructors on Coursera, while skilled in their field, don't have the teaching finesse as Ian and Glynn do. If more courses on Coursera were taught by Ian and Glynn and others like them, I would pursue even more studies with Coursera.

I hope this feedback is heard.

P.S. - please release the Advanced SQL Course, I'm eager to pursue that.

Thank you,

Fabiola

por Hemanth G

Aug 15, 2019

While the courses covers a lot of relevant and useful topics, it relies too much on the reading material. I would have liked more videos than reading material. My sense is that it would have allowed the instructors to delve deeper and also helps students understand better.

.

por Shahab a s

Jan 02, 2020

I enjoyed course 1 and course 2 better. This course was cramming a lot of information. I enjoy studying through video lessons. This course lacked many video lessons.

por Muller H

Sep 27, 2019

Personally, I prefer video

Too much reading material

But overall, it is still good course, try to cover all the things we should know

por Abhilash M

Dec 16, 2019

It would have been nice if videos would have been present instead of reading. Also a more deep diving would have been done in concepts like bucketing and indexing.

por yavuz k

Oct 04, 2019

Unlike the previous two courses in the speacialization, in this course involves more reading and video lessons.

por Saras A

Aug 03, 2020

Good course with lots of info, mostly higher level, for HIVE, IMPALA and interactions with HDFS, and cool "honors" (a little advanced) material. Complex Data Types were cool. I wonder if there any python interaction with Complex Data types (Arrays, and Dictionary equivalents) that would make sense with Hive (Just curious).

All course structure, and content was well thought out for a online course. And best of all both of them spoke clear English and very good delivery.

I am also very happy they covered Amazon S3. I already have much SQL background so it was a bit faster for me. Good, fun course!

por Sacha v W

Sep 02, 2020

The best course I have done so far that relates to big data. It gives quite some background in how big data systems work and provides plenty of exercises. Also compliments for the instructors. There are very much qualified, they are thorough knowledgable and give good direction on what is important and how it all works. I hope the teachers will continue to make more courses for using for example Spark and building a whole data /ml pipeline using Cloudera.

por Shrinidhi A V

Jun 25, 2020

Amazing course. Both instructors have motivated me to learn more and utilize this platform more than I did ever before. I would like to have some more courses under them. I would like to implement the skills that I learnt in this course in some project. Thank you to my instructors, peers and the reviewing staff who made my learning experience better. I will recommend others to take up this course to dive into the field of Big data.

por Wei P

Oct 19, 2020

It is a great course to learn about managing big data in clusters and cloud storage in HDFS and Amazon S3 through SQL. It teaches you how to create a table and load data into a table using SQL and other methods in HDFS and AWS. Different data types are utilized. To me, this third course is more challenging than the second course in this specialization but a great skill to have in addition to querying data with SQL.

por Pal W

Aug 30, 2020

This course and the whole specialization is excellent.

I took some sql courses on other online learning platform, but this is much better. I learned lots of new things such as managing data and storage data, etc.

I can not wait that fourth, advance course be published.

por Nisar H

Apr 30, 2020

It is a highly valueable course which nicely elabortes the essential skills of data management and analytics. Particularly, I appreciate the teaching methodologies and skills of the instructors. Really impressed and benefited from the knowledege of the instructors.

por Paul Z

Sep 04, 2020

This was definitely the most challenging course I have done so far, but I am loving it! Glynn and Ian do a fantastic job of guiding you through the content in an engaging and practical manner.

por Saikumar Y

Mar 01, 2020

This is Very good course for a beginners, it gives you lots of exercises to practice in vm and course material is Really really good but only thing is you have to read a lot ,

por Honorat D

Aug 18, 2020

these courses allowed me to have a good knowledge of hadoop and the management of big data databases. Thank you and congratulations to the teachers

por Andriy Z

May 04, 2020

Although more reading than video, I found readings to be more convenient when you need to get back to a particular lesson and recap something.

por Mohammad A

Apr 14, 2020

This is one of the systematic specializations which makes the harder and otherwise overwhelming subject so easy to navigate, follow and learn.

por Carlos M

Mar 14, 2020

Great course, it would be great to have the Analysis course yo implement All the learned in the previous ones!

por Cheikh B

Mar 19, 2020

This is a very good course if you want to understand how big data works and how to use big data in clusters

por alexander n

Apr 16, 2020

This is one of the best courses I've attended on Coursera! Kudos to the course organizers and instructors.

por Luiz F N V

Sep 25, 2020

Excelente curso. Abrange bem o que se dispõe e tem ótimos professores. Projeto final condiz com o curso!

por Shrikant R S

Aug 03, 2020

The courses provided in this specialization are very good and gave more than expectations.

por Rolando E F T

Oct 13, 2020

excelente curso para aprender sobre estructura de datos, tipos de, manejo de los datos

por Gregory K

Feb 10, 2020

Very good material and the labs using the VM are wonderful hands-on experience.

por José R

Aug 25, 2020

Excellent course. VM works perfectly and is very helpful for exercises