Chevron Left
Volver a Computational Thinking for Problem Solving

Opiniones y comentarios de aprendices correspondientes a Computational Thinking for Problem Solving por parte de Universidad de Pensilvania

4.7
346 calificaciones
115 revisiones

Acerca del Curso

Computational thinking is the process of approaching a problem in a systematic manner and creating and expressing a solution such that it can be carried out by a computer. But you don't need to be a computer scientist to think like a computer scientist! In fact, we encourage students from any field of study to take this course. Many quantitative and data-centric problems can be solved using computational thinking and an understanding of computational thinking will give you a foundation for solving problems that have real-world, social impact. In this course, you will learn about the pillars of computational thinking, how computer scientists develop and analyze algorithms, and how solutions can be realized on a computer using the Python programming language. By the end of the course, you will be able to develop an algorithm and express it to the computer by writing a simple Python program. This course will introduce you to people from diverse professions who use computational thinking to solve problems. You will engage with a unique community of analytical thinkers and be encouraged to consider how you can make a positive social impact through computational thinking....

Principales revisiones

J

Dec 19, 2018

Excellent course for beginners with enough depth, programming and computational theory to increase their computer science knowledge to a higher level. It builds a good foundation of how computers work

AW

Feb 04, 2019

The course is very well-designed and it helped me develop understand how to apply computational thinking in solving various types of problems as well as acquire basic skills of programming in Python.

Filtrar por:

101 - 115 de 115 revisiones para Computational Thinking for Problem Solving

por jenn

Jun 25, 2019

Overall, great. However, I think the programming assignments were too hard to just do right off of the lectures. Needed extra research.

por Joseph R

Jun 28, 2019

The course is great. I learned a lot. The support for the course is SUPER slow. It's hard to get any direct help for any questions or issues that you are having. Beware of assignment 4.7!

por Nguyễn N P A

Jul 30, 2019

Overall the course is interesting and informative to beginner. And this way of thinking is truly practical and helpful in the real life. But the last part of the course including the coding part is not truly adequate for the beginner, making the beginner has to go extra miles to be able to do it but I wondered its necessity.

por Matthew M

Aug 09, 2019

the auto-grader for programming assignments can be a bit unforgiving at times, but the course is challenging and thorough for a month-long course. Would recommend. To improve experience with the auto grader some more hints in the assignment page could help, for example offering some explanation of the return function before, rather than after, a quiz that required its use.

por Elise N

Aug 19, 2019

The autograder can be somewhat of a pain and some of the solutions in the peer-review sections aren't the most efficient. Otherwise it helped teach the building blocks of coding.

por santiago p

Aug 17, 2019

Great course and content. The responsiveness to questions and issues in the forum was not the best and could be improved. Overall the course was well structured, engaging, and insightful. Feel great to start coding in Python.

por Weilian X

Aug 24, 2019

Very nice course of people who have no experience with computer and programming.

The only thing I can complain is the peer-graded assignment.

por Henry C

Aug 31, 2019

Enjoyed the learning and the structure of the course. Felt like I got a good introduction to Python. Learned a bunch about algorithms. I marked a star off because the online grading sometimes was vague. Additionally, it took a while to get feedback. I had a bit of programming experience, so I didn't have a huge challenge, but I can imagine if you are totally new, the assignments are really hard. It would be difficult to get the help and feedback that you need on their online forum system.

por PRASAD K

Apr 02, 2019

Not very rigorous course. However, it is OK for an introductory course for non CS students.

por Matthew B

Jul 31, 2019

Impossible to get any feedback. Very hard to follow what the requirements are at the end.

por Terri T

Sep 04, 2019

Everyone will not be able to complete this since it does not offer additional resources that are relevant to the assignments. I tried and will not finish as it has become to time-consuming. I am learning however, there are not examples or help for you if you do not understand the instructions.

por Martin

May 31, 2019

Boring, not application based.

How this help me on the job?

por Ryan L

Aug 01, 2019

Terrible. Too many bugs in the autograder. Need more specific guidelines for submission in section 4.8

por Jared A

May 10, 2019

The most frustrating learning experience I have ever had. I should not have to google for 70% of what should be taught in the lessons. Quizzes and exercises use material not covered in the lectures.

por Harsha v P

May 23, 2019

please go with more technical and logical thinking.