Chevron Left
Volver a Introduction to Complex Analysis

Opiniones y comentarios de aprendices correspondientes a Introduction to Complex Analysis por parte de Universidad Wesleyana

4.9
estrellas
808 calificaciones
261 reseña

Acerca del Curso

This course provides an introduction to complex analysis which is the theory of complex functions of a complex variable. We will start by introducing the complex plane, along with the algebra and geometry of complex numbers, and then we will make our way via differentiation, integration, complex dynamics, power series representation and Laurent series into territories at the edge of what is known today. Each module consists of five video lectures with embedded quizzes, followed by an electronically graded homework assignment. Additionally, modules 1, 3, and 5 also contain a peer assessment. The homework assignments will require time to think through and practice the concepts discussed in the lectures. In fact, a significant amount of your learning will happen while completing the homework assignments. These assignments are not meant to be completed quickly; rather you'll need paper and pen with you to work through the questions. In total, we expect that the course will take 6-12 hours of work per module, depending on your background....

Principales reseñas

RK

Apr 06, 2018

The lectures were very easy to follow and the exercises fitted these lectures well. This course was not always very rigorous, but a great introduction to complex analysis nevertheless. Thank you!

GC

Mar 21, 2017

With this wonderful complex analysis course under your belt you will be ready for the joys of Digital Signal Processing, solving Partial Differential Equations and Quantum Mechanics.

Filtrar por:

26 - 50 de 257 revisiones para Introduction to Complex Analysis

por Kevin R

Oct 09, 2017

This course is a wonderful Introduction to the topic of Complex Analysis. Many thanks to Prof Bonfert-Taylor for taking the time to put together a well-organized and concise course. The quizes and homework assignments generally took me longer than the stated time, but I was OK spending the extra time re-reviewing lectures to ensure I knew the material appropriately.

por 魏寅生

May 03, 2020

This course is great! I tried to read books on complex analysis but failed on understanding that many definitions and proofs. Prof. Bonfert approached this subject from its applications, and put little emphasis on proofs, making it easy for us non-mathematicians to understand fancy subjects like Mandelbrot set. Thanks for providing such a great course.

por Harish M

Apr 04, 2020

The course is excellent and Dr. Petra Bonfert-Taylor is an excellent instructor. This course is not rigorous but it touches on a lot of topics which are quintessential in Physics and to a smaller extent, Engineering. I would also recommend this to anyone who is interested in Math or is pursuing an undergraduate degree in Math.

por Ayush T

Jan 26, 2019

This is really good course for complex analysis. Things have discussed in details and assignents are also very good. It covers most of the topics which I felt were relevent for my work and studies. I wish it had Reimannian Optimization, but even without it the course is really well designed as well as well taught.

por Brahadeesh S

Sep 05, 2017

The course content as well as the presentation of the material by the instructor are both wonderful. The quizzes and peer-graded assignments are optimally designed. Although there are few proofs of theorems, the applications and examples are in sufficient number that the understanding of the theorems is obtained.

por Arjun D

Aug 09, 2020

Great course. One thing I would suggest is to have a list of prerequisites on the course page so people have an idea of what they should already know before joining this course. Other than that, the videos are of good quality, the homework is challenging yet stable, and the quizzes are at the right difficulty.

por Henry P k

Sep 22, 2017

This was a well thought out and taught course in complex analysis. A good amount of detail and examples were nicely done. A particularly attractive feature of the course is that all slides were available in a downloadable .pdf format. The instructor was quite good and presented well prepared lectures.

por Phillip M

Jul 13, 2020

Prof Bonfert-Taylor is an excellent teacher. The pacing and examples she used help to build my knowledge and confidence in tackling the material.

I found the course demanding but very interesting.Don't underestimate the amount of time you'll need to finish the weekly assignments; they're not that easy.

por Charles K

Jan 16, 2017

While there are a plethora of MOOCs around aimed at first-year maths, Prof Bonfert-Taylor should be congratulated for being one of the few to bring a course on higher mathematics to the masses. This is a particularly valuable effort that's accessible to anyone with a grasp of first-year calculus.

por Nora I

Nov 10, 2016

Pedagogically insurmountable! I recommend it! I am a PhD student writing the thesis, and need to refresh old subjects. Well, this was better than any math course I took in the University. The professor serves the aim to teach, and not to feed her/his ego, really next level education!! Loved it!

por George B

Aug 16, 2016

Very clear and well paced class. I like the early introduction to Julia sets to introduce recent mysteries of in the subject before teaching the classical results. The professor is a very clear speaker and was generous enough with her time to answer some of the forum questions.

por Dr. S S

May 19, 2020

This course is absolutely amazing. I am very happy to complete it and gain so much knowledge during this course. Highly recommended to all the students and teachers to attempt the course. Its very beneficial for future also.

Thank you so much to whole team of Cousera !!!

por Fathima S

Oct 28, 2018

This is a great course for anyone who wants to learn the fundamentals of Complex Analysis.

The instructor has also included a few applications that us go "Wow!!"

Assignments are well-thought and they make sure that the key-ideas are comprehensively gathered by the learner.

por Shri H P

Jul 30, 2020

This course was really awesome. Especially Course instructor’s way of teaching was nice. She explained everything so clearly. Even the assignments are interesting and makes us to think a lot. Thank you ma’am and the coursera team for making this learning amazing.

por Jorge P L

Aug 03, 2017

Very good Course... Given the complexity and the abstraction of complex analysis I was surprised to see I could follow perfectly well the lectures and actually learn..

Petra did a very good job explaining every step in the learning path.

Contratulations Petra!

por Doug K

Jun 08, 2017

I had seen some of this material before, but I think it was a more clear presentation than I had seen. I enjoyed the fractal topics as well. Some of the material was really challenging, so I felt a big sense of accomplishment when I finished the course.

por Debjit P

Sep 16, 2020

A truly awesome course to learn complex analysis from scratch. I loved and enjoyed the course very much and recommend everyone to enroll in this course. Thank you very much for providing this course for which I learnt a lot of new things in this area.

por Zhu K

Nov 27, 2018

Very helpful, focused on intuition and examples, maybe not detailed enough for a Mathematics student, but great for an Engineering student. Would be better if it could cover some material about Fourier transformation.

por Avinash M

Aug 07, 2020

A teacher is wonderful, her explanation is intuitive. Structure, of course, are well sequentially organised. A GRAND Thank You to Dr Petra Bonfert-Taylor, Coursera, Wesleyan University.

Salute to all Contributors !!!

por Arturo O P

Mar 13, 2017

Muy buen curso aunque sugiero un pequeño preambulo en los videos de youtube que tiene como titulo fractales la sexta dimension para entender con mayor claridad algunos conceptos a los que no acostumbramos en ingles

por Bojan B

May 07, 2017

Really good course, covers the topics I expected and wanted and at a depth that was good for gaining understanding without getting too deep. This is exactly what I wanted for the amount of time I had each week.

por Etienne R

Jan 17, 2017

I never took a course in complex analysis before and very much enjoyed this introductory course. I found that the material was presented in a very understandable way, with good and often illuminating examples.

por Suraj S K

May 05, 2020

I wish Prof. Petra Bonfert Taylor teaches more courses. She has taught this course with lot of enthusiasm and has made this course a very interesting journey from the beginning till end. Thank you very much.

por Changyu G

May 17, 2017

A good and clear introductory course for Complex Analysis! Cover the basic theory of Complex Analysis with rich examples.

And it's awesome to see the fractal geometry part (Julia set, Mandelbrot set, etc.)

por Johannse E

Mar 27, 2017

Doctor Petra Bonfert - Taylor is out standing scholar and she knows how to deliver her deep knowledge in mathematics to her students. I remind her as great scholar in mathematics.

Sincerely,

Johannse