Chevron Left
Volver a Introduction to Key Constitutional Concepts and Supreme Court Cases

Opiniones y comentarios de aprendices correspondientes a Introduction to Key Constitutional Concepts and Supreme Court Cases por parte de Universidad de Pensilvania

4.8
estrellas
835 calificaciones
228 reseña

Acerca del Curso

This course offers an introduction to the U.S. Constitution and landmark Supreme Court cases interpreting it. It explores the Constitution’s origins, its amendment over the years, and methods of constitutional interpretation. Topics include the nature and structure of the federal government, the powers of the federal government, and individual rights....

Principales reseñas

GS

Jun 21, 2020

This course was very didactic and easy to understand. I liked the way that the different theories about each subject were presented, allowing me to build my own opinion and perspective on each matter.

SJ

Jul 22, 2017

Professor does a great job and in explaining the complexities. He does not take any partisan stand and does a great job and giving prominence to all sides of the argument. Enjoyed the course throughly

Filtrar por:

176 - 200 de 223 revisiones para Introduction to Key Constitutional Concepts and Supreme Court Cases

por Richard H

Apr 09, 2018

One of my favorite.

por motaz i

Nov 07, 2016

thanks teacher ! :)

por Erich Y

Apr 08, 2017

Splendid Excellent

por Ahmer J K

Oct 18, 2016

Excellent course!

por Athina S

Jun 17, 2016

Excellent course!

por Jorge F P M

Aug 24, 2020

Excelente curso.

por Jonathan L S

May 18, 2020

A great course!

por MAURO F D S

Feb 04, 2018

Excelente curso

por Siyao L

Apr 29, 2017

amazing course!

por Amanda H

May 14, 2016

amazing course

por Shirley K

Sep 14, 2020

great course!

por Paulo F V

Jul 06, 2020

Excelente!!

por José L T d A

Jul 11, 2020

muito bom.

por CORINA S

Apr 19, 2017

Enjoyed it

por Lukasz J B

May 29, 2016

Excellent!

por Guilherme H C P

Apr 25, 2020

Muito Bom

por Jhonatan A T B

Nov 07, 2019

Great!!!!

por Nicole P

Apr 24, 2020

Amazing!

por Md. Z R

Sep 01, 2017

Best One

por Berat T

Sep 06, 2017

EXCE

por Hunter S

Sep 25, 2017

YES

por Natalie E

Feb 06, 2017

G

por Timothy K

Mar 07, 2020

I think overall this a great course for those looking for a refresher of the foundations of the constitution and bill of rights or those looking for a comprehensive introduction. Personally, I took this course so I could reinforce things I have studied before. As for the pros, I really liked how the course went through each amendment and contextualized it through case examples. There were some cases that I had not previously heard about. For instance, the cases that prompted the exclusionary rule of the fourth amendment. Moreover, the professor did an excellent job at presenting both sides of constitutional arguments which conflict Supreme Court justices. For the most part, the professor was very straight-forward in his explanations although there were times where he seemed to go off on a tangent. In particular, Week 4's lecture on campaign finance didn't really go into detail about the issue but rather just seemed to ramble. So that brings me to my cons. I thought the professor's demeanor was a bit too contrived so I think it would have been great if maybe he had another person (perhaps a student?) who he was interacting with to make it more of a natural presentation. In addition, one of the major downsides were the supplementary tasks or lack thereof. Most of the course was passive learning in which you are just watching lecture after lecture. I would have given the course a 5-star rating had there been sequential discussions with content-related prompts. I have seen these in other courses and I find them a great way to reinforce concepts and see how other people perceived the content. While there were quizzes, I didn't find the quizzes useful in retaining key concepts. They were overly specific more about facts than concept comprehension. It would have been better if questions were posed as hypothetical situations and the quiz-taker had to decide which amendments or clauses this relates to. I think this might be a better way to gauge whether students comprehended the concepts rather than the specific content. Overall, however, it was a course that was both a comprehensive and concise overview of the constitution as it relates to the Supreme Court. I definitely feel like my knowledge on this has been expanded. I now see the 14th amendment as one of the most significant and contentious amendments. I thank the professor for taking his time to make this course as I think it can help both people new to US politics and people with preexisting knowledge of US politics. The last lecture on health care was particularly insightful! I didn't even think how it interstate commerce could be invoked to justify the individual mandate. Good stuff.

por Panda

Jun 07, 2020

Solid effort at explaining key historical developments surrounding the Constitution's history, and in applying the Constitutional provisions and amendments to key Supreme Court cases throughout history. Would have liked a little more in-depth analysis of specific key cases, or perhaps discussion to interpret the case briefs prior to the lectures, or visa versa. Some of professor's summaries of the cases are extremely brief on relevant details like procedural history, or other issues presented to the courts.

por William R H

Oct 12, 2019

Good course. Even though I would have liked to see more up to date material, this course taught me some things about our Constitution that I wasn't aware of. I enjoyed answering some of the discussion questions but was extremely disappointed that I did not receive any responses when I posed a question to the professor. But again, overall, it was interesting and set up appropriately to learn. Thank you.