Chevron Left
Volver a Introduction to Communication Science

Opiniones y comentarios de aprendices correspondientes a Introduction to Communication Science por parte de Universidad de Ámsterdam

4.6
estrellas
890 calificaciones
210 revisiones

Acerca del Curso

Since Antiquity, scholars have appreciated the importance of communication: as social beings, we cannot exist without communication. We need to interact with people around us, to make sense of the world and to position ourselves in a wider social and cultural reality. In this course, we look at how and why communication evolved as a science and reflect on today’s dominant paradigms. The course also extends beyond the boundaries of communication science itself, exploring dimensions of history, sociology and psychology. Join our class, together with people all over the world. Introduction to Communication Science explores some of the basic theories, models and concepts from the fields of mass, interpersonal and intrapersonal communication. The course begins with a consideration of several basic models, subsequently progressing to the history of communication theory, linear effect-oriented theories, the reception approach and, finally, exploring theories on the production and reinforcement of culture through communication. Upon completion of this course, students should: • have knowledge of the history and development of communication science; • have knowledge of the dominant theoretical approaches within communication science; • have knowledge and understanding of the most important models and concepts in this field. Beginning the week of February 16, 2015, you will be able to join Signature Track, a system that verifies your identity when you take an exam. This option will allow you to earn a Verified Certificate, which provides formal recognition of your achievements in the course and includes the University of Amsterdam logo. Before then, you can complete a “test run” of the exam. You can then re-take the exam after the Verified Certificate becomes available. For information regarding Verified Certificates, see https://courserahelp.zendesk.com/hc/en-us/articles/201212399-Verified-Certificates"...

Principales revisiones

LS

Feb 21, 2017

This course was incredibly delightful and very helpful, as a media and communication student, this course widened the information I had and helped me with my home university courses. Thank you!

MO

Dec 24, 2018

Great course structure, great professor. This was a very interesting and eye opening course for me, it's well explained and given with so much care of the information. Thank you so much.

Filtrar por:

1 - 25 de 207 revisiones para Introduction to Communication Science

por Lyuda S

Feb 21, 2017

This course was incredibly delightful and very helpful, as a media and communication student, this course widened the information I had and helped me with my home university courses. Thank you!

por Maria E O

Dec 24, 2018

Great course structure, great professor. This was a very interesting and eye opening course for me, it's well explained and given with so much care of the information. Thank you so much.

por Mounir A

Jul 08, 2019

Great content, I would have loved more details and the exam to have less questions about memorized names. I want to register in another level 2 course as this mooc has sparked by interest in this science, especially how this science is used in our modern day world to control and manipulate opinions and events.

por Rocío M E L

Aug 27, 2015

Simplemente maravilloso, divertido y de alto nivel. El profesor y el equipo técnico estupendo, me encantó, sobre todo el cierre del curso que no había visto en otros MOOC. Las equivocaciones y las risas del profesor y equipo técnico demuestran el laborioso trabajo que tienen que hacer, al repetir y repetir las tomas, para que nosotros como alumnos podamos obtener un reconocimiento.

Esas risas y equivocaciones para mí serán innolvidables pues siempre tendré en cuenta el gran esfuerzo al momento de tomar otro MOOC.

Gracias, gracias y muchas más gracias a todo el equipo de la Universidad de Amsterdam.

por Andrea N

Sep 26, 2015

Me encanta! me parece muy enriquecedor para mi aprendizaje, ya que nos enseña con mucha claridad los aspectos básicos de la ciencia de la comunicación. Ademas, cuenta con un excelente tutor, quien es muy claro a la hora de explicar los temas, para completar cuenta con mucho material didáctico, fuentes de información y enlaces que me ayudan a realizar un aprendizaje mucho mas profundo. Muchas gracias por darnos la oportunidad de poseer mas alternativas para educarnos, equipo de Coursera.

por Mihăescu A

Aug 29, 2019

It was a well-planned course, with answers for all the questions about communication. The best part was you could always return and reread a paragraph if you did not understand it at first. The visual representations and the subtitles were very helpful and I liked the fact that you could save notes anytime.

I am glad I attended the course. Because of it, I know now that I want to study Communication Science and learn more and more about it.

por WEN J

Aug 19, 2015

great learning experience! The content was well designed and examples during the lecture really helped me to understand the theory a lot. The structure of this course was very clear. I have learnt some knowledge on communication before, but this course really helped me to get a better understand on the topic and to reorganized all my knowlege on communication logically. Thanks a lot to all those who contributed to this great MOOC course!

por Elizabeth A

Nov 16, 2016

This was an exceptional class in every way! The course was well organized and expertly delivered. The faculty presenter was engaging and energetic with an excellent grasp of the communication science content. I appreciated his examples and the integration of theory with an historical developmental focus. I wish I lived in Amsterdam and could attend your classes on a regular basis!

por Zoila P M

Mar 30, 2018

Simplemente ¡Excelente curso! Muchas Gracias ¿Cuando me enviarán mi certificado?

por Nada R

Aug 23, 2016

Loved this course! The University of Amsterdam has one of the world's best communication programs so when I found out that they offer a very short and condenses crash course on Coursera, I had to take it! It's a shame the university doesn't offer other courses regarding different aspects of this field. Would have loved to take more. Regardless, I give this course 5 stars!

por Lisa R

Jan 23, 2016

I truly enjoyed the content as well as the format of this class. While the pace was very swift, it was apparent that a lot of thought was put into developing this course. I feel like I've gained a quality education on the basic introductory information to Communication Science. The Little Box of Nuances inspire me to further explore this subject.

por Sunny M

Oct 25, 2015

This course inspires me to observe, think about and analyze our media, culture and the society as a whole. After finishing the course, my horizon has been broadened, and I ammore interested in getting to know and read more about communication science as a way to support my career planning. I feel very glad that I took this course.

por Tingxin Y

Feb 17, 2018

I love this lesson not only because I am interested in this scientific discipline but because the teaching method is fun and clear as well. Also, I like the illustrations! It gives us explicit outlines about the content. I would like to see more advanced lessons of communication of science in Coursera.

Thank you!

por Matt T

Jul 30, 2016

This is the first MOOC that I've taken and completed and it was very well put-together. Videos were of a reasonable length and interesting, and the quizzes were just challenging enough to test my learning and make me think. For anyone interested in the topic, I would recommend taking this course.

por Janna

Aug 12, 2018

This is my first time to take courses online. When I completed the courses, I have a more comprehensive understanding of the development and theories of communication science. It really impressed me and I enjoy the class so much. Thank you for your great efforts to offer me such helpful classes!

por Tom R

Jan 01, 2016

I thoroughly enjoyed it. The course material clarified many of the things I had learned during my years working in the communications field. The supporting material was excellent, the videos were well done, helpful assignments and the final exam was an excellent review of the course material.

por Gert C P

Sep 10, 2018

Fantastic Introduction and wonderfully laid out when I did it. I enjoyed learning about communication and how noise and coding/decoding will stifle communication as well as how understanding these concepts will help people overcome barriers resulting in better, clearer communication.

por Florentina C

Aug 20, 2015

I really enjoy participating in this course. It is very well structured and explained so that one can easily remember and put on a timeline the different historical, sociological and scientifically aspects of the communication. I recommend it to all working in the field.

por Mainá P P R

Dec 04, 2016

This course transmited good examples, and taught us to think about the media, in general, and the paper it has in our lives. But I think the more important thing was that our teacher taught us how to construct a different way to look at the world aroud us. Thank you!

por Rohit N

Aug 18, 2015

It has been great enlightening experience with this subject, I never knew such depths of this matter before I completed this course. Communication is the basis for success or failure for topic. I thank you courser & University of Amsterdam for bring this course

por Jiajia X

Mar 16, 2016

I think the difficulty of the course and progress is very suitable for beginners, you can see very attentively when producing, I looked up some information in learning, think that teacher is very clear. So this course I'm very satisfied, very happy!

por Bernadette T E T

Feb 19, 2020

This course is well-structured and easy to understand as the content is broken down into bite-sized information. The notes done for the first two weeks are especially helpful in learning how to format my own notes for my own revision and learning!

por IOANNA B

Aug 04, 2019

If you are familiar with social sciences theories, you will find it highly interested to learn new and even adapt your already known theories from similar sciences like phycology, sociology. It was easy and really interesting. Great introduction!

por Daria B

Sep 29, 2016

It was an awesome course with very relevant material from different scientific perspectives. I am really happy that I took this exactly course. Thank you for fantastic presentations, notes and interactive discussions. It was a real pleasure.

por Pooja I

Sep 02, 2015

really helped in clearly understanding the various theories of communication as a concept. thank you for developing such a wonderful MOOC. waiting for some more courses from the University of Amsterdam so that I can learn something else.