Chevron Left
Volver a Comparing Genes, Proteins, and Genomes (Bioinformatics III)

Opiniones y comentarios de aprendices correspondientes a Comparing Genes, Proteins, and Genomes (Bioinformatics III) por parte de Universidad de California en San Diego

4.7
estrellas
118 calificaciones
22 reseña

Acerca del Curso

Once we have sequenced genomes in the previous course, we would like to compare them to determine how species have evolved and what makes them different. In the first half of the course, we will compare two short biological sequences, such as genes (i.e., short sequences of DNA) or proteins. We will encounter a powerful algorithmic tool called dynamic programming that will help us determine the number of mutations that have separated the two genes/proteins. In the second half of the course, we will "zoom out" to compare entire genomes, where we see large scale mutations called genome rearrangements, seismic events that have heaved around large blocks of DNA over millions of years of evolution. Looking at the human and mouse genomes, we will ask ourselves: just as earthquakes are much more likely to occur along fault lines, are there locations in our genome that are "fragile" and more susceptible to be broken as part of genome rearrangements? We will see how combinatorial algorithms will help us answer this question. Finally, you will learn how to apply popular bioinformatics software tools to solve problems in sequence alignment, including BLAST....

Principales reseñas

AH
18 de ago. de 2016

A very well taught course that gives you the ins and outs of sequence comparision and introduces chromosme rearrangement analysis in a succint manner. This was

TF
24 de dic. de 2016

Take your time, this course is harder than the others. Very worth it though, learned a lot and it was a lot of fun!

Filtrar por:

1 - 22 de 22 revisiones para Comparing Genes, Proteins, and Genomes (Bioinformatics III)

por Ricardo S

10 de nov. de 2016

One of the most difficult courses so far, but working hard you made it.

por ZIHAN X

9 de abr. de 2019

Some content in Stepik might be erroneous...

por Christiane A

6 de ago. de 2017

for me this was a very intresting courde where I learined a lot about the research behind genetics especially how difficult it is to interprete the experiemntal data. I also like the mathematical background in graph theory.

Not being a boilogist I miss some extra inforamtion about the biological relevance and would like more pratical exemples before doing the final challenge which I found rather diffucult: only after reviewing my peers I really startd to onderstand the challenge.

What I also miss is the community building aspect. Therre is a forum on every page but the comment are usually very old (3 of more years) so you can't expect to have a dialogue anymore. Problems reported years ago are sill open. I also woud like to know how many learners are currently following this course.

por Daniel D

24 de oct. de 2019

It's simply astounding to see how clearly the authors managed to explain the concepts presented in the course (and in the entire series, for that matter). I always had a hunch that this was an excellent course, but only after reading other bioinformatics materials did it become clear to me how much effort the authors put into making this course the best that it can be.

My only criticism is that the peer reviewed final challenge doesn't work very well because there are not that many participants to do the peer reviews. It took me about 1 week to finish the course, including al programming challenges, and it's been 6 weeks since I am waiting to get my work graded. A better option would be to use an auto-grader.

por Robert K

19 de oct. de 2017

This was intensive, time-consuming, thought-provoking ... pleasure! I really enjoyed it, it took me more time than the schedule proposed, but it was worth it. I liked exploring things on my own, and tampering with the code/algorithms. This part of the course now assumes that you can think intelligently and will do so. Although this is a course in bioinformatics I often found myself laying on the bed with a piece of paper drawing graphs in order to fully grasp what I need to do so my code would be more efficient.

Excellent work! I'll start the next part now.

por Ayaan H

19 de ago. de 2016

A very well taught course that gives you the ins and outs of sequence comparision and introduces chromosme rearrangement analysis in a succint manner. This was

por Tobi F

25 de dic. de 2016

Take your time, this course is harder than the others. Very worth it though, learned a lot and it was a lot of fun!

por Hercules P N

22 de jun. de 2017

I have taken courses I, II and III. They were consistently excellent. I plan to go for the next one.

por Tuan N

21 de ago. de 2021

Overall it is a nice course. I especially like the way pairwise alignment is explained.

por Paolo B

30 de nov. de 2017

This course was harder than the previous one, I am happy to have made it to the end!

por Yasmine E H

26 de jul. de 2020

Interesting course but I wish that it took less time to give me my certificate.

por Zack X

21 de jul. de 2019

In depth and comprehensive coverage of the topics in genetic data analysis.

por Yulan W

2 de oct. de 2016

this course is easy understandable and interesting for the beginners!

por Simon O

24 de may. de 2018

One of the most challenging courses that I have done.

por Luis F R C

13 de nov. de 2017

Very challenging but excellent walk through

por Weidong X

17 de sep. de 2016

a very good course!

por Mohamed T

19 de jun. de 2018

Excellent course

por chenhyde628

13 de dic. de 2016

Good coursera.

por ­박준형 / 학 / 컴

12 de sep. de 2018

Good class

por José M P F

9 de ago. de 2016

Muy bueno.

por Yudi,Tian

19 de may. de 2019

I think I will need some pseudocode in stepik interactive material to complete the code challenge. some part still too confused to me

por Linbo Z

10 de jul. de 2017

I think Week 4 and 5 should be explained more. Pseudo-code can be more detailed.