Chevron Left
Volver a Combinatorics and Probability

Opiniones y comentarios de aprendices correspondientes a Combinatorics and Probability por parte de Universidad de California en San Diego

4.6
estrellas
786 calificaciones
174 reseña

Acerca del Curso

Counting is one of the basic mathematically related tasks we encounter on a day to day basis. The main question here is the following. If we need to count something, can we do anything better than just counting all objects one by one? Do we need to create a list of all phone numbers to ensure that there are enough phone numbers for everyone? Is there a way to tell that our algorithm will run in a reasonable time before implementing and actually running it? All these questions are addressed by a mathematical field called Combinatorics. In this online course we discuss most standard combinatorial settings that can help to answer questions of this type. We will especially concentrate on developing the ability to distinguish these settings in real life and algorithmic problems. This will help the learner to actually implement new knowledge. Apart from that we will discuss recursive technique for counting that is important for algorithmic implementations. One of the main ‘consumers’ of Combinatorics is Probability Theory. This area is connected with numerous sides of life, on one hand being an important concept in everyday life and on the other hand being an indispensable tool in such modern and important fields as Statistics and Machine Learning. In this course we will concentrate on providing the working knowledge of basics of probability and a good intuition in this area. The practice shows that such an intuition is not easy to develop. In the end of the course we will create a program that successfully plays a tricky and very counterintuitive dice game. As prerequisites we assume only basic math (e.g., we expect you to know what is a square or how to add fractions), basic programming in python (functions, loops, recursion), common sense and curiosity. Our intended audience are all people that work or plan to work in IT, starting from motivated high school students....

Principales reseñas

SP
26 de feb. de 2021

Special thanks to Prof. Vladimir Podolskii and Prof. Alexander S. Kulikov for their amazing explanations and diligent visuals of the concepts as well as problem sets. You Rock!

JC
8 de sep. de 2020

It's a perfect introduction to combinatorics and probability, short, fun, and easy to understand. I would like to see more puzzles, those are extremely fun and interesting

Filtrar por:

151 - 174 de 174 revisiones para Combinatorics and Probability

por Ajit B

19 de oct. de 2017

I think the level could have been a bit more advanced. Overall a good course though.

por Mahade H

28 de ago. de 2020

English was not that much of good, but the contents were awesome. Learned so much.

por Abhinav M

4 de jun. de 2020

Probability courses could have been more structured and more about definitions

por Афанасьев И В

26 de oct. de 2020

Для новичков в теорвере на 4, чисто база которую нужно дальше развивать

por Nikhil Y

1 de may. de 2020

it was really amazing to work on this course!!

por Jinqiang Z

16 de dic. de 2017

it's good in general. But slightly too simple.

por Elton M

5 de may. de 2018

The probability section could be more visual.

por Saurabh P

27 de may. de 2020

Great course with lots of exercises.

por Michael K H E

21 de ene. de 2019

Prof Vlad has really great examples!

por Ramesh

9 de dic. de 2017

Probability section was little weak

por Lionel L R Q

24 de jun. de 2020

The last assignment is fun :)

por MANOJ

28 de jul. de 2020

It was very good

por Lakshman P

29 de oct. de 2020

Awesome course

por Anh T

25 de nov. de 2021

The course offers solid materials, but is lacking in examples and exercises. Some of the exercises were tough but interesting and help to reinforce the knowledge learned. Week 4 was the weakest so far for me, the exercises have no explanation or feedback whatsoever, you don't know why you were right or wrong. The final project was challenging and fun but I don't think it has a lot to do with probability, only combinatorics. Overall a decent course.

por Tarun M

20 de may. de 2019

This course really brought the best out of me in terms of logical programming. The last task needed hours of hard work, but was a fun challenge. However, I felt that the instructors could have been a bit more responsive on the forums to help us clear our doubts.

por Amy G

6 de abr. de 2020

Learning content was too easy - covers things from high school algebra. The instructions for the final project also don't indicate that you have to redefine all previous functions in each code block for the code to be graded correctly.

por Remy E F

6 de feb. de 2019

Sometimes difficult to follow along with the accent for material that I already found new and challenging. Needed to supplement with Khan Academy and other sources.

por Rafael J N A

24 de dic. de 2021

I found the material really hard to understand, probability is not my strength. I'm not saying that the course is bad, it's just is not for me.

por huda g

2 de jun. de 2018

the course was so amazing but sorry it was little hard in weeks 2

the sum of tringle i didn't understand it !!

por Rajat J

10 de may. de 2021

Great course! I did have issues understanding initially due to the accent of the professors.

por Rohit k

28 de abr. de 2020

Material is not that strong and new for a math student, it should be more challenging.

por Long C

28 de nov. de 2021

explanation​ should be better.

por kobi c

10 de sep. de 2021

This is already the fifth online course I take, both here in Coursera and also in Udacity. Overall I have to say that the topics presented here are VERY important, but sadly I couldn't follow the lecturers, I think Coursera should set at least a minimal rough for presenting and teaching and also punctuation and accent

por wayub01

14 de dic. de 2021

T​he introduction to Binomial theorm, Pascal triangle and its applications was totally pathetic. I would need to consult other resources to continue with this course.